We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything was PERFECT”
other traveller has booked this property
The Devil's Elbow Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Devil's Elbow Cottage
Low tide! Spacious master with king bed and great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Devil's Elbow Cottage
Low tide!
Spacious master with king bed and great views
Dine inside or on the porch.
Great light inside and out!
Fully equipped kitchen open to living room. Great views.
For the early morning light or at sunset this is the place to relax!
2 queen beds and full bath upstairs
Overlooking the islands and marshes of Pinckney Island Wildlife Refuge.
Light and airy. Great all around views.
Open to the kitchen. Large screen TV with DirecTV
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bluffton, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lynn463
Monticello, Illinois
1 review
“Everything was PERFECT”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed for four days and wish it could have been four months. The location was peaceful and quiet and the cottage was homey and clean. We hope to return in the future as it was one of our best vacations ever!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing Treasure in the Low Country!”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for that perfect, quiet, off-the-beaten path rental home, this is definitely the place for you! Having been to the HHI and Bluffton area before, we were seeking a nice, quiet location on this trip to just get away, relax, read, sleep in and not have a set agenda. You can't get much more quiet and relaxing than the Devil's Elbow Cottage on Bears Island! The only thing that "disturbed" our peace during our week were the many bird songs, squirrels and shore birds. The screened in porch was a perfect spot for morning coffee, an afternoon nap and evening cocktails as the sun was going down. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the view from the master bedroom is beyond description!

The cottage is really a well-appointed house next to the main house at the end of an island, separated only by a thin, dirt road that crosses the salt marsh. Its a bit off the beaten path, needing to enter via Colleton River Plantation, but its well worth it. The distance to 278 could only have been 4-5 miles or so as the crow flies, but we felt a world away. The best part about where the cottage is located is that you can be right in the heart of the HHI/Bluffton action in about 5-10 minutes!

The house was very clean, well decorated and had everything you would need to spend a nice long week in solitude. Peter and Leisa were wonderful to work with in getting the reservation locked in, gave us great driving directions, had a bunch of good recommendations for dining and activities and respected our privacy...but were very accommodating when needed. We felt truly fortunate to have the opportunity to experience this treasure! I can only hope that we will have the opportunity to return someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KS
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Aug 2013
This is a unique environment and it is a pleasure for us to see people take advantage of all that the natural side of this area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing