We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a Must Do Family Restaurant”
Review of Taste of Europe

Taste of Europe
Ranked #160 of 283 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Why waste time at blah chain restaurant when you can have an amazing meal like grandma from the old country use to make. Very simple and clean layout with a bar in the back. The owner/chef has a simple menu but always has more options daily. The menu has a blend of Hungarian meals to other European dishes. All cooked fresh in house and served by the owner/chef. Very reasonable prices. The most expensive entre about $14. A very definite must stop.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank RunForristRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is clean and quaint with an atmosphere of dining in a local European restaurant. The food is homemade and fresh. We ate the stuffed peppers, chicken paprikash and the mushroom paprikash. Not one morsel left on our plates! The price is reasonable especially for a home cooked meal. It’s now our “go to” restaurant on the island. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank michdunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A Taste of Europe is truly as the title indicates- authentic Hungarian/German dishes. The server was most welcoming and knowledgeable about each item on the menu. The owner/chef came to our table and spoke to us about the freshness and on site preparation of all items - appetizers, soups, main entrees, and desserts. Portions were generous. They have a full bar menu. Tables are spaced to allow social distancing. We will definitely return and support this local restaurant. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

Decided to stop by a small place we had seen during the day named A Taste of Europe, my wife and I could not be more pleased. We tend to share dishes so I ordered two of the days specials , stuffed cabbage and schnitzel (veal) with mash and a lightly pickled purple cabbage. We also ordered the Guylas but not as a soup it was the cubed beef served over on sight made spaetzle. The stuffed cabbage were great no heavy sauce, just a delicious meat filling with a small amount of rice served inside on a bead of shredded cabbage flavored with smokey paprika and a dollop of sour cream, worth going back for, portion size was excellent. The schnitzel was crisp on the outside and fork tender as was the beef in the Guylas over the very tasty pasta. The food is mostly Hungarian and German based with several paprikash dishes on the simple menu and some nice appetizers and vegetables based dishes. Well made, well cooked and simply a pleasure. Everything was fresh, hot and ready to order rather quickly. If there was one thing I did miss was a good brown or dark bread with the meal. Will be back before we leave Hilton Head.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snook0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

We had a excellent meal at this very authentic restaurant. The owner, Timi prepares everything to order. She told us that they don't even have a freezer to insure the ingredients are fresh. After enjoying our meals and homemade desserts we all agreed we would be back soon.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Phmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Europe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Taste of Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.