We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travelgal16
San Diego, California

Kitchenette? Not really

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 May 2024
I choose extended stay hotels with a kitchenette for a reason. I have severe food allergies and can't eat out. Well this kitchenette was not set up for anyone who legitimately needs to make their own meals. The kitchen cooking paraphernalia consisted of one spatula, one spoon, one knife and a glass cutting board. There were no bowls, measuring cups, measuring spoons, colander or strainer, salt and pepper. The basic items needed to make the simplest of meals like, for example, spaghetti. I moved to a Residence Inn later in the week and let me tell you the kitchen was so well appointed I wish I had taken pictures for comparison. I stay away from AirbNB's for a variety of reasons like their pricing++, and lack of customer service. If hotels who offer kitchenettes want to compete with them, please step it up. There are people who need you to be better.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Park at vision center parking overnight. It's cheaper.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review
Responded 31 May 2024
Dear Travelgal1612,

Thank you for staying with us. Our in-suite kitchens are equipped with a full-size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, and stovetop. We apologize if your room was missing some essential items for meal preparation. Please accept our apologies. Additional supplies such as pots, pans, and colanders are available upon request. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us improve our service to our guests. We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Sincerely,
Adam Poirier
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$341
  • Expedia.com
    $342
  • Skyscanner.com
    $279
  • Hotels.com
    $342
0.2 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
$381
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $382
  • Hotels.com
    $383
  • Expedia.com
    $383
1.0 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$275
  • Expedia.com
    $276
  • Skyscanner.com
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $276
1.3 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel exterior
$206
  • Cambria
    $207
  • Skyscanner.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
    $207
0.9 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$270
  • Hotels.com
    $217
  • Skyscanner.com
    $206
  • Expedia.com
    $217
1.4 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$231
  • Hampton
  • Skyscanner.com
    $222
  • Hotels.com
    $232
2.7 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$235
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $235
  • Expedia.com
    $235
  • Hotels.com
    $235
13.9 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
$292
  • Expedia.com
    $293
  • Hotels.com
    $293
  • Residence Inn
    $292
1.4 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$197
  • Choice Hotels
    $197
  • Priceline
    $197
  • Expedia.com
    $197
4.6 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$192
  • Expedia.com
    $193
  • Skyscanner.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $193
6.7 km from Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveller rating
748
161
48
19
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
748
161
48
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk valet parking heinz museum great hotel great stay free breakfast home away from home walking distance convention center pittsburgh downtown would definitely stay here again pnc park kitchenette fireplace dishwasher game steelers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 993 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2024 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. We came for Pirates baseball. Easy and scenic 1 mile walk to PNC Park. Lots of great restaurants close by. Quality fitness center. Decent breakfast. High quality room. Service was also excellent. Try to park in the underground garage.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank edhM1250AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2024

Dear edhM1250AR,

We are happy to hear from you and value your kind review. It is encouraging to know your stay was enjoyable; we work hard to provide a pleasant experience. Your comments are welcomed, and we appreciate being a part of your trip!

Best,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful. I was in the city for a concert and this hotel was a decent distance from the arena. Other reviews mention a shuttle offered to and from the area - please be aware that this is NOT correct. There is no shuttle. You will have to Uber or walk. We weren’t familiar with the area at all, so we took an Uber. Walking seemed like quite a distance if unfamiliar with the area and not sure of safety and surroundings at night.
The room was very nice. I had a 2 bedroom unit, and it was very spacious and clean. The conditioner bottle was completely empty in both bathrooms in this hotel unit, but thankfully I had a small sample size bottle in my carry on bag. Other than that, there were no issues with amenities. One complaint would be the room above us was very, very loud. Yelling, running, basically screaming. The walls must be very thin. I will say that we couldn’t hear them after the concert, and we were told by another guest that people had been asked to leave for excessive partying, so maybe it was them? It was St. Patrick’s Day weekend, so anything is possible. Speaking of that, we were able to watch the parade from our room, which was an added perk.
I still

Room tip: There are no 2bedroom units facing the riverside. City view wasn’t much of a view from our unit on the 5th floor. Just a view of a roof
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank looproad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Dear looproad,

We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to host you during your recent stay. While we understand that there may have been some areas for improvement, we are grateful for your recognition of our staff's unwavering commitment and tireless efforts to provide exceptional service. Your kind words mean the world to us and serve as a true testament to the quality of our accommodations. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to exceeding your expectations in the future.

Best,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

Second visit and it was as good as the first time. To start, the location is amazing…right at the end (or beginning) of The Strip District. That is a must do….so much going on and plenty of fun to be had. And, the hotel is close to downtown as well as Pitt.

Courteous staff, large rooms, adjacent parking and complimentary breakfast is a win. Admittedly, the breakfast is mediocre but likely you can find something that works….oatmeal, cereal, toast, preformed eggs, baked goods, etc.

Highly recommend as the facility is great, location superb and it is an excellent experience.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KMLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear KMLNY,

I'm so happy to hear that you had another amazing stay with us! We're always striving to provide the best service and accommodations possible, so it means a lot to us that you noticed. Thank you for choosing to stay at our Homewood Suites and for your valued business. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Best,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

Been there before. My room was fine, except someone should pay attention to small things like one roll of toilet paper hanging was almost empty and there was 3 Kleenex tissues left in the box. Breakfast was skimpy. Even tiny cups for juice. Also a shame that their evening reception is now only on Wednesday. Come on the pandemic is over! Nice bar but prices are not. Little shady around the area. Just be aware and careful. Good restaurant/bar across the street.

Room tip: Be careful walking around in the area at night.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Daredbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Dear Daredbarn,

I am happy to hear that your stay was satisfactory, but I am sorry that we were not able to provide a truly exceptional experience. Our aim is to go above and beyond for all of our guests, and I apologize for falling short of that goal. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. We greatly value feedback from our guests as it helps us identify areas for improvement. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even better stay.

Sincerely,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2023

When we checked in the room had an offensive body odor smell and the duvet on the bed had make-up smeared on it. It was obviously not changed. We had to go out and buy a Glade plug in to get the pungent smell out of the room. Parking was non-existent, we had a terrible time finding a place to park here. Front desk staff were up and down - one of them was awesome and gave me bottled water every day ( I am Gold) but another one said it was the brand policy to only give water at check-in and made me buy it. ???? Positives - great location, walkability is fantastic. I understand no housekeeping for 4 nights but I had to go downstairs to get more towels myself. Don't think I would stay here again...

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PennyVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Dear PennyVacay,

One of our main goals is to offer a fresh and comfortable hotel, so I sincerely regret we let you down in these areas. We are grateful for your patronage and your time in sharing this feedback. We do review it as a team to foster improvements. For this reason, we hope that you might consider a return visit. We'd love another opportunity to show you that comfort is our top priority.

Sincerely,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews