We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and thoughtful design!”

Flight 93 National Memorial
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Stoystown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The memorial site dedicated to those who lost their lives on United Airlines Flight 93, September 11, 2001.
Reviewed 15 August 2018

The Flight 93 Memorial was extremely impressive and thoughtfully designed. It has exhibits with artifacts and information on the Flight and 9/11, graveled/paved walking paths,and areas to pay your respects and learn about the victims. The architecture is amazing and incorporates the events of 9/11.

Unfortunately - as with most National Parks/Monuments - plan for large crowds and screaming children on weekends. I also found some of the souvenirs in the gift shop to be poor taste.

Thank Fred59715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crash site"
in 259 reviews
"flight path"
in 132 reviews
"visitor center"
in 183 reviews
"moving tribute"
in 45 reviews
"who lost their lives"
in 54 reviews
"american heroes"
in 22 reviews
"the world trade center"
in 19 reviews
"brave souls"
in 28 reviews
"beautiful tribute"
in 26 reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 32 reviews
"emotional experience"
in 41 reviews
"pa turnpike"
in 41 reviews
"final resting place"
in 44 reviews
"heart wrenching"
in 16 reviews
"somber place"
in 22 reviews
"learning center"
in 17 reviews
"park ranger"
in 56 reviews
Filter

125 - 129 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018

A beautiful memorial to the pay respect to the passengers of Flight 93. The visitor center is very nicely done. My 13 year old was moved by the fact, recovered pieces, and photos of the passengers. The setting is full of wildflowers and beauty. Definitely worth a drive. Shawnee state park is close by for camping/a place to stay.

Thank AngelaMB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

This memorial was very well done and really gave a lot of information without any extras. My young children were very moved by the entire place and they had a lot of questions. I have been to all the 9/11 memorials and they all have a different feel to them. This one was symbolic and well thought out as are the others.

Thank 645jena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

When navigating to the Flight 93 memorial, do not trust your GPS. Stay on US 30 to arrive at the proper entrance to the site. There is no admission charge to enter this memorial. At the time of our visit, there was a large structure being built at the entrance. This will be a collection of wind chimes – one for each victim of the Flight 93 tragedy. It is purported to be one of the largest musical instruments in the world, upon completion. It is scheduled to be dedicated in September 2018.

There is a visitor center that does a great job at communicating information about the people and the event. I learned a number of things that were not necessarily part of the broadcast news coverage. There were also audio recordings that were collected of people, on the plane, calling their loved ones. The first recording was fairly calm – I think she was a stewardess. When I got to the second recording, I could not finish. I am tearing up even now thinking back to that recording. Hearing these people say their last goodbye to loved ones will touch you. You will appreciate the attempt made by the passengers to regain control of the plane. You will probably become even more angry at terrorists – I know that I am.

There is the actual area where the plane was crashed. There is a circular path that takes you out to and from the crash site. You are not permitted to walk in the area of the crash. Quite frankly, it is the final resting place of the victims of Flight 93. Everything and everyone was obliterated by the impact, so there were no bodies to recover. The impact point is marked with a large boulder. To walk all of the path out and back from the crash site, it isn’t quite a mile.

Should you decide to visit, there is lodging available in Somerset (around 17 miles away). The visitor center has a gift shop, but I didn’t buy anything. The “souvenirs” of this memorial are etched into my mind.

1  Thank AlphaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

I highly recommend this Memorial..Well done by US Park Service...They add something every year - Wind chimes tower coming on 9/11/2018...Insde museum is very detailed concerning Flight 93 on morning of 9/11/2001...Cool gift shop to take home some memories...Parking is easy,handicapped spaces conveniently located...Top Shelf, loved it...proud to be an American...

Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flight 93 National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Flight 93 National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing