We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barksdale House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inn at Middleton Place(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zero George Street(Charleston)
US$562
US$512
Zero George Street
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wentworth Mansion(Charleston)
US$458
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,729)
Filter reviews
3,729 results
Traveller rating
1,974
1,126
387
171
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,974
1,126
387
171
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarbadoes roomgreat locationbarbados roompoogan's porchqueen streetwithin walking distanceholiday innhistoric districtvalet parkingcharming hotelbeautiful courtyardrooms are smallcorner roommeeting streetsouthern charmper daydowntown charleston
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 3,729 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was lovely but the front desk staff seemed like they are all brand new to customer service. Checking in was a nightmare, checking out even worse. When we tried to leave keys so late arriving guests could get into the rooms they lost the names. When I asked a question about my room rate I was just yelled at by the staff. I’m unclear why my honest question was greeted with hostility but I was greatly disappointed in the level of service especially when we were paying over $500 a night. The bell hop lost my luggage and did not seemed concerned at all that it was missing. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Kfsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

3 night stay. Beautiful hotel. We somehow were put in an ADA room and thought that it was a bit small overall and while it was adequate it didnt really match the elegance of the lobby. It was clean and comfortable but not anything special.
Drive around the corner and park in the public parking on the 4th level and you walk right to the hotel connector . Small annoyance was at breakfast outside at 9:00am service was extremly slow and the hostess/mgr was no where to be found. But most annoying was that they started to set up tents and tables for an event scheduled later that day, while we and others were still trying to enjoy breakfsast. One guest tripped over a tent pole on the ground (we all saw that coming) . Nice hotel for the value all in all.

Room Tip: make sure you are not put in an ADA room
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JFL1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

The mills house is one of my favorite hotels in Charleston. Probably the best located out of all the many fine hotels. While the guest rooms may be on the smaller side (not uncommon in older hotels), the common areas (indoor and outdoors) are excellent. two great bar areas and a great place to start the day with breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and chose it because it is very central to the main areas of interest and within easy walking distance.

Our bathroom in room 338 is in need of refurbishment, is at the back of the hotel overlooking part pool area part car park.

The reception staff couldn’t do enough for us. We didn’t eat at the hotel but the food looked great and I overheard lots of positive comments.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We were lucky and were upgraded to a Junior Suite for our overnight stay here. While the view from our room wasn't the best, the room was very nicely appointed and clean. Lovely garden seating for afternoon drinks, had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. both yummy. can be pricey but your in the center of historic Charleston. Great location as restaurants, shops and historic areas are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahR1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cree S, Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for visiting with us. It was wonderful having you with. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Cree Stubbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews