We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$195
US$157
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$560
US$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elliott House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inn at Middleton Place(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$221
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$411
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,279)
Filter reviews
3,280 results
Traveller rating
1,647
1,044
346
143
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,647
1,044
346
143
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswamp foxhistoric hotelking streetolder hotelwithin walking distancefarmers marketsmall bathroombeautiful lobbycorner roombell staffdowntown charlestonsouthern charmperfect locationbed was very comfortableparking garagefmconference
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 3,280 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Nice old historic hotel and was elegant at one time but lacks that luxury feel now. A few upgrades could make it more worth the cost of staying there. Service was good though so I still give it four stars.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Janet, we're happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for letting us know about your visit, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We had three rooms for our group for a conference. The rooms were clean and had everything needed. All three rooms were a bit different ranging from spacious with 2 bathrooms to small needing more space, just the luck of the draw with this being a historic hotel these are not your standard rooms. Located in the thick of everything, no need for a car you can walk or Uber everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Lisa, thanks for the stars! We're happy you're a fan of the accommodations and location. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

I adore this hotel. It's beautiful, has great rooms (some with 2 bathrooms!), the staff are always extremely helpful and friendly, and it's in a great location. This is by far my favorite hotel in Charleston. I've only been to others when this hotel was booked up. Great place.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Virginia, thanks for the feedback! You can always count on us for a great stay in the heart of Charleston. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

I went to the hotel with two friends last weekend and we had reserved 2 rooms, one of which was supposed to have 2 beds per the request made with the reservation. When we checked in on Friday, they told us they did not have any rooms with 2 beds available. They were pretty dismissive and told us that when reservations are made through a third party, they didn't have to honor them. While they said they would let us know if another room became available, I honestly felt like they just forgot about us as there were no follow up calls. Consequently, one of us ended up sleeping on the sofa which was awful and was made worse when you consider the price of the room. Only on Sunday morning did we get someone at the front desk who actually followed through (wish I had gotten her name to thank her) and secured a room with 2 beds for Sunday night. Unfortunately, that was our last night and we left early Monday morning, so we didn't get much enjoyment out of it. Overall, it was a nice hotel, although they could do a better job cleaning bathroom sinks, didn't care for the brown ring around the drain. It's too bad they choose to ignore requests made with reservations (which had been made weeks in advance) and for the most part don't even bother to pretend to care about any problems a customer might have. There are too many hotels in Charleston for me to even consider returning to this one.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

We're sorry for the misstep with your room reservation, Jenny. We understand your frustration. You should always be comfortable and well taken care of here, and it sounds like our team wasn't as attentive as we should have been. You can trust that we'll address this with the staff, as we always want to make sure you have a good experience. We appreciate your feedback, as this helps us improve for the future.

Best wishes,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

If you like the idiosyncrasies of an old hotel you will love this one. Nice rooms, small bathrooms that are in interesting locations. Service is great. Location is as well. You can easily walk anywhere. Recommend that you at least try it once.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Guy, thanks for the feedback! It's awesome to hear you enjoyed the unique accommodations and efficient service. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews