We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you are looking for a home from home, along...”
other travellers have booked this property
Valasay is seen here on the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Valasay showing the tidal sea loch
The house at 25 Valasay
The well equipped kitchen has everything you would expect and perhaps some things you wouldn't
This photo looks up the Kyles of Valasay from the main part of our croft.
There's an amazing sense of calmness at Bosta that I can't quite describe.
On the Bosta walk from Valasay
This aerial shot shows the view
The master bedroom has a king size bed made from solid oak.
The twin room has views of the back garden and croft land
The view from the master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
howluckya...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you are looking for a home from home, along with peace, quite and relaxation, Valasay Croft is a perfect place.”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lewis is an ideal place to unwind.
We stayed for a week and although we covered the majority of the island, there is plenty left to do and see when we return. There is much ancient history, wonderful landscapes and bracing walks on fabulous beaches that compare with Australia's finest.
Valasay cottage, is an ideal base, Stornaway being 40 minutes drive away. with two large multi national supermarkets to purchase your provisions.
The owners of the cottage are keen that you have all the information you need to make the most of your stay. The house is clean, very well equipped, cosy and warm. Very nice to be welcomed on our arrival with fresh flowers and an awaiting teatray, complete with cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal V
Dilbeek, Belgium
1 review
“Very comfortable house with great views”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Very nice, clean, well equipped and comfortable house with great views on the loch. Very friendly and helpful owner. Good starting point to visit Great Bernera and surroundings (Callanish stones, Bosta Beach, Dalbeg beach, Blackhouse village, Uig Sands, fishing, walks, etc).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyne...
Chambery, France
1 review
“Simply something different”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

25 Valasay cottage is tastefully furnished.It has one twin and one double bedroom as well as a spacious lounge and a well-equipped kitchen.It is very clear and has a wonderfull view on the sea.
There are interesting books about the islands at our disposal and the famous Peter May's trilogy if it happens to rain.
It was the ideal place to start exploring Lewis.
Our landlady is very wellcoming and made our stay very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place, the comfort
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish D
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
“Valasay Crofthouse is the tops!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We toured Scotland for 6 weeks and stayed at 6 different self-catering establishments. Valasay was easily the best. Anne is such a caring proprietor - the right mix of helpful and hospitable, but not hanging over your shoulder. The house is immaculate and tastefully decorated. The kitchen was well stocked with kitchen utensils, pots, pans, etc - everything we needed. Not only everything we needed - but of fine quality. The scenery around the croft house is so breathtaking - with wonderful walks right out the front door. I wouldn't hesitate recommending Valasay to anyone and if we ever go back to Isle of Lewis we would most definitely wish to stay here again. The best part of our stay? An adorable border collie named Reilly, who was always there to welcome us 'home' from a day out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and superior quality of furnishings and kitchen
Liked least: not applicable - place was awesome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville74...
Richmond, Australia
1 review
“A great place to stay on beautiful Bernera and Lewis”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Valasay is a modern, well equipped and comfortable house on a croft in a beautiful and fairly central location, allowing you to explore the islands of Great Bernera and Lewis. One of the best walks is right from your front door, around the coast to the iron age site and deserted village of Bostadh, which is in a spectacular location. Our hosts, Anne and Chris Ryan, are locals who are very knowledgeable and helpful about what to see and do. Their dog Riley is part of the welcoming team, but you have to throw balls for him to catch.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing