We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I would rent this house again and again”

Review of Caskey's Cache

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pawleys Island, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cruewoman
Plainfield, Indiana
1 review
“I would rent this house again and again”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This house is in a perfect location just minutes to the beach and right on the marsh. The house had all the items you need for a weeks vacation. One of the reasons that I rented the house is for the location and the previous reviews. My kids loved the fishing/crabbing accessories that were there to use. We bought a few items and just left them for the next guests. I would have loved a more comfortable master bedroom bed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Thank you for sharing! Your suggestion will be shared with the owner. We look forward to having you back - again and again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeann...
1 review
“First time to stay at Caskey's Cache but it was the best stocked and all around that we have stayed in.”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our children and grandchildren and our shih zhu stayed the whole week, with family members coming and going and really enjoyed it. The only thing I have to say is I wish t he downstairs apt. had an inside stairway. The beds dishes, silverware and glasses were the best we've had in a long time.
It was a great vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the front porch and the sunroom.
Liked least: No stairway from downstairs apt to the upstairs(had to go outside)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Wonderful to hear how your family had a "great vacation" at Caskey's, despite the external ground floor access – a common design feature in the beach homes here. The owner will be pleased to know his efforts to accommodate his guests is appreciated! Thank you for sharing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mblanton6...
Irmo, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Very good condition, well stocked older house in excellent location.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've stayed in this house many vacations now and plan to return next year. This is an older house with some remodeling done through the years. Sleeps 8 very comfortably. Has four tv's (largest looks about 40") plus wifi. I have a couple other reviews on this house so this will be an update, as our use has evolved, things we like most about the property have evolved. 1) This is near the south end of Litchfield, and the beach is less crowded there. 2) The downstairs supply room has a nice accumulation of beach and fishing/crabbing equipment (some we left years ago and still re-use). There's now a large wagon to haul coolers and chairs to the beach with. 3) Location! Canal access is nice and there's an infinite supply of blue crabs to catch. Just three houses down is a boat ramp to load into the canal that gets you to the marsh. It's close enough to walk a paddle board or kayak to. And quick to load a johnboat via trailer. If you want big water (Waccamaw river), the house is 10 minutes from Hagley's landing. 4) As I mentioned before, Sunday-Sunday is the way to go. Much less traffic everywhere. 5) There is a ton of parking in the carport.
Not much I can think of for negatives on this place. There have been some significant rent increases over the past few years but like I said, we still plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Central location, strong a/c, well equipped.
Liked least: bed pillows, minimal 3 prong outlets
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide another review with so many helpful and thoughtful details about Caskey’s Cache. The owner cherishes this home for fishing getaways and will be thrilled to hear how you have discovered its diverse accommodations for similar visits of your own! We look forward to your return next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mblanton6...
Irmo, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great beach house, even better location.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is an update to a previous review (MB from Irmo). We continue to thoroughly enjoy this house! It is open, airy, well cooled, very well stocked inside and out, good beds, linens and towels are provided, and Sunday-Sunday so we avoid the awful Saturday beach traffic. It easily accommodates two families and everyone has their space. Pet friendly but no apparent signs of that. Litchfield Real Estate is very customer service oriented but since we've been renting this house we haven't needed them.

Pros: 1) Well stocked for recreation, with Ducane grill, two large crab traps, storage room has (among other accumulated stuff) fishing poles, several surf rod holders, nets, minnow bucket, beach chairs, beach toys, boogie boards. 2) Downstairs bedroom recently redone with new window a/c, room stays cool and dry. 3) New major and minor appliances in kitchen (but they lost the vented hood I mentioned previously). 4) Convenient second refrigerator/freezer in laundry room. 5) Huge screened in front porch with several large rockers (note these are basically out in the weather thus coated with beach mist like everything else), plus large air-conditioned sunroom at rear that is very bright and clean (can close this off for privacy if needed). 6) Covered parking for four (our Tundra fit fine), but careful backing in or out. 7) This is near the end of Sundial, so it's toward the (even) less crowded end of the beach and less drive by traffic. 8) Bring your jonboat or kayak. There's an unmarked public boat landing just a few houses down. 9) House has extremely convenient access to everything, <2 minute walk to dunes, 50 yards to main marsh (boat ramp is right at the main marsh). 10) Ice machine in upstairs freezer cranks out a lot.

Cons: 1) If it matters, TV's are small, only one is an HD tv and it has a standard-def cable box. 2) Outdoor shower isn't enclosed. 3) Pillows are worn so bring your own if you're picky. 4) We'll see a few ants here and there but that's about it.

Lastly, to put some other reviews into perspective, keep in mind that although highly updated, this is still a 50-something year old beach house situated close to a saltwater marsh and the ocean. True, some of the screen doors have rusted hardware and maybe the doorknobs are old, but if you're looking for a 'real' house in the Pawley's/Litchfield area (ie, one with some character) those minor things won't matter to you either. If it were any 'nicer', I'd be apprehensive about using it as it's intended. The owners take good care of it; we've stayed at several through the years but we've been coming back to this one the past five. For the money, I highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't snap fingers and be there.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;