We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$195
US$157
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$548
US$514
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Elliott House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Middleton Place(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$221
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,528)
Filter reviews
2,528 results
Traveller rating
1,123
822
366
157
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,123
822
366
157
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treegreat locationhistoric districtfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancecity markettwo storywet barcookiestwo room suitevalet staffliving areawould stay here againfitness centercarriage rideper day
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 2,528 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

This is the fifth time we have stayed at the Doubletree Charleston in as many years. It is more than an outstanding location. The staff from Brad Harvey, GM, Gale Front Desk, James in the Valet group, Felicia in Housekeeping were outstanding and have accommodated several special requests. The real benefit of staying here is the staff.
Ironically, the weekend edition of the Wall Street Journal (complimentary for guest) had a feature article titled HOTELS, A LOVE STORY, "Sometimes we fall so hard for our vacation accommodations that the property itself becomes the destination". This is how we feel about the Doubletree Charleston. We celebrated our 40th Anniversary last year and the staff went out of their way. And this year it was just as special thanks to them. Each visit to Charleston we find new great places to eat and things to do but the hotel remains our anchor.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlywolf, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We feel so honored to be your home away from home in Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to rave about our staff so we can pass along your kind words and recognize these individuals for their wonderful service. Your recommendation to other travelers means so incredibly much to us, and we hope to welcome you back again next year for your 42nd anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We were staying in the hotel as part of a wedding group. The first room we were given was an ADA room. We asked about it and found out they gave us a room that was meant for another guest in our party so we had to move. The second room we got to was not serviced yet, causing us to have to go back down to the lobby...again, suitcases and all. Then we finally got a third room, which was fine. But I was unable to attend some wedding events due to moving around. Although the location is great, I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank rfd9678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charleston. I sincerely apologize for the challenge with the rooms that you encountered during your stay. This should not have occurred and I am so sorry to hear that it impacted your participation in some of the wedding events.

It is our goal that every guest has a fantastic and memorable stay in Charleston and the hotel. When challenges occur we seek to make it right. I will reach out to you today to see how we can provide resolution.

Sincerely,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

This is a good hotel in the heart of beautiful Charleston - very close to all the main sights and restaurants. The hotel itself is well kept, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very nice and fresh.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Britney_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlywolf, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for the recommendation to other travelers! We appreciate you sharing your positive experience with our welcoming staff in our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We had room 168, a suite on the first floor. This suite was on one level. Some rooms are two levels with the sitting room and bathroom on the main level and the bedroom up a flight of steeps. The room is decorated with older traditional funishings. This room overlooks the enclosed courtyard and there are tablesand charirs near the window. Still a very quiet location. You may want to keep the drapes closed. By the way the drapes are blackout curtains and make for great sleeping in.

Room Tip: Next to the Market and plenty of dining places.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 599RobertB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlywolf, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your recommendation with other travelers! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite overlooking our beautiful courtyard. It is our hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

A great location if you want to be within walking distance of all the great sights and dining in Historic Charleston. Everything is an easy walk from this hotel. Staff are very friendly, hotel is clean and well appointed, and Ken the bartender, is great. There is an enclosed courtyard so you can sit out and enjoy the weather but be sheilded from the bustle of the street. The city market is right outside the door of the hotel so you can browse all the way to the water.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Darlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlywolf, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

We can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience with us! It is great to hear that our courtyard was a nice relaxing area for you to enjoy some Charleston sunshine. We truly appreciate your compliments of our lobby bartender, Ken as well and we will be sure to thank him for providing excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews