We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barksdale House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$405/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Elliott House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$139
Elliott House Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$350/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Inn at Middleton Place(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,525)
Filter reviews
2,525 results
Traveller rating
1,121
822
366
157
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,121
822
366
157
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treegreat locationhistoric districtfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancecity markettwo storywet barcookiestwo room suitevalet staffliving areawould stay here againfitness centercarriage rideper day
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 2,525 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Great location, overwhelmed housekeeping, very old and worn decor in room. Check-in service delayed upon our arrival and also on subsequent days. Room in desperate need of renovation. Perfectly situated, so I hope they can fix the problems.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Langdon909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Langdon909,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charleston. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced during your visit. I would like to provide resolution to your concerns and I will contact you to see how I may assist to make it right for you.

I am very glad to report that we will be undergoing a transforming renovation in 2019 to update all areas of the hotel. My hope is that you will return in the future. I offer my personal assistance for any future visits to Charleston.

Sincerely,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

ok I will start with I am a loyal honors member. This was my 3rd stay with Dbltree and honestly I will not use the brand again. First of all, I paid alot for a Balcony room one of 4 in the hotel that said Balcony with a City view. Ok you think it will be of historic Charleston but wait my city view was on the 2nd floor looking at a 4 story parking garage and it was located not in the main part of the hotel but in the back. I was not a happy hilton honors person at all. Then I am supposed to get water each day, was not offered it but the first day of three. Rooms are dated and really need updating and bed was ok but not as comfortable as it should be. Very pricy for what I got. Check in was a mess, I had asked for early checkin but did not get in till after 4 pm, yes I know that is the normal time they tell you. Oh and the view off the upper deck pool is great of the river but Holiday Inn tower blocks sunsets. The location is great for walking around the riverfront but some of the sites are quite a good walk if you are not up to that. There are alot of options for hotels around. Valet parking is a pain also but the parking lot across the street costs the same and you h ave to pay in and out eahc time.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Susan A,

Thank you for providing feedback for your visit to Charleston. I beleive you may have inadvertantly chosen our hotel in error as we don't overlook the water or have a pool.

Please contact me at the hotel at 843-577-2644 if I may assist in any way.

Sincerely,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Location is perfect. Your right in the Historic District and everything is in walking distance. Staff is so helpful and kind. We were there for over a week and enjoyed the suite room which gave us some space. Great vacation at great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank martha5447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear martha5477,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Holy City. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that the staff took very good care of you during your visit.

My hope is that you will come back again very soon!

Warm regards,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We were so glad to have chosen this hotel. It was right in the heart of Charleston. Yes, they do charge for valet parking, but it was so worth it. We had a room on the first floor that looked out into the courtyard. It was quiet and nice. The room was comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. We were close to everything and walked to all of our activities. We visited Fort Sumter and walked down to Battery Park. The historic market in across the street and there are endless food choices nearby.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank MJJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Hello MJJJB,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charleston. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

My hope is that you will join us again in the future. Please let me know if I may assist in any way.

Best regards,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

The room was bery dated and required carpeting, bathrooms were like a 70s motel, beds were very uncomfortable as well, very poor value for what you would expect to get from a Hilton chain. I payed over 1200 USD and used over 160000 points for a 5 night stay in a shabby room on the second floor at the very end of the hall

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 67daltonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear 67daltonh,

Thank you for staying with us duirng your visit to Charleston. I sincerely apologize for the challenges that you encountered during your visit.

While many guests do enjoy the decor and ambiance of the hotel, we will be undergoing a significant renovation next year to completely reinvent the hotel with new guest areas, a coffee shop, incredible courtyard bar area and so much more.

My hope is that you will return in the future to see the changes. I offer my personal assistance either now or in the future. I want to make certain we make it right. I will attempt to reach you to follow-up and provide resolution. Please feel free to reach me at any time at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews