We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elliott House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Barksdale House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$231
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Middleton Place(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zero George Street(Charleston)
US$562
US$512
Zero George Street
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
476
228
123
56
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
476
228
123
56
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesequeen streetgreat locationhot tubparking garage across the streethusk restaurantpoogan's porchcontinental breakfastevening receptionhistoric districtbreakfast deliveredbeautiful courtyardeach morningwithin walking distancewalking tourenjoyed our staydowntown charleston
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We were so happy with our stay, The room was lovely with a sweet balcony and the staff was wonderful. Matthew was such a help with showing us just where to go and what we needed to know. The location is ideal and was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. We loved the wine and cheese in the courtyard and the complimentary breakfast was such a nice surprise. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCMR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Matthew is a native and is a wealth of information on what to see and do in the city. Please keep us in mind next time you visit Charleston - we'd love to have you back again to enjoy this beautiful springtime weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

This place advertises as high end. It is not. It has a lovely courtyard where nice meals are served, and it is in a great neighborhood. That is all it has going for it. The room could arguably be called shabby chic, the accent was clearly on shabby. The drawers on the two small nightstand/dressers were stuck shut and the handles came off when trying to open them. The toilet handle dangled off the tank. When it stopped working and I reported it to the desk, the response was

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their time with us, and if our property does not meet your expectations, then we do our best to help you find an alternative solution. This particular guest stayed with us for two nights, and could have asked us to help him find another location, if our property was not going to meet his expectations. While a majority of guests do like our property and we have had many guests that have being staying with us for more than twenty years, we understand that we will not be a perfect fit for everyone. We really worked hard on our renovations and I'm sorry that you didn't like the changes we've done. If you arrive to the property and realize that this is not going to be a place that is going to suit your needs, we would much rather help you find alternative locations, than to have you spend your vacation in Charleston in a property that does not meet you expectations. We encourage all guests to reach out to us while they are onsite, so we have an opportunity to make the experience more enjoyable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We arranged this b&b through the visitors center. What a find! Heart of downtown. Staff were veey hospitable. Wine & cheese in the afternoon & breakfast choices were all very good. Within walking distance of everything. Don't hesitate to stay here!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, General Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Tammy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are located right in the middle of Charleston's Historic District, so many of the activities that you want to see and do, are just a few steps away from the property. The breakfast is small and light to get you up and going, and it is a great a way to start the day. The wine and cheese in the afternoon is a nice way to end your long day of touring the city. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

I think it’s important to note that the hotel rooms all open directly to the outside courtyard, which has no security. As a woman traveling alone, I never would have booked a hotel with motel-style rooms for safety reasons. I spent on night before moving to another hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Traveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. Actually our website and all third-party websites, state that all of rooms have exterior corridor entrances. I’m sorry that this information was overlooked, that was never our intention. We have plenty of solo visitor travelers that stay with us, and this is the first time we have ever heard of someone feeling unsafe or secure. We are located in the center of Charleston’s Historic District, right across the street from the Federal and County Parking Deck. Our street, is probably the safest or one of the safest streets, in all of Charleston. We take safety and security issues seriously, and we would have definitely helped you find another property that met your needs to feel better. We never want our guests to feel like they can’t leave if they are not fully satisfied with our property. We do our best to ensure that our staff is friendly and welcoming, and if necessary, have the ability to move you to another property. I'm very sorry, I really am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Great spot for visiting Charleston. Right in the heart of the historic area. Comfortable, cozy and clean rooms. Breakfast delivered to your room and nice little wine reception nightly. Neal, Samantha and Matthew took extra good care of us from start to finish. Will be back.

JO

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, General Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay. We are fortunate to have such a great staff with us at the Inn. Thank you for mentioning the team members if your review. The breakfast delivered to the room is a great way to start the day. The wine and cheese reception is definitely a guest favorite. We can't wait to welcome you back to The Elliott House Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews