We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Favorite beach, but parking is a pain

This is one of our favorite beaches to go to, unfortunately there is no easy parking if you plan to... read more

Reviewed 26 August 2018
nicholasp912
,
Wallingford, Connecticut
Rhode Island

Watch Hill Beaches in Rhode Island has pretty Sand beaches on the oceanfront. We spent a few days... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2018
LollysLook
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Read all 92 reviews
  
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
47
25
12
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
25
12
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watch the sunset fine sand easy parking sunny day taylor swift new england rhode island two hours in town the atlantic ocean off season beach weekends house access carousel stroll
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

The town was very cute and beach looked great until my son went in the water and kept feeling pinches on his body he immediately came out and discovered sea lice were all over him! So disgusting never again ☹️ Will we go there!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank prez9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

The Watch Hill Beach is a beautiful place to talk a walk, watch the sunset or swim in the clear ocean waters. The water was very chilly but also very refreshing.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Loves2Research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

I have been going to East Beach in Watch Hill for the past 15 years, most recently yesterday on July 4th. In those 15 years the cost of parking on weekends (and holidays) has increased from $10 to $40 and the town has become less friendly to beach goers from out of town. As others have noted, parking is approximately a 1/2 mile walk from the beach. The area where we used to drop off one parent and the various beach bags, coolers, etc. is now guarded by a "beach attendant". My daughters were not allowed to even stand near the road that serves as the entrance to the beach while waiting for me to pick them up after a day on the beach. One of them said she felt unwelcome due to the dirty looks she received from those I assume are residents while waiting 100 yards or so from the guarded area. We will be exploring the other beaches Rhode Island has to offer on future excursions.

Date of experience: July 2018
26  Thank bradfordrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

This is a nice quiet beach but the parking is awful and there is a charge. Get here early or you will be driving around for an hour looking for parking. The beach is a long walk from parking also so keep that in mind. You will be walking over sand duns covered in weeds.

Date of experience: August 2017
5  Thank Catrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

killed a little time here while waiting for our flight in Providence, and wish we had more time to spend here! Serene, quiet beach with interesting shells and fine sand. Wouldn't mind returning if in the area again!

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank KelsieMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews