We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Playful Pelican

Screened in Porch
painting by Janet Geiter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Screened in Porch
painting by Janet Geiter
Queen Sofa Bed Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Screened in Porch
painting by Janet Geiter
Queen Sofa Bed
Living room
kitchen\dining area
kitchen
front bedroom
New porch!!!
back yard Pollack inspired Boardwalk to rear entrance from beach shower
golf cart
entance
Sunrise at the beach in Surfside
free private beach parking for residents and vacationers
Surfside Beach
kids pool
water play land
volley ball basket ball horse shoes w/ sand pits
Indoor pool
indoor pool open year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Surfside Beach, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maps24107...
1 review
“Vacation ”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Great place to take a vacation. My Daughter and I stayed Aug 11th-18th we also brought our Dog. Great community with lots of things to do... great location, close to beach and Garden City pier which has live music every night. The golf cart is great to take back and forth to beach or pools. The house is supplied with everything you need to have a great vacation. The new owners are great and they are very helpful if u have any problems... i had an issue with the golf cart and they had it fixed within a couple of hours! We look forward to returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at The Playful Pelican, we have a number of improvements that we are in the process of doing, We look forward to seeing again soon,

Thanks again.

Kevin & Janet
Still Dreamin' with our eyes wide open!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenevaL33
1 review
“Improvements Needed”
Reviewed 15 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This property was in transition from one owner to another. We arrived for our 10 day vacation to a very dirty rental. The floor in every room was very dirty and sand covered. I went to vacuum only to find a sign on vacuum that said out of order. The bath tub was badly clogged and the we had to clean the trap before the tub would drain. There was a leak in the kitchen sink with a bowl under it that had to be emptied after use. The patio was dirty and there was black mold on walls in the bathroom. The owner did bring a vacuum and drain cleaner when informed of the problems and got a repair man to fix the washer that wouldn't spin. They were bad soft spots in the floor throughout the home and the walls were in need of cleaning or paint. I had to spend the first day cleaning just to make it decent enough to stay in. The home is very old and needs repairs and major cleaning before it is suitable to be a rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2018
I'm so sorry you had such a bad experience at the Playful Pelican, as we explained to you the electrician came in for repair after the cleaning was done, because the property is surrounded by beach sand he brought some in with him.
I wish you would have mentioned the black mold and that you felt the walls needed scrubbing or painting because as with every other complaint you hade we addressed them immediately.
The floors do have give to them due to the high humidity in the air, we were told that is common in these homes.
Again I'm sorry the Playful Pelican was not up to your standards for a beach rental.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrys M
1 review
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 12 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Our family of 6 stayed at this location from July the 14th to the 22nd and we were more than satisfied with our stay. During the middle of the week the new owner of the house, Kevin, came and introduced himself to us and was very interested in making sure that our stay was the best it could be. The placement of the house couldn’t be any better. It’s less than a five minute walk away from the beach and everything is close in the area. The golf cart is also a great way to ride around the neighborhood to the beach and the two pools and recreational activities area. The house is fully furnished and has anything you could need in the kitchen as well. And it’s also great that there is a shower outside to wash off sand before going in the house. Although we transitioned from one owner to another, it was very smooth and Kevin was very helpful. We were even able to have our little dog on the trip too. We can’t wait to stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2018
thanks for the great review Love this Place, thanks also or the referral. Looking forward to having you stay at "the Playful Pelican at Surfside Beach.
playfulpelican@outlook.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing