We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$437
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TVtravel030
Los Angeles, California

Classic Hotel Vibes

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024
When I travel for work, I do an extensive search for a hotel. Probably over do it. I can easily discount a hotel if they say start breakfast at 8 because I have to leave for the location I'm working at at 8:30. Which crazy enough, some hotels do. I picked this hotel because it met many of my needs based on what I read in reviews. I'm glad I did. To be honest, style wise, it's not the kind of hotel I would normally choose. Usually I go with modern and dare I say, a little trendy if the city I'm in has that option. Based on the reviews, I thought, I'm going to try this. It doesn't hurt to switch it up and had good reviews. So here I am.

When you walk in, it has a nice large elegant feel and something reminiscent of the old lavish hotels you would see from the steel baron days. It felt comforting and classic. Check in went well and everyone I encountered at the hotel were really nice so it was a good start to the stay. I got to my room and sadly had to switch right away. I'm noise sensitive ( I sound like a broken record based on other reviews) and they put me in a room right next to an HVAC unit which is loud and since I'm there for work, need quiet. When I went to the lobby, they switched me to a better room. A quieter one that looks out to the city and not the gears that make the heating and cooling work. The room itself was fine. Thankfully all around quiet so I got good sleep.

NOW I will say something that needs a little improvement. The hallways and carpet are really dated and look dirty. Also, you can tell a lot of the doors need some TLC and paint. A good amount had scratches and chipped paint. It made me feel a little sad that it hadn't been taken care of as to keep the integrity and classic feel of the property but those dirty elements just took away from that feeling. Also, I had a draining issue in the room that was fixed quickly. I think there must be a little issue with housekeeping because I had mentioned that the coffee maker still had a used capsule or whatever you want to call it so I'm guessing these are never cleaned. I even asked for my room to be service and they still didn't clean it. It probably has been there for a while. The other thing was that they made the bed but never gave clean towels. I was kind of surprised since I thought it would happen as is part of housekeeping. It didn't distract from my stay but made me scratch my head as I did see housekeeping on the floor every morning. Those were probably the only negative aspects but thankfully the room was fine otherwise.

Valet was great. It took them no time to get the car which I'm thankful for since in the morning, I'm always battling time and traffic. I do wish they had an updated system where you could just text them the number and they receive it versus calling guest services who then have to call valet. Only once did they not relay and unfortunately the valet said, this is the second time this has happened tonight.

The food was pretty good. In full disclosure, one of the reasons I picked this hotel is because I eat plant based and they had options at breakfast and dinner even if it's just an Impossible Burger. I didn't have it at breakfast but they also had Impossible sausages so knowing they had these as options gave me the option to eat at the hotel or not. One morning for breakfast I had the a la carte menu because it was Friday and on weekends it's a buffet. There is also a coffee shop attached to the hotel that has quick bites and a good selection at that.

I'm happy I chose this hotel and would stay here again when in Pittsburgh. There aren't too many of these types of hotels left, so take advantage of them if you can.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 5 Apr 2024
Such a great review! Thank you for the feedback! See you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$316
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
$348
  • Booking.com
  • Hampton
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$236
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$253
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$221
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
$218
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
13.3 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Tripadvisor
$293
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
0.8 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$229
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $229
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Marriott Hotels
    $316
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    $334
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Omni William Penn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (5,352)
Filter reviews
5,352 results
Traveller rating
3,563
1,131
388
171
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,563
1,131
388
171
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace room across the street downtown pittsburgh beautiful lobby valet parking within walking distance convention center market square tap speakeasy chandeliers ballroom bellman garage closet concert game
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 5,352 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

This hotel looks like it’s old. I’m a good way. The lobby is classy. All the employees that I encountered were friendly and professional. There is a restaurant off of the lobby and a speakeasy bar in the lower level. It also looks very cool from out on the street. A nice place.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Flyingboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

So nice to read!! Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024 via mobile

Perfect location and certainly a Grand dame type of hotel. We were able to walk to the basketball arena, the Heinz history museum and downtown towards Market square.

Felt very safe and better than most big cities. A nice bar and restaurant. Unlike some older hotels, our room was gigantic.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Floridamountsineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

So great to hear! We loved hosting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024

A grand stay at a historical hotel! If and when we come to the city again, we all decided we would only stay at the William Penn! We didn’t want to leave!
They took care of us all weekend! We can not thank them enough!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank fradLeechburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Great to hear!! We loved having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024

I had a reservation for 2 nights (3/8 and 3/9). On the flight out of SFO I
had a medical emergency and was taken off the plane in Denver, and
hospitalized for 2 nights. Due to my condition I had to return to San Francisco.

I was SO disappointed, since your hotel is my favorite, and those times I've stayed
there before the entire experience was exhilarating. Its elegance, old-world charm, staff, room, food - just everything - was perfect! I cannot wait to stay
there again on my next trip to Pittsburgh!

Room tip: Take advantage of all the amenities!
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Muriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you for the great review! I hope you feel better! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

Had the best welcome from Candace ( Front Desk) as she upgraded my reservation at no extra cost. My wife (Sonia) also very pleased with, not only the ambiance and accommodations, but the excellent service and attentions from staff employees. Definitely this hotel is second to none y Philadelphia.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zach Bowlen, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Thank you very much! We will be sure to pass this on to Candace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews