We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaking”

Outside Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For 39 years, Outside Hilton Head has been providing fun and memorable outdoor activities to Hilton Head Island residents and visitors. Outside Hilton Head is Hilton Head's premiere outdoor outfitter. In addition to providing a multitude of excellent programs 365 days of the year, Outside Hilton Head has a retail shop loaded with everything you need for your adventure. Programs include guided Kayak Tours, Kayak Fishing, boat based Dolphin Tours, Charter Fishing, Boat Charters and Rentals, tours of historic Daufuskie Island, and Teambuilding. Facilities include the private and serene Page Island . We specialize in designing custom adventures to suit your interests! The staff at Outside Hilton Head is made up of experienced, knowledgeable and personable retail associates, reservationists, interpretive nature guides and USCG licensed Captains.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an amazing time paddling around for an hour and half. Brady was a very well informed tour guide and very entertaining very stand up guy! Highly recommend

Thank Nichole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"kayak tour"
in 161 reviews
"daufuskie island"
in 137 reviews
"captain grant"
in 56 reviews
"page island"
in 37 reviews
"broad creek"
in 120 reviews
"charlie thorn"
in 26 reviews
"family ski"
in 24 reviews
"kent grimes"
in 19 reviews
"stand up paddle boarding"
in 29 reviews
"private island"
in 26 reviews
"oysters"
in 72 reviews
"shelter cove"
in 100 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 91 reviews
"oyster beds"
in 55 reviews
"palmetto bluff"
in 16 reviews
"great kayaking"
in 17 reviews
"eco system"
in 29 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful way to experience the full moon. Very zen experience paddling under the rising moon. Guide Nick shared lots of interesting information. We went from Shelter Cove Marina on Hilton Head into Broad Creek. Weather was perfect. Thanks to Nick for the picture.

Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike O, Owner at Outside Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Leslie:

Thank you for your review. As you discovered kayaking the Low Country waters under the rising full moon is a magical experience. Nick is a great guide and we are happy you enjoyed him. Our goal is to enrich lives, your feedback fills our hearts.

With appreciation,

Mike Overton
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an awesome experience! Joe, our Captain took us out to find dolphins and to learn and enjoy the rest of the marine life. He talked about the ecosystem and the importance of the marsh. We weren’t in the boat for much more than five minutes and we saw dolphins! Joe was lighthearted and entertaining! I would recommend it to anybody!

Thank gilbertgal2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike O, Owner at Outside Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear gilbertgal2018:

So happy to hear what a great time you had on our dolphin tour and your interaction with Captain Joe. He is a fantastic guide, and his passion is contagious! We will pass along your compliments.

Thank you!

Mike Overton
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My nephew James and Kathryn were in town for a week's visit to Hilton Head and they are outdoors people. We rented bikes and hit the bike paths and beaches but the highlight of the week was the kayak trip to Page Island with Captain Kat and Outside Hilton Head. We went with six other from the kayak club in Hilton Head Plantation. Weather was perfect with a light breeze and 72 degrees. Kat showed her local knowledge as we stopped in several spots on our way to Page. Learned allot about sea life and watched as dolphins swam next our boat. We paddled up a creek and turned around at a historic Indian site dating back many centuries. All in all a great day led by Captain Kat....great job and thanks.

Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike O, Owner at Outside Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Malcolm:

Thank you for your business and thank you for your review. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed your OUTBACK Excursion to our private Page Island. Kat is a fantastic guide and certified master naturalist we will happily pass along you kudos.

We look forward to seeing you on another adventure with Outside soon.

With appreciation,

Mike Overton
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our fourth kayak trip on Broad Creek and by far the best. We chose an early morning time for high tide which limited the wildlife we saw, but significantly eased the trip around the marshes. We did see a dolphin and her baby surface several times. Besides the ability to go anywhere we wanted, the set up at the marina made this trip the best. No concerns about tipping over getting in or out. I sometimes have trouble with pain in my hip, but Brady perfectly set up my kayak so it was smooth sailing throughout. Again, the best kayak outfitters on the island.

Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike O, Owner at Outside Hilton Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Patrick:

Thank you for coming back to Outside again and again. As you have discovered the Low Country is all about Tides. Our nature, history, culture, even our literature all revolve around the tides. Accordingly there are great advantages to exploring the waterways at both high and low tide. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With appreciation,

Mike Overton
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outside Hilton Head also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Outside Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing