We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bill W
London, United Kingdom

Ok but wouldn't repeat.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 May 2024
Pros:
1. Very good location and easy to get everywhere you'd want to.
2. Room large though tired looking.
3. Staff were pleasant.
Cons:
4. Take your earplugs. Easily the noisiest hotel we've stopped in. We stopped at the rear of the hotel and were woken every night circa 03:30 onwards by deliveries, garbage collections and voices outside. Needs secondary glazing and / some acoustic treatment.
5. For UK Hilton gold card members, there's no complimentary breakfast so you'll need to pay for.
6. Lots of rough sleepers, beggars and drug users around the hotel, so if this bothers you choose somewhere further out of the centre and / or in a more residential neighborhood.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexia Embleton, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review
Responded 6 May 2024
Hi billwT889NO,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate both your compliments and constructive criticism as they provide valuable insights into areas where we can improve our services.

We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel's location convenient and our staff pleasant. Providing excellent service and ensuring our guests' comfort are top priorities for us.

However, we are disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for any disturbances caused by noise during your stay. Your feedback regarding the noise from deliveries, garbage collections, and outside voices is duly noted, and we will explore options to minimize such disruptions, including the possibility of implementing additional soundproofing measures.

Regarding your experience with our breakfast offerings, we regret any inconvenience caused by the lack of complimentary breakfast for UK Hilton gold card members. We will review our policies to ensure that they align with the expectations of our valued guests.

Furthermore, we understand your concerns about the presence of individuals in the vicinity of the hotel. Please rest assured that the safety and security of our guests are of paramount importance to us, and we continuously work with local authorities and community partners to address any issues related to neighborhood safety.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We hope that despite these issues, you were able to enjoy your time in Pittsburgh. Should you decide to give us another chance in the future, we would welcome the opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant and memorable stay.

Warm regards,
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Pittsburgh Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$251
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $251
  • Vio.com
    $251
  • Skyscanner.com
    $251
0.6 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$283
  • Vio.com
    $282
  • Skyscanner.com
    $226
  • Algotels
    $225
1.1 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
$225
  • Vio.com
    $225
  • Algotels
    $199
  • Skyscanner.com
    $201
0.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$299
  • Omni Hotels
    $298
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $298
0.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$370
  • Expedia.com
    $378
  • Agoda.com
    $331
  • Hotels.com
    $343
1.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $266
  • Vio.com
    $266
1.0 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
$259
  • Wyndham
    $258
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • Skyscanner.com
    $204
0.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$193
  • Choice Hotels
    $192
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Priceline
    $193
3.3 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$188
  • Skyscanner.com
    $155
  • Algotels
    $153
  • Vio.com
    $188
5.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
$217
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $217
  • Skyscanner.com
    $217
  • Priceline
    $217
12.9 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
438
144
48
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
438
144
48
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market square great location within walking distance parking garage great stay front desk staff nice hotel per night enjoyed my stay revel downtown cvs elevator stadium game shuttle rates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2024

We stayed here with lots of other family members for a wedding, so we appreciated the gathering spaces in the lobby and mezzanine levels. The room was of a size you'd expect for an in-town (vs. at-the-interstate) hotel; it was clean and adequately furnished. The in-hotel restaurant had a breakfast buffet and a la carte service in addition to complementary coffee. The hotel staff were very friendly. Since they have valet-only parking, leave yourself time to get your vehicle in or out. In our room, noise from the street was noticeable but quieter than other cities in which we have stayed.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexia Embleton, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your family wedding event. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and appreciated our gathering spaces, clean rooms, and friendly staff.

It's wonderful to know that you found our in-hotel restaurant offerings to your satisfaction, and we're pleased that you had a positive experience with both the breakfast buffet and a la carte service.

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our valet-only parking system. We appreciate your feedback and will strive to streamline this process for our guests in the future.

Thank you for mentioning the noise level in your room. We understand the importance of providing a peaceful environment for our guests, and we're glad that our location offered a quieter experience compared to other cities.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and valuable feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

On the positive side, the location is good, room was comfortable, and the parking convenient. However, $30 for parking is steep. Furthermore, the rooms need a refresh — and the door handle broke off in the room! Dread to think what we would have done in an emergency. When we reported to front desk on departure, they shrugged. Only one elevator was operational— inconvenient in an 11-story building. Cook-to-order breakfast was good, although the more common buffet would be quicker and more convenient.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank T4055XCrohitk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexia Embleton, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear T4055XCrohitk,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us as it helps us identify areas for improvement and ensure that we provide the best possible experience for all our guests.

We are pleased to hear that you found our location convenient and that you enjoyed the comfort of your room. However, we are truly sorry to learn of the challenges you encountered during your stay.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our parking fees. We regularly review our pricing to ensure it remains competitive while still allowing us to maintain the quality of our facilities and services. Your feedback regarding the need for a room refresh and the issue with the door handle is deeply concerning, and we will be addressing these matters with our maintenance team immediately to prevent such incidents from reoccurring in the future.

Additionally, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the elevator situation. We understand the importance of having all facilities fully operational for our guests' convenience, and we will work diligently to ensure that such issues are addressed promptly.

Regarding breakfast, we appreciate your feedback on our cook-to-order option and acknowledge your suggestion for a buffet-style breakfast. We will take this into consideration as we continue to evaluate and improve our dining offerings.

Once again, we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the exceptional experience that you deserve on your next visit.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly if you would like to discuss your stay further or if there is anything else we can assist you with.

Warm regards,
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Pittsburgh Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024 via mobile

We got our 2 rooms only to find 1 had not been cleaned (gross). Staff was helpful and even the manager rushed to take care of it. Just felt a little u easy as I was t sure how “clean” it really was. But I travel with Lysol so I did a bit of my own cleaning. We were offered breakfast passes, which we didn’t get a chance to use, but we appreciated the consideration. They also allowed us a late checkout on the day we left without charging us. All in all it was a good stay.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank yazdragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
392alexiae, Reputation Management at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Hi yazdragonfly!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're truly sorry to hear about the oversight with one of your rooms not being cleaned to our usual standards. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we're glad to hear that our staff, including the manager, promptly addressed the issue for you. We understand your concerns about cleanliness, and we assure you that we have taken steps to prevent such incidents in the future.

We're delighted that you appreciated our efforts to make amends, including the breakfast passes and the late checkout, and we're sorry you didn't get the chance to enjoy them fully. Your understanding and patience mean a lot to us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a completely hassle-free stay, where you can fully enjoy all the amenities and services we have to offer. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we look forward to serving you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

Very RUDE staff. I checked in close to midnight after a 23 hours flight. I had issues with the heating system in the room. I asked for help, they weren't able to offer a solution or an apology. They moved me in the middle of the night to another room with the same issue!!
Condescending attitude, 0 customer service.
Hilton do you even train your employees?! And why do you keep employees that clearly have nothing to do with hospitality?????

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexia Embleton, Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Dear Maria A,

First and foremost, we want to sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced during your recent stay. Your experience does not align with the level of service we aim to provide, and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused.

Checking in after a long flight should be a seamless experience, and we failed to meet your expectations. We're truly sorry for the issues with the heating system and the inconvenience of moving you to another room only to encounter the same problem.

Your feedback about the attitude of our staff is disheartening, and we want to assure you that this is not indicative of our usual standards. We take your comments seriously and will be addressing this matter internally to ensure it doesn't happen again.

We understand the importance of genuine hospitality, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you could provide more details about your stay, it would be immensely helpful for our improvement efforts. Once again, we apologize for the negative impact on your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to make amends during your future visits.

Warm regards,
the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Downtown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

So there was good interaction prior to my showing up. I had several issues getting there. Thought I was going to have to cancel my stay after doing online check in. Chatted with Amanda and Jason , during my multiple delays . The person that checked me in was extremely helpful , professional and informative. Got up extremely early the next morning and Asa was on. We talked for a decent amount of time as I drank my coffee and she tended to other guests. You could tell she enjoys what she does and values the customers. I was then asking directions and she helped me with that . The next morning I was leaving , she came out and asked are you checking out , said good bye , and exchanged several other pleasantries .
She is fantastic and an asset to HGI. I will also say this is one of few Hilton properties that got the Food and beverage credit right without any issue. I don't know that I will have the need to stay here again, but if I'm in the area , I'll make sure I do .

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank IsupportRonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexia Embleton, Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Hi IsupportRonPaul!
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed and positive experience with us. We're delighted to hear that our team, especially Amanda, Jason, and Asa, made a positive impact on your stay.

It's wonderful to know that despite the challenges you faced prior to your arrival, our staff was able to assist and ensure a smooth check-in process. We appreciate your kind words about Asa, and we couldn't be happier to hear that she provided exceptional service, reflecting our commitment to creating memorable guest experiences.

Your feedback about the Food and Beverage credit is also greatly appreciated. We're glad we could meet your expectations in that regard.

Should your travels bring you back to the area, we would be honored to welcome you again. If there's anything specific you believe we can improve upon or if you have further comments to share, please feel free to reach out.

Safe travels, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews