We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chuck1958
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

A birthday weekend

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Apr 2024
Excellent experience. The staff is friendly, pleasant and helpful. The hotel atmosphere is welcoming and the decor is fun and quirky. Very friendly staff at the wine hour in the living room as well.
The Commoner Restaurant was also a great experience at the bar and dining.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this review
Responded 7 May 2024
Hello, Chuck -
Thanks so much for the wonderful review of your experience! It means a lot to us that you chose to spend your special occasion at the Hotel Monaco and I'm happy that you had a great weekend. I appreciate the compliments about the Commoner and the atmosphere of the Hotel but am even more thankful that you had such great interactions with our team throughout your stay. We think we've got the best in the City and always enjoy when our guests feel the same way. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to celebrate with you next year, too!
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$233
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • Priceline
    $233
  • Hotels.com
    $233
0.2 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$280
  • Priceline
    $280
  • Algotels
    $262
  • Expedia.com
    $281
0.5 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$283
  • Expedia.com
    $283
  • Skyscanner.com
    $279
  • Priceline
    $283
0.7 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
$324
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $324
  • Priceline
    $324
  • Hotels.com
    $324
0.1 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$221
  • Priceline
    $221
  • Skyscanner.com
    $216
  • Hotels.com
    $221
0.5 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$250
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Pool
$284
  • Choice Hotels
    $284
  • Trip.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $284
3.7 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $218
13.4 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$172
  • Priceline
    $172
  • Skyscanner.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $173
5.9 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
$314
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $314
  • Hyatt.com
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $315
1.2 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (1,429)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
1,093
224
61
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,093
224
61
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour soaking tub rooftop bar yoga mat living room mini bar front desk staff beautiful hotel corner room upon check valet parking fitness center strip district pnc park biergarten birdcage eclectic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2024

The fact that you can't change the temperature in your own hotel room is shocking to me at a hotel of this caliber.

This is a beautiful property, the decor is super cute, the bed is comfy, the service is nice, the hotel restaurant is delicious, but a few little things really held this back from being a 5 star experience.

- you can't change the in room temp. (I woke up freezing, 2/5 experience)
- there's no deadbolt on the door. (as a solo female traveller this is a little unnerving.)
- the lighting in the bathroom is not makeup friendly

If those things aren't important to you this is a great property.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank alleeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2024

Hello, Alleeale -
Thank you for providing your feedback. And it's disappointing to hear that you were held back from rating your stay with us a 5-star experience. I am so sorry to learn that your thermostat was not functioning properly. Of course, our guests are in control of the temperature in their guestrooms. If the thermostat appeared to have been locked, it must not have been working correctly and we'll have our Engineering team take a look at it. Also, all of our guestroom doors have a deadbolt and a makeup mirror affixed to the bathroom wall, in addition to the principal mirror above the sink. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay otherwise and would be happy to discuss further if it would be helpful.
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

We always love the historic Monaco and today was no different. Mr. Malinger and his staff take care of the hotel and continue to make it warm, welome and inviting! As downtown Pittsburgh continues to reinvent itself the Historic Monaco does also. Great walk ability to so much. Housekeeping left the room in impeccable fashion and the Front Desk made us feel welcomed as UGG members. Five stars for friendliness and service for the entire staff if the Monaco. Nice comfortable bed extra pillows quiet as comfortable evening if rest as well. We like to return to the Monaco often and will again soon!

Room tip: Enjoy a glass of wine in the living room overlook!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 287reignb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Hello, 287reignb -
I'm so glad to hear that you continue to enjoy staying with us! Of course, cleanliness and comfort are important but it means so much to also know that you felt welcomed while you were with us. We have a great team and appreciate the five stars for friendliness and service! We hope to see you again, soon.
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

I always try to stay at Kimpton properties whenever I can. Pittsburgh was another great reflection of the brand. Room was extremely clean and happy hour was the best I have yet to experience. Ambiance in the rooms and throughout was extremely moody. Loved it.

Room tip: Valet is 42 a night. They have a QR code to tip employees, which is great considering, but our valets name wasn’t listed, so be mindful.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank frantazztic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Hi, Frantazztic -
We love that you always try to stay at Kimpton properties and that we delivered on that special experience you expect when you do! Our complimentary Social Hour is always a hit and we're happy to hear that ours is at the top! We hope to have you back with us soon.
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Tucked into a downtown main street, the Monaco fits the "everything's pretty peachy" bill. Mostly. The public spaces are warm and inviting, with a lower level that offers a bountiful restaurant. The decor is on the dark side and the food is a mixed bag. I tried a Mushroom entree that was tasty, albeit a tad heavy on the palette. Service was great, though! Check-in was seamless and I noticed two black pups waiting at the elevator. Yes, it's a dog-friendly spot, so if that's your jam, they got you covered.

The king-bed size room was spacious and decorated with flair. A sturdy desk is complemented by decently comfortable chair, but no writing paper. I guess that's verboten in hotels these days! Once a writer. always a writer. Roomy, with ample closet and drawer space . The robes are plush, in lush forest green.

A couple of annoyances--the "Birdcage" lamp is almost impossible to figure out how to turn it off and on! I had to call the front desk to be talked through the procedure! And no coffee maker in the room was disappointing, but one was brought up when requested. Figuring out how that worked was also challenging.

The roomy King bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows decorating the spread.

Great water pressure in the shower, although the half-glass feature was a little off-putting.

Most important: Location, location, location! From here, it's easy to get around the city, whether by private car or otherwise. And there's so much to discover, from the vast cultural arts and museums to outstanding restaurants.

All in all, a comfortable, affordable spot from which to make your Pittsburgh dreams come true!

Room tip: Bring your pup!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Hello, Naomi -
It was a pleasure reading your review and we're honored to be on your "A" List!
Please come back and visit us again, soon!
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

Our stay was less than 24 hours but we enjoyed our brief visit. Staff were friendly and helpful and our room was quite spacious, comfortable and clean. The on site restaurant was fully booked the night we stayed but there was an excellent Italian restaurant across the street. We were in town for an event at the PPG Paints Arena and it was a easy walk from the hotel.

Room tip: If you want to eat at on site restaurant for dinner book a reservation before your trip.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SLWH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Thank you for posting your review, SLWH72! Although it was a quick stay, I'm thrilled to hear that our staff made the experience better and that you found your room to be in good order. I'm sorry that the restaurant was booked that evening and that you weren't able to dine with us but am happy that you supported our neighboring restaurant, which is also a great option. Please think of us if you'll be back in Pittsburgh!
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews