We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kung Pao Still the Best”

Lieu's Chinese Bistro
Ranked #59 of 1,033 Restaurants in Greenville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Since opening its present location in September 2003, Lieu's Chinese Bistro has become a staple dining destination for authentic upscale Chinese cuisine in the Greenville, SC area. Lieu’s Chinese Bistro’s specialties include Mongolian beef, spicy shredded pork, curry chicken, salt and pepper calamari, pineapple duck, and mandarin scallops. It offers a variety of seafood dishes, including pan-fried Chilean sea bass filets, steamed fish du jour, and sweet and sour shrimp.
Reviewed 24 January 2022

I really enjoy the Kung Pao and often often it. However, just recently I have noticed that it was very dry with little sauce. I asked for extra sauce the next time and was charged $2.00 and it was not given on the side but added. It seems very expensive for something I could barely tell how much was added. Certainly, it was not $2.00 worth.

Date of visit: December 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paradise134756
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2021 via mobile

Tasty lunch here - excellent lunch time menu options at good prices. Service is always good here too. Highly recommend trying.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank leegrintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Lieu’s disappointed last night in significant ways. Interestingly, they had no wait at all when multiple nearby restaurants had a 45-minute wait, so maybe their failings are the reason. We ordered two appetizers, pork dumplings and tempura green beans. The dumplings arrived really quickly, but were undercooked. We asked for fried and they were fried only on one side, the other side and the bottom were still doughy. And they were so huge, that there was a large amount of filling inside, and gave the impression of eating a hamburger instead of a tender dumpling. The green beans appetizer arrived with our entrées. We ate them, but this was really unacceptably late. At no point did anyone offer to comp us for the green beans given that they arrived so late. My shrimp fried rice tasted pretty good, but there were not many shrimp in it. I understand they were large, but there were so few that visually you could only see one single shrimp in the entire dish when it arrived. Finally, The server did not do an adequate job of keeping my drink filled. When I pay for a drink, I expect to be able to drink it for the entire meal, not do without that paid-for beverage for half of the meal. The likelihood of our returning to Lieu’s at this point is quite low.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank LisaF314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2021

We had horrible service and then when we finally got our food, my sisters plate had TWO long hairs in it. The manager was rude and upset with my sister when it wasn’t her fault. We were also asked to pay for the dish with hair in it. The manager had to be convinced to not make us pay for the dish with hair. After taking the plate off our tab, she came to our table just as rude as before. As a manager you should care that a new customer just got two hairs in the food you served.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank kayp47284
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent. Best Asian food we've had since moving to SC. Authentic "homemade" traditional with a spin. Really enjoyable.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Sightseer197135
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Lieu's Chinese Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lieu's Chinese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.