We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barksdale House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Elliott House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$139
Elliott House Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$175
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Inn at Middleton Place(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$272
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$402/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveller rating
963
109
38
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
109
38
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic basketfull kitchenbreakfast basketking streetwine and cheeseeach morningboutique hotelexposed brickcookiesstudio suitewasher and dryerrooftop restaurantthe general managerbreakfast deliveredliving areaseparate bedroomhardwood floors
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved The Restoration! It was our anniversary trip and we were greeted with a personal note and a bottle of champagne in the fridge, along with a tour of the grounds. We loved the spa, the pool, the rooftop bar The Watch and the daily wine and cheese happy hour! Our favorite personal touch was the morning picnic baskets delivered to the room with coffee, fruit, juice and pastries. I researched and read a ton of reviews on Charleston hotels prior to booking...couldn't have been happier with our selection. We will definitely stay at The Restoration next time we visit Charleston❤

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kassidy_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kassidy_T,

Thank you for staying with us at The Restoration and for taking the time to share your wonderful comments here. We were so pleased to read that you loved our hotel, Spa, rooftop restaurant and all of the amenities we have to offer.

Congratulations again on your anniversary! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is beautiful, but it is lacking in customer service. With all the choices of places to stay in Charleston, I would not choose this one again and I am not sure anyone would notice or care. The room was nice, but I did not feel it had been cleaned very carefully. There was dust all over the bathroom shelves.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastraveler318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear texastraveler318,

Thank you for staying with us at The Restoration and for sharing your feedback here. It was disappointing to read that we failed to meet your expectations in terms of our customer service and the cleanliness of your room. Our goal is to always exceed our guests' expectations in every way and I apologize on behalf of the team that this was not your experience.

I do hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide the level of service you should expect as a guest of The Restoration. Please contact me directly at hchambers@therestorationhotel.com so that I may assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

This hotel is charming and chic. The rooms are all individual and quaint. Breakfast is served, in your room, in a picnic basket. There is wine served in the afternoon.
There Restoration is in a perfect location for main shops and restaurants in the market area of Charleston. Parking / pulling up to valet can be challenging (limited space), but the front desk is a friendly welcome - once inside.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank SouthernGirlReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SouthernGirlReviews,

Thank you for staying with us at The Restoration and for sharing your comments here. We are so pleased you enjoyed your accommodations and all of the amenities we offer. Our front desk team works hard to provide each guest a warm and friendly welcome and it was gratifying to read that this was your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Restoration on your next visit to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

The Restoration is a treasure. Clean, Luxurious, attentive staff, plentiful facilities, well located.
Our 4th floor room did not have a view, but we really didn't care, the oversized room, luxurious bathroom with rain shower, fully stocked refrigerator... even had ice cream, we had no need to gaze out the window. Just pop in the elevator to the roof-top pool. The hotel has bikes available, and even a golf cart shuttle.

This reviewer says... You must!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear j g,

Thank you for staying with us at The Restoration and for taking the time to share your comments and recommendation. We strive every day to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience and it was so gratifying to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

We appreciate you choosing The Restoration and look forward to welcoming you back to on your next visit to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We almost didn’t stay here after reading the other negative reviews, and really wish we had listened. The positives of the hotel - it is in a great location, a cool design concept, and large rooms. The management though is seemingly nonexistent, the staff don’t seem to have any clue what’s going on at any point in time. We had a pretty substantial leak in our room, front desk told us they would send maintenance right away, nearly an hour later a cleaning lady showed up with dirty towels because “she heard we had a leak” - maintenance never came. We also booked this place over the Fourth of July because we were hoping to have a rooftop hotel to watch fireworks from, however they closed the rooftop for a party that you had to buy tickets for, which we were never told about until after they were sold out. Additionally we were woken up both mornings by housekeeping ringing the doorbell before 9 am, and on the fourth we were told (very abruptly) that if we wanted our room cleaned at all that day, it would have to be right then - another thing we should have been informed of by staff. After we checked out, we found a much larger charge on our credit card than we had authorized, and when we called to inquire, the lady at the front desk was rather snippy and told us that we’re charged $100/day for incidentals, and that the charge would be reversed... something else we were never told. Overall the staff was lax and seemed to have a really bad attitude - like service was something they weren’t in the mood for. At a four star hotel, you expect a lot better. Additionally, the rooms are much dirtier than I would ever be comfortable paying that amount for - dust everywhere, mold in the bathrooms, etc. At an absolute minimum of $300/night for a room, I feel like cleaning and quality service is something that it’s very fair to expect. As far as the space, we opted for this hotel because of the rooftop bar and pool (which aren’t on the same level), but both were so tiny that we didn’t spend any time at them. The pool is so small that it heats up to jacuzzi temps (and is the same size) and the only seating offered around the pool are a few black (so also scalding hot) sofas - if more than two or three groups are already out there, it’s impossible to find anywhere to stand/sit. Overall just really disappointed with this stay, and would encourage other people considering this hotel to opt for one that really understands what the service industry is about.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Lindley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews