We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
319
417
265
111
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
417
265
111
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor free shuttle ashley river rooftop restaurant shuttle service breakfast buffet is historic district downtown area an older hotel folly beach front desk staff the hotel offers short drive aaron musc uber
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

The hotel was average very noisy in the room we had next to the high way. As they provided ear plugs. There is a shuttle bus in to Richmond but only every 2 hours. To far to walk and to dangerous. Good food in the 14 floor restaurant but way to much for us English.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear out of town,
Thank you for the review and feedback. I’m sorry we did not meet your expectations. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience while they are with us. We will begin renovations this year. The hotel is in close proximity to several well-traveled thoroughfares. That feature has both pros and one or two cons…the obvious pro is the ease of touring the beautiful city…the noise generated by the roads can be considered a con. We provide ear plugs to each guest because we are aware that the noise level can disturb some. It is our pleasure to provide complimentary shuttle service to our valued guests and the drivers enjoy sharing their acquired knowledge of the area. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

This hotel is quite old and certainly in need of an update and refurbishment. The rooms are small as are the bathrooms. The redeeming factor is the delightful restaurant and bar on the 12th floor giving the best views around. Although it is across the river from Charleston there is an efficient free shuttle service to downtown. Choose your dates carefully as the hotel raises its prices significantly on weekends and when they are getting full. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The hotel also seems to attract bus trips and groups which is not the best for a quiet stay.

Room Tip: The road next to the hotel is very busy so choose a room on the higher floors!
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Micky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Micky M,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience during their stay. As you mention in your review, the hotel needs some updating. To that end, hotel renovations have commenced. Once the renovations are completed I hope you will stay with us again. I’m sure you will be pleased with the updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

The people were great. The price was great. The poor room maintenance was AWFUL. See photos. Why would Holiday Inn allow this? As you can see in the photos, the rooms needed a lot of maintenance. The patios door was locked, unable for you to open it and get fresh, outside air.

Room Tip: Check the room maintenance before taking your luggage.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samissamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience during their stay so I’m sorry we did not meet all of your expectations.. As you mention in your review, the hotel needs some updating. To that end, hotel renovations have commenced. Once the renovations are completed I hope you will stay with us again. I’m sure you will be pleased with the updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel on May 8 2018. I was in room 301. The room was clean and large very well lit and quite. The bathroom was a little tight. The staff was friendly and very good to work with. I did not eat at the restaurant but I did go up and check it out. The view is wonderful. For the price you can’t find a better value in Charleston. Don’t let the bad reviews change your mind. It’s a hotel and let’s face it your not living there your using as a base of operations to tour or work. Try it I think you’ll like it.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Tajm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Tajm10,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. .Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience while they are with us and it sounds like by in large we met your expectation…that makes the entire team very happy. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston and we love that you appreciate the unique ambiance. We will begin renovations this year so when join us again, I’m sure you will approve and be impressed by the changes. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We did not want to deal with an in-town hotel. Parking is one pet peeve. So the H I Riverview suited our cause. Plenty of parking. A great place to start and/or end a cruise. You can get transportation to the cruise pier and leave your car at HI. But that was not our mission, but to explore Charleston ... again.

It's a comparatively older HI. Perhaps 50 years old. But the elevator runs smoothly and fast. The rooms were nice, and modern. And we had breakfast there one day, and found it ... and the view ... to be worth the try. There is also a Waffle House next door, if that is your thing. Access is easy from Rt 17. But exiting the parking lot to get on 17 north is a bit harrowing. Traffic comes around the bend in the road like bats out of hell. So be ready to gun it.

We will stay there again, to be sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level view of the river.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Big-Deeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Big-Deeee,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. .Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience while they are with us and it sounds like we met your expectations. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston and we love that you appreciate the unique ambiance. I hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service during your stay. You mentioned you plan on staying with us again...I wanted to mentioned that we will begin renovations this year so when join us again, I’m sure you will approve and be impressed by the changes. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews