We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
281
36
16
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
281
36
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting pizza wings on site coffee bar dog park on tap great campground gem mining travel trailer local beer tent sites highly recommend this campground clean campground rest rooms camping trip small campground
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2021

Driving south from northern Illinois our goal was to stay as close to the coast as possible. I had originally emailed several camping areas and this one responded very quickly and answered all of my questions and offered suggestions of places to see which are dog friendly. We travel with two medium and large sized pups. It was suggested we upgrade to a larger lodge the Twickenham, since there’s more floor space and a really large deck facing the low country. Every morning I sat on deck with the dogs and my coffee to experience the sun rise. Campground was wonderful, clean, and landscaped beautifully. The lodge was very comfortable and Covid safe, even the remotes were placed in individual plastic bags. We had separate bedroom with queen size bed, living kitchen and dining and a separate room with bunks. There is also a full bath. Our dogs always enjoy their dog parks. Well maintained. And there were doggie waste stations situated around campground. Staff was very pleasant and informative. We picked up some great tourist tips! This is a destination campground! One day on coast in Hunting Island State Park, another in Beaufort and another in Savannah. We had a memorable time. Will return. Oh and I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the pizza! Wow, really good! And delivered to site. My hubby ordered two separate nights. And I had pleasant conversations with staff at coffee bar each morning.

Room tip: Not a hotel but highly rated, award winning KOA campground
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lpsoftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Mason, Owner at Point South / Yemassee KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

What a perfect set up for your family and your dogs in Frampton Lodge. It is so wonderful to hear that you had such a memorable and relaxing time. Thank you for your tips on what to see and where to go with the fur babies. We wish you well on your travels and look forward to seeing you again. Jennifer ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021 via mobile

We have been staying at Point South KOA for at least 5 years now. It just gets better year after year! The wine tasting at the Swimming Mermaid, getting lattes at the coffee bar. The sites continue to be updated, cleared, re gravelled. Landscape is very nice and well kept. More sites, the train caboose, lake and GREAT PEOPLE! That’s why we keep coming back! Thanks!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank davidwX5003WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Mason, Owner at Point South / Yemassee KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Thank you for your continued patronage and wonderful review. It is with great pleasure to continue serving our guests and creating a better place for our campers to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you again as you travel through SC and pass through our beautiful Lowcountry. Jennifer~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2021 via mobile

We were looking for a campground to meet and camp with friends and I picked this one because it was close to a distillery. Unfortunately, the distillery was closed during stated business hours and we weren’t able to go any other time.

However, the Point South KOA was so wonderful, we weren’t even disappointed by having the main attraction of a distillery let us down.

The folks who operate it were super friendly and helpful. They even have a pizza parlor (with wings and breakfast pizza) that’s pretty good and they will deliver to your campsite. They’ll also deliver firewood.

They have a great playground, a pool, cabins and tent sites. There’s even a lake with a walking trail. Our grandson had blast and thought it was the best camping trip ever.

Hunting Island State Park is a beautiful beach and maritime forest with lighthouse and is only about an hour away.

There’s not much to the town of MAC and the closest grocery store is 15 miles away. However, you don’t really need anything much once you get there.

It’s the Lowcountry, so be sure and bring bug spray.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rebibga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Mason, Owner at Point South / Yemassee KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

It was such a pleasure hosting you and your families stay. Loved your retro camper! Thank you for your kind review and taking the time to share your experience. We are so happy that you had such a fun and memorable time. We look forward to seeing you again if you are back in our beautiful Lowcountry. Jennifer~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

We stayed here on our way to Florida. We had to extend our stay to two nights, and they were VERY accommodating. We had a full hookup site, and the only problem with it was the water and mud. It had rained quite a lot prior to our visit, and our site was in the middle of a swamp (or so it seemed). I think if they would have dumped more gravel onto this and other sites, it would have taken care of most of the problem. (Maybe a suggestion for them for the future-I know you can't predict Mother Nature!). Anyway, there were lots of places to walk the dog, and for me to run and ride my bike. The office had wine and beer (we bought some local craft beer and it was excellent) and we had a pizza delivered for dinner the evening before we left. Well kept campground and great staff.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineB1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Mason, Owner at Point South / Yemassee KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

We have brought five 20 ton trucks of 57 Granite gravel in and professionally spread within this last year. 40 of those tons in the last month with another 2 - 3 more 50 tons to be laid this week if the rain stays at bay. Like the slush and muck snow leaves behind our immense rain and weather elements are a challenge as it is for everyone. We have also just added new drainage with more being installed this week and 11 pallets of sod. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff who strive to keep everything clean and ready 13 hours a day. After 37 years of ownership closed only 20 days due to hurricane evacuations we are happy to continue making a peaceful and enjoyable retreat for those who chose to camp with us. We truly appreciate you camping at Point South KOA. We are glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Jennifer~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021

We planned ahead, rented site online, arrived at 4:30 pm. Had 1 trailer ahead of us, check in was fast & easy, was escorted to our site, easy pull thru, gravel, level, full hook ups. We didn’t unhook. Staff was awesome, extremely pleasant, even with 8 trailers behind us, also checking in. Campground was clean, a little wet, from all the rain, enjoyed the many statues around the campground. Pool is open year round, too cold out for me, crystal clear water. Best part was the pizza & wings, for park food, it was very tasty, and delivered to our trailer. Will definitely add this KOA to our favorite list, and they have wine & beer also! Excellent campground!!!!

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank Travelersontheroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Mason, Owner at Point South / Yemassee KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2021

Thank you for taking time to share your experience while at Point South KOA. It was a pleasure serving you. We are honored to be on your KOA favorite list. May your travels continue to be as enjoyable. Jennifer~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews