We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
662
196
49
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
196
49
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar dolphin pool south pool sea pines pass pools and hot tubs time share marriott properties laundry room hilton head island full kitchen daily activities timeshare resort rented bikes off season marriott vacation club shuffle board bike riding
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Not only photos you have from a vacation, but great memories of good times, great villas, and great staff. which makes every thing special on your stay here... the pools, short steps to the beach, and Coligny plaza. and the Daily activities, every day of the week. the staff were all friendly and helpful.
you would want to come back here again and again... start planning your stay... you'll be glad you did.

Room tip: closer to the beach... is nicer or closer to the pools...
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CousinB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you for your top-notch review. We are happy to hear that the Marriott's Grand Ocean has given you great memories of good times, great villas and great staff. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We have visited this location for decades. The number one thing that separated this resort from anywhere else on Hilton Head was "Pool bar" Jim. The Marriott has chosen to no longer use his services. Jim's friendly service and outstanding drinks made this place what it was. Pool Bar Jim's will succeed somewhere else, and my family will never again visit this location.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The property / amenities / units are everything you would expect from a Marriott Vacation Club property, but we are pretty disappointed with the WiFi. First property we've been to where we couldn't use our AppleTV at night. The WiFi is just terrible. Also the first property we've been to where the movies at the front desk were $5 / day. Hmmm.... maybe the two are connected?

Room tip: If you want a view of the beach and don't have a beach front room, you will need to be 4th or 5th floor.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kmnmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha B, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for your review. While we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay experience, we are sorry to hear about the WIFI performance. Your input on this matter has been shared with the leadership team. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Our family just returned from our week long beach vacation at Grande Ocean. This was our 3rd visit to Hilton Head and this resort was our favorite. We previously stayed at the Heritage and Monarch both which were also very nice. We own in Aruba and I actually wish we had purchased here.
Check in was simple with our villa available at around 4:30. Pack your swim suits and change in the locker rooms to start your vacation upon arrival. The resort is beautifully maintained with a relaxed vibe. Our comfortable 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom villa was immaculate and offered everything that we needed. Loved the full size washer and dryer too. Resort is convenient to restaurants, shopping, island activities and bike paths. The grounds are lovely with meandering paths amongst a pond like area that's lined with mature trees, hammocks and swings. There were 5 pools surrounded by plentiful lounges. Late morning cool water soaked hand towels scented with lavender were a welcomed offering while lounging poolside. Plus there are organized activities to appeal to every age group. I enjoyed the live music performed poolside each afternoon. Other activities offered include lawn games, a fire pit for nightly s'more making, a pool table, giant chess set and more! The beach offers calm, warm waters. It was uncrowded with plenty of room for families to spread out and enjoy. Chairs and umbrellas can be rented beachside but I thought they were pricey. I believe it was over $35 per day for 2 chains and an umbrella. But It could have been a bit less if you rented for a longer period. However chairs and umbrellas are set up along the back of the beach in a tight row. We opted to purchase an umbrella and a few simple beach chairs at a local grocery store. We gave them to other resort guests upon our departure. It's a short walk to the beach regardless of your villa location, even if you're not oceanside or ocean front. Our villa was towards the back of the resort and was still a short walk to all pools and the beach. I left Grande Ocean less than a week ago and already my husband and I are planning a return visit within the next 4 months. Wishing you a wonderful Hilton Head vacation. Relax, refresh, and enjoy the time with your family at Grande Ocean.

Room tip: Every villa is a short walk to the beach, even if not offering an ocean view.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank RRRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha B, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Thank you for the five star review of Marriott's Grande Ocean. We are delighted to hear this was the right location for your stay due to the location and the multitude of amenities. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Large rooms, phenomenal activities, beautiful fitness center, and sweet swimming pools define this beautiful resort. My family usually stays at Marriott's Monarch, which works well when you have 2 little kids and 2 adults. However, with 10 of us and 3 separate families, the Grande Ocean had an ideal setup. There are 2 bedrooms in each unit. There is one bedroom with a king bed and a 2nd bedroom with 2 queens. In addition, there is a fold-out couch bed. This makes it possible to very comfortable fit parents in one room and children and grandchildren in the others.

Our family truly enjoyed all of the wonderful activities they had. We competed in the "Iron Chef" competition, thoroughly rocked out at the pool party, built sand castles on the beach with other families, my son did the Pokemon Go beach walk (cool that they modernized this one!), and the young girls participated in the scavenger hunt. There were lots of free food and drink opportunities (margaritas, lemonade social, cookies and tea) and a $5 grill cookout.

The pools are huge and the pool grill and bar areas are lovely. The only area for improvement that we all wished for was cooler water in the pools. It was in the high 90s most of the week with humidity and the pools were fairly warm. The ocean/beach is RIGHT THERE and everything in the complex is easy to access. It's a short bike ride of 15 minute walk to Coligney Plaza with more shopping and a quick drive to groceries.

We would do it again in a minute!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ZMMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha B, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Thank you for the positive review. It is exciting to learn your stay was wonderful due to the villa amenities and location. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews