We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
0
6
2
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
6
2
3
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Be advised that the former Motel 6 is now operating under the name "Hilton Head Suites". Nothing has changed (at least not for the better). Perhaps nowadays they're operating primarily as a low-income residential motel, as it is not listed in the phone book, and sketchy-looking people abound. There is a big sign on the highway with the name "Hilton Head Suites ", and the address, 1 Marina Side Drive. I checked it out for out of town guests, and the room I was shown was terribly shabby, and frankly, dirty. It just reeked of cigarette smoke! Avoid at all costs! There are other inexpensive, but much nicer, places very close by.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
9  Thank JimmyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Ok so we are moving to Florida. We have been driving for many, many hours. We decide we are going to stay here. Yes a little out of our way. But heck we were lost anyway. So we get there at 10 PM. We are greeted by a lady (loosely used) who couldn't see over the counter to hear me yelling into the ghetto hole in the plexiglass. Anyway. Our room was nothing spectacular. Dirty, old, dated. The wonderful motel 6 bed spread. They are the ugliest. Especially adds to the ambiance with burn holes. The table in the room was tilted to say the least. We brought our pillows, blankets in from the car. When we "locked" the door. There was a gap big enough for pee wee Herman to fit through. And the curtains didn't cover the whole window. So we left as early as possible. We were rested. But we had also driven from Upstate NY without a break. I think the CEO of this chain needs to get his/her butt out to these motels and see what is going on. Motel 6. Don't leave the light on. The bulbs probably blown anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank poohbear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

DO NOT STAY at the Motel 6 on Highway 278 in Hilton Head. The hotel we were supposed to stay in was over sold and we ended up at the Motel 6 for one night out of sheer desperation. We should have slept in our car. That would have been cleaner! Our sheets had cigarette holes in them. Our bathroom floor was apparently rotting and when you walked across it the floor was sagging and squeaking under the filthy carpeting. All the room's carpet was strangely discolored and frightening. We kept hearing people screaming randomly in the night and did not know what was happening. There was all kinds of debris in the parking lot (limbs down, dead leaves, trash, broken furniture). There were SKETCHY PEOPLE hanging out in the parking lot that kept eyeing our car so we totally unpacked our car of everything we had brought for our vacation and put it in the hotel room. Then we put a piece of furniture up against the door because the bolt and lock was not working. WHY is this motel still open???

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank cmcnally56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Dirty, dirty dirty......bugs, bugs, bugs and a very unkempt property. I should have spent a little bit more and stayed next door at the Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CharlotteLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

This motel was TERRIBLE!!!! I booked online and by the way the pictures online looked the motel look decent. Well the pictures must have been from the day the originally opened this location or pictures from a different location. The room was nasty and we had a LIVE cockroach in the room to great us! We were there 2mins! Went to the front desk and just telling the lady about the bug, she gave our money back right then! She said the place was closing. We could see why!! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TechFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews