We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
26
44
39
44
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
44
39
44
153
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Let's start with the location of the Viking- right on the ocean. Our room had a super view and we were on the ground floor with the pool. Yes, you may have to park across the street at times, but this is a common practice at many of the beachfront establishments.

Staff- Front desk, maintenance, and housekeeping were all super nice and helpful. The pool guys were there every morning to clean the pools, and the patio that surrounded them. A special shout-out to Ms. Lucinda our housekeeper. She made our stay a really pleasant one by making sure our room was in tip top shape, and fully stocked for our 5 night stay.

Room and building- This is an older building, at least 50-60 years old. It has had some renovations, but you need to have an open mind about an older place. Everything is not brand new, or in perfect working order all the time. Some of the furniture was outdated, but it had a nice flatscreen tv with at least 50 crystal clear cable channels. The room also had wi-fi that worked each day, and the rooms had a small kitchenette with a large newer fridge, cookware, and stovetop/oven. The only thing the kitchen was missing was a microwave.

Value- What I paid for 5 nights, including the resort fee, is what I would have paid for 1 or 2 nights at most beach front locations. As a result my family had a lot more left to spend on attractions, meals, and souvenirs during this trip. We also came home with our trip paid for in full.
The Viking is easily 1/2 to 1/4 the cost of many of the beachfront Myrtle Beach establishments.

Cons- Many people do like to hang out at the pool until fairly late hours. This was not a huge problem, but you could hear them sometimes until 11-12 at night.
This place is full of families during the summer- If you want a quiet getaway, this is not it. Be prepared for children and extended large families having a great time around you.
Smoking- many of the guests staying here smoke at the pool, beach, parking area, lobby, and rooms. If you have big issues with smokers and their cigarettes being left behind then you may not like it very much. No one in my family is a smoker so we did notice this, but it would not keep us from returning.

Stayed: August 2017
4  Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We were charged a $14 resort usage fee per day and we didn't even swim or anything. They have one small pool that was full of people the entire time and they weren't the kind of people we wished to be around. If you're going to charge a resort fee there should at least be options and shouldn't you at least qualify as a resort first? Carpets are pretty dirty and the room was outdated but somewhat clean. We did question if the sheets had been changed. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MandyHockenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

this is a great hotel clean rooms and friendly people! From the call to add a night till the time we checked out we had a blast. No its not the Hilton but it was a clean room and a bed to lay our heads and it didn't break the bank so we could do more of the fun stuff. there wasn't a room with a bad view because it was right on the beach and the pool was nice and cool and we had a great time. the only thing that we didn't like but didn't mind was the parking there are only a few parking spots for the Viking hotel and if they are full you park across the street but over all a GREAT place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I have to agree with another lady here the lady working afternoons check-in could have had a little more personality and another backup person trained to help with check-in at the other available computer we seen with many employees about ready to end their shifts just standing around with about thirty min to spare that could have been used to help with check in..I think there should be a check list provided to housekeeping after cleaning each room to help with forgetting to accidently leave clean towels having to wait on a busy elevator to get to front office because they are too busy to answer due to lack of help at front desk makes it difficult for vacationers with small children when we have to go get our own..the elevator could most def use some work and probably want to warn people of hitting the button while still slightly wet from the pool because of a small just enough to notice electrocution all outside Windows to each room on the bottom floor are very clean but all Windows on top floor rooms look as if they had not been cleaned in a pretty good while..with all that said our room was very well updated, everything was very clean very well satisfied with the room period..nicer than I expected but service could most def be improved even though the large group is just there for the summer working to make extra money like I was told..still this is our money spent on vacations and we would like the services along with the clean room we paid for..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This motel is horrible. We booked a one week stay for a wedding. The AC unit couldn't cool the front room of the suite. only 1 tv in a two room suite. bathroom was nasty. the outlets couldn't keep anything plugged in so our cell phones kept dying. roaches in the elevator.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews