We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$177
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$351
US$291
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$164
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$340
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$513
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$432
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
170
156
83
40
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
156
83
40
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake houseroom was cleansuperior kingmanager chrishilton head islandparking lotconvenience storeextra towelsmini fridgelocation was perfectmemorial daypublic beachdefinitely stay here againshort driveoff seasonmotelhhi
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

The room was smelling moldy at first we stepped in but it looks clean enough. So if you have asthma another hotel it would work better for you. Also there is only blackout curtains and if you are on 1st level you either have to keep them closed or your lights on in the morning while you are preparing to check out since there is no regular curtains.
The good thing is hotel is pet friendly and they don’t charge more for the pets. But my dog kept coughing all night, I assume it was because of the smell. She was better after the hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review,
We are truly sorry if the room did not smell pleasant and we will take a look at the room and make sure this is corrected.
We are one of the few hotels on island that are pet friendly and the only one that does not charge a pet fee. We are located to all this island has to offer. We do hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

The first room we were assigned to was pretty gross. It had a foul odor and didn't appear to be adequately cleaned. Susan at the front desk was super helpful. She quickly assigned us another room. This room was better. It was in the back. The bed was decent and there was no noise to be heard in the room. We slept quite well.

The location of the hotel is pretty great. It is right next to some pretty positively reviewed places to eat and biking distance to the beach.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the review.
We are sorry the first room was not guest ready. Susan is a wonderful addition to our team, and goes the extra mile to make sure the guests is taken care of. We are pleased you were happy with the 2nd room and enjoyed your stay. We are located near all the island has to offer, from award winning golf, great dining to the beaches located only minutes away. Having the bike paths right outside our door makes it very easy to get around the island.
We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We’ve stayed at this Red Roof Inn on three different occasions. Each year it has gotten worse. Room was way overpriced for what we received. Backed up to laundry room so stayed musty smelling and damp. Not a good situation for someone with allergies. Air conditioner was very loud and cut off frequently and had to be restarted. We’ve always had a mini fridge in our room but none there this time. Staff tried to tell us we’d never had one on previous trips. I beg to differ! We talked to two other guests that had the same experience. I don’t like to be lied to by staff, nor did I appreciate their lack of response to the issues we reported! Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. There only decent amenity is their location.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank beachgal6911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you for your review,

I am so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. When we looked up your previous reservation you had booked our standard king rooms both times same as the one for this most recent stay. The standard king room does not come with the refrigerator. But we offer rooms like our superior king rooms which are larger and has all the amenities and is only $10.00 more per night. We would gladly checked to see if one was available or since your room location was not to you liking we could have tried to move you.
We do hope you will visit again and book directly with me so we can make sure you book the right room for you.
I can be reached at 843 686 6808 ext 6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This motel was a great place for me and the pup to spend some time at the beach. it is a five minute drive to most of the public beaches. The room was clean, quiet and had no pet smell. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave me a restaurant guide and pointed out all the pet friendly restaurants with outdoor seating. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked great. Will definitely stay here again. I loved having a microwave and a refrigerator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, it is quiet and there is some shaded parking
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SophiesMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review!
We are so please you and your furry friend had a great stay. Our staff is one of the best and go out of their way to make sure each guest has a memorable stay. We are close to all the island has to offer including pet friendly dining, and we can even give you directions to a pet friendly beach.
We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

The good:
Room was clean, pool is sparkling and well maintained. Fridge and microwave in room. Free wifi offered. Location is very convenient to all HHI has to offer. Price was better than anywhere else.

The not good:
Room is a little on the smaller side. No rollaway cots are available. Property is older. There is a limited continental breakfast served so if you like hard boiled eggs and sticky Danish, you'll be all set. In-room towels are tiny. Nothing would dry inside the room - everything from bathing suits to towels stayed perpetually damp.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review.

We offer a clean comfortable room at a value price. We are located near all the island has to offer from the beaches to bike trails, great dining and award winning golf. I am sorry if it was hard to dry things in the room, with the high humidity it can be hard to dry things out.
We offer a light breakfast of pastries, fruit, oatmeal, juice and hard boiled eggs. We have a limited area to serve breakfast and do hope you understand.
We look forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews