We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Retreat, Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Cottage
Kitchen and eating area study area with convertible sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Welcome to the Cottage
Kitchen and eating area
study area with convertible sofa
Living area with view toward the kitchen
Master Bedroom
View of the main house from the cottage patio
Carriage gates leading to the cottage
Cottage garden
Carriage gates and parking area
Master bathroom
View from Study Area to Living Room
View of front entrance
View of main house from Limehouse Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donna L
Naples FL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fabulous Retreat, Great Location”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Our second visit to this Cottage was even better than the first. It felt like coming "home" - that is, to a luxurious retreat! The Cottage is comfortable and impeccably maintained, within walking distance to all things Charleston. It was so nice to come home from a day of touring and tasting to this lovely respite. A great area for walking as you will see all the fabulous historic details of the homes in this quiet residential area just two blocks from the Battery waterfront. Book now as the more people who know about it, the harder it will be to get a reservation. Our hostess recommended the highlight of our visit, the Charleston Footprints walking tour with Michael Trouche. Thanks Chriss from us and the miniature schnauzers. We will be back for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable but elegant decor
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socalhal
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming Luxury South of Broad”
Reviewed 26 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a fabulous place to stay. My wife and I had a wonderful four days in this charming, restored boat house. It was tucked away on one of the larger properties south of Broad and we had outstanding views from the front porch of the cottage. We were within walking distance of downtown, the Battery, and most of the attractions in Charleston. Chris, the owner, was gracious and helpful. I highly recommend this for a taste of southern hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the views from the porch
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2012
Hal,

Thanks so much for your kind words. I appreciate you taking the time to post such a nice review. Please come see us again!

Chriss
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L
Naples FL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Awesome Private Cottage with Great Location”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for four nights with our two miniature schnauzers and could not have been happier. The Cottage is within walking distance to the Battery waterfront but is nestled into a large lot back off the street. There is off street parking in front and gardens lead up to the front door. It is extremely private and the setting is soothing. Once inside, the decor is lovely. It is clean and very comfortable but accented with beautiful antiques. The kitchen is well appointed although we ate out for most meals (we did enjoy having coffee each morning). The bathrooms are modern with a historic touch. The Cottage is very spacious and larger than it appears on the photos. Our hostess Chriss generously offered us a tour of her lovely historic home and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We took our dogs on long walks and enjoyed exploring on foot as we saw so many details that are missed while driving. We did drive to dinner each night unlike some of the other reviewers. Chriss recommended we book ahead at a restaurant called Husk and we were glad we did - it was the best meal we had on our trip! We highly recommend this for a relaxing stay in a lovely setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passportr...
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with all the charm of Charleston only a few blocks from the river”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5
people found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with our pooch, stayed at The Cottage for 10 days during the Spoleto Festival. The Cottage was very comfortable, quiet, and well furnished. Chriss helped us with directions to the local grocery store (all those one way streets in Charleston can be a bit confusing when you haven't been there in 20-some years) and responded immediately when the wi-fi went out after a brief flicker in power from a thunderstorm. Since we were traveling with our dog, the Cottage was a perfect location for scenic walks to White Point Gardens (where dogs are allowed off leash) in the Battery overlooking Charleston Harbor. We walked everywhere from the Cottage to all the Festival venues: Gaillard Auditorium, Dock Street Theatre, Sottile Theatre, Emmett Robinson Theatre at College of Charleston, and the College of Charleston Cistern Yard. We enjoyed the Festival--and our stay at the Cottage--so much that we are returning in 2013 and are looking forward to staying at the Cottage once again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfy bed, full kitchen and GREAT location.
Liked least: Lighting could be brighter for reading at night on the couch in the living area.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cararms
Los Altos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat in a fabulous "South of Broad" location”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
6
people found this review helpful

I happened to find this place when I was searching VRBO.com for a vacation rental with a king bed (not a common feature, I found). Staying here, we got a comfortable place to sleep, and so much more.

This is a spacious cottage on the grounds of a beautifully and lovingly preserved antebellum mansion (c. 1856) in the heart of the quiet, historic residential-only neighborhood south of Broad. It is well-furnished with an eclectic mix of modern and antique, up-to-date appliances and bathrooms, and immaculate. The "modern" furnishings include a comfortable king bed, washer-dryer, two comfortable couches in separate areas, which meant that a couple staying here could each stretch out on a couch and read on an afternoon that turned stormy (this is something you probably couldn't do in a hotel room).

From this location you can walk--if you're a walker--to most restaurants, to the Battery, and to most of the mansions that are open for tours. The light and shadows in this neighborhood are stunning at all hours of the day and night, constantly changing and endlessly fascinating (at least to me). The property owner graciously offered us a private tour of the "big" house, her home, which we enjoyed immensely.

I would return here in a heartbeat. It was a perfect location for our week exploring Charleston and the vicinity. Thank you, Chriss.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Wonderful location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2012
Betty,

What lovely comments you have for us! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to doing it again next year!
Thanks for the glowing review. I appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments!

Take care,

Chriss
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing