We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
284
307
150
72
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
307
150
72
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ashley river historic district lockwood drive fire pit hotel shuttle rocking chairs shuttle service water view pool area nice pool close to downtown corner room free parking front desk staff short drive very nice hotel folly beach
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at his location. We chose this location for our 30th Wedding Anniversary based on how it was presented on the website. It was, to say the least, very misleading. As Marriott Gold members, we almost exclusively stay at Marriott properties and have seen a variety of award categories. This hotel is listed as a category 7 property and the website claims it is "newly renovated." Neither is true. The room was dingy and old. The bathroom had an ancient tub/shower combination and the sink had no room around it for toiletries. There was no door separating the sink area from the sleeping area. The staff did not restock the glasses, makeup removers, or soaps. The elevators are old and slow. The views from the balcony were of the marina, bridge, and concrete and brick hotel next door. The shuttle used to provide access to the historic area was very old, dirty, and worn. On the other hand, the front desk staff, shuttle drivers, and concierge were fantastic and really saved the stay from being entirely disappointing. If you are looking for an average tourist hotel with convenient access to the Charleston historic area at the price of elite hotel, this property is just right for you.

Room Tip: As whether the room has been renovated and what exactly the view from the balcony is.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear dkwags,
We are happy that you selected our hotel for your celebration. We appreciate your perspective and apologize you were disappointed. We never want to mislead any of our valued guests and apologize if you were disappointed. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations in some areas during your stay. We strive to deliver a flawless guest experience and hope to do just that on your next visit to our hotel.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We came into town for a bar mitzvah and the family and friends stayed at the Courtyard Waterfront. This hotel is great- the staff are friendly, professional and just plain nice. The view of the boats from the Bistro in the first floor make me smile. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank beccagp1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear beccagp1313,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the beautiful views from your room and liked our exceptional Southern hospitality. We look forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the team. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we cannot wait to serve you and your family again on your next visit to Charleston!

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Hotel has nice view of the water. Room was big, up-to-date and clean. Not walking distance to most of the bars and restaurants but they do have a shuttle that runs to the market square for $6 per person. Overall nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank danbJ5563ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear danbJ5563ES,

Thank you for the positive feedback about your stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. It’s great knowing how much you loved your well-maintained room with its beautiful river views. We hope to have the opportunity to host you and your family again on your next visit to Charleston!

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a nice Courtyard. Our room was not ready when we arrived about 30 minutes prior to check-in at 4 p.m. but the desk clerk upgraded us to a room that was ready for no additional cost. Front desk staff was very helpful. Loved Liz the shuttle driver. She made a restaurant recommendation that we absolutely loved and made it very easy for us to get picked back up after dinner. Courtyard is very lucky to have her. Hallways were very wide which made the hallways much lighter than in other Courtyards.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Lovetotravel099,

Thank you for comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. Our team works hard to provide extraordinary service and will appreciate your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This is a very nice hotel close to downtown Charleston. It is quiet and overlooks the marina. The staff is fantastic and goes out its way to be friendly and help you out. Matt the night auditor was especially helpful when we arrived at the hotel. He went out of his way to help us. Our room was very large and really comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear smileandhaveagre2018,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with fellow online reviewers. We are pleased to know you & your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront and loved your spacious & comfortable room, along with the service provided by our friendly staff. I will share your compliments with Matt for a job well done. On behalf of everyone here, we invite you to stay with us again the next time you visit Charleston.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews