We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Wyndham
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
ZenHotels.com
$122
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Paul S
Louisville, Kentucky
A bit of a puzzle
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jul 2023via mobile
This one is a little tough to review as it has a little bit of everything but not enough of anything.

As you turn off Woodruff Rd you go past an abandoned business and a Holiday Inn and you come across what was once a La Quinta but since it's the old motel style it is now a Baymont

The lobby and staff were nice enough but here is where it gets interesting - this is one long building with the lobby, breakfast and pool on one side and room 160 on the other. Most hotels these days have the lobby in the middle, this one doesn't. So the rooms you want are even numbered from 100-120, 101-111 (on the back of the hotel) might also work, otherwise you are in for quite a walk

The room itself was nice enough, a bit of a musty smell (it is next to the pool) and no fridge or microwave but the beds were better than expected.

So in the end what you need to bring with you is a streaming device, a universal remote (their remote does not change input), a surge protector or two, room deodorizer of choice and a cooler

However as I said in the beginning it has great potential but it looks like they got the ball to the 5yd line and took a knee
Date of stay: July 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$218
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cambria Hotel Greenville Exterior
Cambria
$234
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Tripadvisor
$248
  • Booking.com
  • Home2
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$455
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.6 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Wyndham
    $133
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Comfort Suites
    $199
  • Hotels.com
4.9 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $134
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $120
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Courtyard
    $205
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
5.2 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$1,394
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Autograph
    $1,394
9.0 km from Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Greenville
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
51
74
59
31
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
51
74
59
31
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews woodruff road bed was very comfortable pet mattress interstate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2023

Hotel was in a good location but was not in the best condition. Mattress was lumpy, room smelled like cigarette smoke and mildew, the chairs cushion was stained, there was a big stain that looked like blood in the corner.

Date of stay: June 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gwashi597518
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2023

Hi washi597518,


Thank you for sharing your experience, and we are sorry you shared with us such an unpleasant experience. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are sorry that your room did not smell fresh, and for the inconvenience with some of the amenities have caused you. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping and maintenance issues. Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a chance to serve you again and will experience the improvements we have made with our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2023

first they gave us a room smell smoked. the next room dont smell smoke but was very dirty, carpet with pieces of chips, food, nobody vacummed , mirror dirty and toilet worse. the housekeeping supervisors please do their job.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dannyjacob0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2023


Hi dannyjacob0505,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. We appreciate you giving your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel and we thank you for bringing a number of important matters to our attention. Your voice is very valuable to us and we hope you will return to experience the improvements that we are continuously making to improve upon the guest experience with every stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2023

Don’t Stay”
Arrived at the hotel to be given a room on the second floor . In order to get to our room we had to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke as several people were sitting on the stairs smoking. We entered the room which was dirty and we could hear the music being played from both sides and below. I immediately requested another room which was granted and located on the first floor. This room was much cleaner however our neighbor appeared to be involved in some extracurricular activities as people were coming and going non stop and throughout all hours of the night. When I called the office they said there was nothing they could do. So needless to say my daughter and I did not sleep for 2 nights and we were excited to leave as soon as we could ! We have never stayed in a hotel where we felt unsafe until now .

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Resort644618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Hi Resort644618,


We are terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry for the cleanliness issues that occurred during your time at our hotel. We do strive to present a super clean property and are reviewing your comments with our housekeeping team to make sure all needed improvements are made. Please keep us in mind for your next stay in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2023

Stayed for four nights and room was never serviced.

There were other guests hanging out on walkway / balcony at night talking and drinking. The area was very congested with traffic, but there were lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dward116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023


Hi dward116,



Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay due to the inconveniences you experienced. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. I do apologize for the lack of room service at that time, though we're glad you found the location to be so convenient for your needs. Please keep us in mind for your next stay in the area. We are also forever working to improve upon the guest experience and I hope you will remember our attributes and return to see how we have improved to impress you even more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2023

This hotel is in serious need of a revamp/remodel. They required an additional $100.00 deposit for security or cleaning. Obviously, they haven't used that money to clean. The room was dirty. No water pressure and water only was warm at the most. Sink wouldn't drain. Water poured around faucet and dripped underneath onto feet. Beds were very worn and lumpy. Breakfast was a joke. Only hot water for instant coffee, juice machine was out of order, toaster didn't work.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Passport26631037055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Greenville Woodruff Rd, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Hi Passport26631037055,


We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with
renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that each guest has a pleasant and comfortable experience in the future. The safety cash deposit is refundable upon check out provided no violations were incurred during your stay. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to have your expectations exceeded; I hope that this will be the case during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews