We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Extended Family Home in Ideal Location”

Review of Port Tack 59

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hilton Head, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travel2Ex...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Extended Family Home in Ideal Location”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Port Tack 59 the last week of March 2015 for an extended family reunion. It was perfect - two master suites with king beds and huge private bathrooms, two bedrooms with full beds and each with a private bathroom, and an adorable "kids' suite" with three beds and cute locker-type built-ins. The house was very modern with updated decorations and appliances. The furniture was very comfortable and inviting. There were two dining tables that easily fit eight at each one. All amenities were provided and the kitchen & backyard grill were excellent for fixing meals at home.

The rocking chairs on the back porch were great for afternoon and early evening happy hours - right off the beautiful kitchen and dinette area. The pool in the back was too chilly to use the week we were there (except for one dip by the kids just to get a picture of them in the pool over Spring Break!) and we chose not to heat it at the extra cost, but it was large and beautiful.

The location of the home was ideal for active vacationers. Our families rented kayaks to paddle around the lagoons that were accessible from the backyard. We also spent several hours hanging out on the dock with a few fishing poles. We did manage to hook a few small fish and just had fun relaxing by the water. We also rented bicycles from Hilton Head Outfitters - great deal for the week and they delivered/picked up in a timely manner. The Palmetto Dunes beach was only one mile away from the house on lovely tree-covered streets. The bike paths started about 1/2 way to the beach and we always felt safe. I wouldn't recommend riding after dark though - the island is quite dark with limited street lights. We also rode to Shelter Cove and other near-by areas multiple times during our week-long visit.

We just had a few suggestions. A listing of when all of the services are scheduled for would have been great - we had a few "drop-ins" like the pool service and the pest prevention guys. It would be good for the rental company to make sure the bulbs are all working (stair light in garage was out so we had to go down the garage stairs in the dark to turn on the main light and open the door. Also, a couple of lamp lights were missing but that was just because the lamps were new. And finally, a keypad for the garage door would be great. It was wonderful being able to keep our bikes in the garage and it would have been nice to be able to close the garage door from the outside rather than running under the door as it closed.

Overall, we very much recommend this home. Two of the families had stayed on Hilton Head multiple times before including my husband & me, and we all agreed that this was the best location we had found yet. We would love to return to this home if the chance ever presents itself.

Kudos to the owners for keeping the house in such great condition as well as to Goode Vacations for their prompt service and response to the couple of issues that we ran into!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Amenities
Liked least: Drop-ins by Service Guys
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ga
Reviewed 29 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed 22 September 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pa
Reviewed 29 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;