We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Warren D
Princeville, Hawaii

Front desk agent had an ego that shattered the reputation of hospitality associated with the Hyatt brand

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
The front desk agent was terrible. Not only was he rude when I checked in, he wouldn't allow me to get a water (usually a basic need that come with being a Globalist) 15 mins before midnight. I was having trouble sleeping, and I came down to get a water at 11:45pm. He said that I couldn't get my water until the next day, which was literally 15 minutes away. I've never experienced such a low level of hospitality and an attitude counter to guest service (i.e., it was like someone who was driven by his ego, control and power. It was very upsetting.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Warren D,

Thanks for sharing your review with us. Your patronage is much appreciated. Please accept my sincere apology that you were not recognized as a Hyatt Globalist Member upon check-in; this is certainly different from our standard. I am also sorry that you felt you were not treated in a friendly and welcoming manner. I have discussed your review with our entire team to heighten our awareness of this issue. Sincere feedback like yours encourages improvement for future stays. For this reason, we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Meghan Mongelluzzo
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$249
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.0 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Pool
$312
  • Hampton
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.6 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Free parking
$260
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.0 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$297
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
5.6 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$321
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $321
  • Booking.com
5.2 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$263
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Curio
5.5 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$248
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.9 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Pool
$216
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
18.3 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Choice Hotels
    $237
  • ZenHotels.com
    $224
  • Hotels.com
8.8 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $324
  • Wyndham
    $374
6.0 km from Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
492
135
71
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
492
135
71
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews extended stay fire pit parking fee street noise full kitchen carnegie mellon walnut street workout room great place to stay convenient location breakfast buffet home away from home indoor pool front desk staff rooms are spacious the breakfast area yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

poor housekeeping. room was not ready for several hours. Room was never cleaned on days requested. Upon check in there was hair in the bathroom, clean towels were not stocked.
Breakfast was average and service was slow to refill juices, milk, coffee as they ran out.
Front desk personnel were ineffective.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
5  Thank NorthStar38186888639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear NorthStar38186888639,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying with us. Please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry your room fell short of expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Meghan Mongelluzzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a good location and our room was spacious with tons of storage space. The pool was nicely heated. However, these factors are the reasons for my “3” rating:
- At check in they didn’t mention that housekeeping is on request only.
- breakfast was mediocre. No fresh fruit at breakfast besides a bowl of oranges. No waffle maker. No hot water for tea one morning.
- impossible to regulate the air conditioning. It couldn’t maintain the chosen temperature in the bedroom. Either freezing or too hot
- the shower pressure wasn’t great. The water was hard (.i.e., needs softener).
- the bathroom sink faucet was so short the water barely landed in the sink. Made a mess every time.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ellie C,

I'm very sorry about your mediocre experience. While I appreciate you recognizing our wonderful location and spacious rooms, I am sorry to hear that about the shortcomings that took away from your overall enjoyment of the stay. Your comfort is our highest priority, and I apologize that we left you less than completely satisfied. Your feedback is welcomed, as it allows us to monitor and improve the guest experience. We hope to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,
Meghan Mongelluzzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

Came for my father’s college graduation and the hotel was disgusting. It was poorly maintained and our room was filthy. Didn’t have any mugs and was dirty. When I asked for it to be cleaned the housekeeping lady was confrontation and a rude. Will never stay there or
Recommend.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
5  Thank angelamcguirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2024

Dear angelamcguirl,

Offering clean rooms is undoubtedly one of our standards, however, so is providing exceptionally friendly service. I sincerely apologize that we fell short of achieving either of these expectations. Your feedback is appreciated, as we will use it to foster improvement in our goal of providing the best hotel experience in Pittsburgh. Thank you for staying with us, and please come back soon for an improved visit.

Sincerely,
Meghan Mongelluzzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2024

We loved the Hyatt House. Every room has a sofa bed, kitchenette, and seating area. The staff are lovely. It’s a convenient area that is safe and walkable.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank vickygroups
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Dear vickygroups,

I’m so glad you enjoyed our service and in-room amenities. Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay, and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Meghan Mongelluzzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2024

Kitchen needs more cleaning the coffee machine could use more cleaning other than that service and everything was good.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank jianliu1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2024

Dear jianliu1964,

While it wasn't without some flaws, I am glad to hear that your stay was pleasant. Thank you so much for taking the time to share these kind words with us and other potential travelers. We hope that you will consider a return trip for a flawless experience next time.

Best,
Meghan Mongelluzzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews