We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it again!”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I truly appreciate the warm and inviting feeling that I had during my stay. From checking in, to checking out, one feels that you are their only customer. The two night stay is exactly what my wife and needed. I do agree with other comments, I wish I could have stayed longer. We have stayed twice now and intend on being a regular customer! Thanks again for a great weekend away!

Room Tip: The views of the marsh land are very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Thank you sam a for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our Inn. We are honored that you chose us a second time as a little getaway for you and your wife. It is wonderful to hear the staff treated you warmly. We do hope you can return again soon and maybe for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Awesome.. quiet and off the main path.
Staff was friendly and efficient.
Close to everything enjoyed. wish I could have stayed longer. Complimentary breakfast and then in the evening drinks with snacks.
Did not have asked for anything better






Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank rabryansc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Thank you rabryansc for writing this review of our Inn. We are pleased to hear you found your stay to be quiet and relaxing but close enough to enjoy the restaurants and bars. We are thrilled you enjoyed our daily happy hour and hot breakfast. We do hope that you get a chance to stay with us again, sooner rather than later!! We always extend a 10% discount for all return guests, so keep us in mind!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Stayed in a villa with family and everyone had a blast. The four year old was entertained, the teenage girls were kept busy, and dad was still able to relax!!! The staff made the experience that much more delightful by being laid back and attentive at all times. I felt like part of the community at the breakfast and happy hour. Short walk to the beach allows you to skip the stressful parking dilemma on the island. Will totally be back!!!

Room Tip: Villa 15 is beautifully decorated and has all the modern amenities you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Thank you Richard B for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Villa and our great location to the center of town. It is wonderful to hear that the staff made you guys feel like Folly Beach locals! We hope you can return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Once a month my fiance' and I are fortunate enough to stay on Folly beach for a little staycation. Waters Edge never fail to meet expectations. All the rooms are eclectic in motifs...in a good way.

Staff is always friendly and knowledgeable.

Happy hour and Morning Breakfast great as well. (we have not tried the breakfast but I can tell it is awesome). Most importantly the cookie jar and milk is available 24/7.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rossthecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you rossthecook for taking the time to review our Inn. It is wonderful that you have the opportunity to enjoy a monthly "stay-cation" soaking up Folly Beach! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed all of your stays with us! It is also great that you have found our staff to be friendly throughout your times with us and you have endulged in happy hour and fresh cookies! You will have to try breakfast next time! We hope to see you two again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Nice room, amenities are enjoyable, quiet location in a busy beach community. Took full advantage of the hot tub, and happy hour was great. I gave it 4 stars, but would perhaps give it 5, except for the inconsistency in how the staff performed. I realize that "good help is hard to find" but some of the time during our stay we found ourselves depending on the performance of someone who seemed to find the computer more important than the guests!
I don't want to emphasize the negative, though - I enthusiastically recommend the Water's Edge Inn, with the caveat that you might experience the same type of inconsistent service.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an upstairs room, with a screen porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you drmlvr for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are thrilled that you indulged in our complimentary happy hour and had the opportunity to relax in our outdoor hot tub. Thank you for noting the inconsistencies in our front desk staff. The culture of an operation is vital to the overall guest experience and we do apologize that it didn't fully meet your expectations. We will certainly address the team and stress the importance behind being attentive and responsive to all of our guests. We hope you will come visit us again and will gladly extend a 10% discount to our valued return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
0.5 km away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,384 reviews
13.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
16.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,645 reviews
15.2 km away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
14 km away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range: $230 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing