We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Dewberry Charleston(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Bohemian Hotel(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Zero George Street(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,051)
Filter reviews
2,051 results
Traveller rating
782
590
345
199
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
590
345
199
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoriginal citadelevening receptioncooked to order breakfastmarion squarewithin walking distancefree happy hourbrick wallbreakfast staffhistoric charlestonking streetfarmers marketvalet parkingfree breakfastcocktail hourvisitor's centerlocation is greatthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,051 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived early, but the front desk staff and bellmen were so helpful, as were the valet staff. They held our bags and let us know when our room was ready. We rented a two bedroom suite on the 4th floor right off the elevator. It was convenient since I was on crutches and walking far was difficult.

The living space area was large with a conference table, chairs, sofa, wet bar and small refrigerator. There was a Kerig coffee maker with a good selections of beverages. The first bedroom was smaller with no windows but a king size bed, armoire, tv, good lighting and great a/c. There was a separate bathroom next to the bedroom. Small but worked well and had great toiletries. The second bedroom was huge, with a queen size poster bed, armoire, tv, windows with a view of the Ravenel bridge and an en suite bathroom. It has double sinks with a large shower, no tub, but also filled with lots of toiletries. Everyone got a good nights sleep.

We didn’t partake in the evening lobby refreshments, but did enjoy the complimentary breakfast. I had a made to order omelette, but there was also scrambled eggs, biscuits with gravy, sausage, bacon, potatoes pancakes, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, muffins, sweet rolls, coffee and juice. It was outstanding and the staff was attentive and kind helping me maneuver plates while on my crutches.

Check-out was convenient and the charges were exactly as I expected. I’d stay here again when in Charleston. Thank you to all for a great stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hi Regina!

Thanks for taking your time to leave such a generous and thorough review for our hotel!
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us especially our phenomenal staff we have here with us who went out of their way to accommodate you while you were on your crutches!
We take a lot of pride in our excellent complimentary breakfast as well as our social hour and we are glad to know you were able to take advantage of it!
Thanks for choosing us among many other hospitality choices in downtown Charleston and we are looking forward to seeing you back here with us again for your next visit to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed three miserable nights in a dark, mildewy 1st floor "suite" that had not been painted, decorated, or repaired in ages. A chipped tub. Only one small shuttered window in the bedroom and no natural light in the bath or living room. A shadow on the bedroom wall hinted at a prior mirror where the TV stood on a dresser; a wardrobe instead of a closet. Boarded up gun
holes in the bedroom wall. While it paid homage to the military dorm room it had been in the past, it was not a pleasant experience and the amount charged per night was wholly disproportionate to the accommodations. I would never stay on the 1st floor here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hi Jeanette,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

My husband and I went for my birthday. We are employees of local Hiltons and this one made our visit so wonderful. The atmosphere was pleasant, the staff excellent. Ms. Anna May was like our mother. Warm and welcoming during breakfast. DeAngelo and Ebony were awesome and made my birthday exceptional. Kudos to all of them!!! The history of Embassy was brought to us so professional. I love history and to find out that this hotel was The Original Citadel was amazing!! From the suites to the décor and the layout of the hotel, so historic and beautiful.

Room Tip: Best View is Marion Square and Meeting Street.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nabria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hi Nabria!

Thanks for taking your time to leave a kind review for our hotel!
First of all, out Hilton Family would like to wish you a happy happy birthday Nabria!!
We are so excited to hear that you and your husband enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us especially our phenomenal staff we have here with us such as Ms.Anna, DeAngelo and Ebony who went out of their way to make your birthday special!
Although we are located in an old historic building, with continuous love, maintenance and updates, we believe that the archaic charm is what separates us from other hotels in Charleston!
Thanks for choosing us for such a special occasion and we hope to see you back here with us again in the near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

This hotel is way overpriced for the quality. Sure, it's in a good location and I knew the cost but guess I expected a lot more bang for my buck! Breakfast was no-hum also. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank glfoxnunley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston. Whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Requested a room on a high floor, received a room on the first floor and was told it was that or nothing even though we had made reservations well in advance and are Hilton Honors members. Room was noisy since it was directly off the atrium. The room felt clean but was lacking the correct towels and almost zero toiletries were provided (one bar of soap - nothing else). Staff had an

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank SusanBellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Susan,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston. Whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and apologize again for your disappointing experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews