We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LuvDaSun222
S.E. PA

Tired Marriott for business travelers.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Oct 2023
Spent one night at the Greenville Marriott in October.

The staff here is excellent. Front desk, restaurant, bar and bellmen were all very helpful.

Our room was okay but overall the hotel looks very tired. Lots of wear & tear. The rooms and halls can be a little dark as they use low wattage LED & florescent bulbs. The bathroom was very dimly lit.

There's no restaurants in walking distance and the hotel restaurant is not very good.

Although the front desk said I'd received my points for the stay, I never received them.

This is a very busy hotel frequented by BMW, Michelin and other local businesses so I'm guessing the Rama brothers don't spend a lot to make this the nice hotel this could be.

My tip? Stay in town. You'll have more fun and stay in a more modern hotel.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Away from elevators
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Greenville Marriott, responded to this review
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Dear LuvDaSun222,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We are grateful for your acknowledgment of the attentive hospitality you received. However, we are truly sorry to hear that certain aspects of your visit did not meet your expectations. We will look into the concerns you raised as we are continually striving to ensure a flawless visit for every guest. We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, offering an improved and enhanced experience.

Regards,
Nicole Carr
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$204
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Greenville Marriott
Free Wifi
Free parking
$194
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.7 km from Greenville Marriott
Free Wifi
Free parking
$350
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Westin.com
    $349
13.0 km from Greenville Marriott
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$226
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Aloft.com
    $225
13.0 km from Greenville Marriott
Free Wifi
Pool
$197
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
6.1 km from Greenville Marriott
Free Wifi
Pool
$280
  • Booking.com
  • Embassy
  • Hotels.com
13.3 km from Greenville Marriott
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$206
  • Booking.com
  • Hilton
  • Priceline
7.2 km from Greenville Marriott
Restaurant
Room service
$322
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $322
2.3 km from Greenville Marriott
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $200
  • Wyndham
    $220
7.3 km from Greenville Marriott
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greenville
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
132
99
32
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
132
99
32
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk would stay here again beds were very comfortable southern hospitality monty marion thermostat television conference starbucks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2023

I spent one night at the Greenville Marriott in July. Checked in on Sunday night and selected the 1,000 points instead of food gift as I had access to the lounge for dinner/snacks/drinks. Room was okay but hotel overall looking tired. The air ran all night and never got below 72; I reported to the desk at 5 p.m. after checking in and was assurred it would be investigated. It was hot so the system may have been overloaded.

Turned on the shower the next morning and brushed my teeth. Water was pooling as the drain did not work. I took a wash cloth and propped the drain open so it would drain.

Reported to the desk at check out about the air and the drain. Manager came over and apologized. Offered 9,000 points as a consolation which was nice.

As of today, and mulitple calls and emails, I have never received my 9,000 points nor the 1,000 points welcome gift. I am about to give up on Marriott as this is happening way too often with points never being credited.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank morris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Greenville Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Dear morrisc782,

Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and for your review. We are sorry for the issues with the HVAC unit in your room and for the inconvenience caused to you in the bathroom. Although our team was considerate of your concerns and even offered compensation, we apologize that you have not yet received the promised points. As we are unable to find reservations with the given name in the review, we request you to reach out directly to our hotel, so that we can assist you further. Thank you again, and we wish you safe travels.

Regards,
Nicole Carr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2023

We've been traveling across the country and have not had a better experience anywhere! the atmosphere is calming, elegant, exotic, and gorgeous! But more than that are the people! Genuine and caring, everyone greeted us with a smile and a friendly word. This isn't a facade of southern hospitality--these are truly happy people who love their jobs and care about each other and those who visit. The staff at the restaurant was knowledgeable and helpful with our questions on ingredients. We can't thank you enough.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EowynRoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Greenville Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2023

Dear EowynRoh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Greenville Marriott. Your compliments were a pleasure to read. We're delighted to learn you were thoroughly spoiled by our team. We will be sure to share your fantastic compliments with the entire staff. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you as our guest again.

Regards,
Nicole Carr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022 via mobile

As always, we received exemplary service and accommodation at the Greenville Marriott. Our room, and dining service, were of high standards. Our arrival began with a personal welcome by Front Office Manager Mr. Marion Brayboy who was available and a hospitable presence during our four day stay. He is a great team leader.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DustyReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Greenville Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2022

Dear DustyReader,

Thank you for choosing the Greenville Marriott and your loyalty to our hotel. We are glad to read your comments about the great service you received from our associates. All our team members are dedicated to going the extra mile in taking care of guests. Please be assured we will pass on your compliments to everyone. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to having you back with us again in the future.

Regards,
Marion F. Brayboy Jr.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2022 via mobile

I stayed here one night for a conference. The hotel is a little older, but still very clean and comfortable. The front lobby staff were very cheerful and kind, which is a breath of fresh air. I love the shampoo and conditioner Marriott carries in the room. Conveniently located right off the highway and close to many restaurants and Starbucks. Ample free parking. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank B6383SAamandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Greenville Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

Dear B6383SAamandam,

Thank you for being our guest at the Greenville Marriott while here for a meeting. We enjoyed reading your review and learning about the highlights of your stay. We appreciate your comments about our immaculate accommodations, convenient location, excellent customer service, and the many amenities we offer. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Greenville.

Regards,
Marion F. Brayboy Jr.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2022 via mobile

Currently here on business. Front desk was friendly but did not recognize that I was a Bonvoy member or acknowledge any requests. Rooms are definitely outdated and need sprucing up. AC Is also old and currently only comes out of one vent for the entire room and bathroom. Thermostat does not feel accurate. Sitting at 60 degrees and is still warmish. Cleanliness left much to be desired. Shower curtain and toilet were dirty. Showerheads have mildew. The sheets appear clean but I don't trust it based on what it's visible by my naked eye. Icing on the cake: housekeeping came to change my dirty curtain and rested her keys and lanyard on my bath towel and washcloth. Then proceeded to question why I requested another one. So these are the people who are ensuring that "enhanced cleaning protocols" are being followed? Will not stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Smyze142
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Greenville Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Dear Smyze142,

We value you as a Marriott Bonvoy member and are sorry that we did not recognize your status upon checking in. We will be using this as a learning experience with our associates. We seek to provide an exceptional experience for each guest; therefore, we are sorry for the issues you encountered in your room and that it did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and we appreciate you bringing these observations to our attention. We utilize feedback like yours to improve our guest experience; therefore, we are grateful for your review. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the outstanding stay you deserve.

Regards,
Marion F. Brayboy Jr.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews