We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reign B

The Monaco continues to deliver as promised!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2024
We always love the historic Monaco and today was no different. Mr. Malinger and his staff take care of the hotel and continue to make it warm, welome and inviting! As downtown Pittsburgh continues to reinvent itself the Historic Monaco does also. Great walk ability to so much. Housekeeping left the room in impeccable fashion and the Front Desk made us feel welcomed as UGG members. Five stars for friendliness and service for the entire staff if the Monaco. Nice comfortable bed extra pillows quiet as comfortable evening if rest as well. We like to return to the Monaco often and will again soon!
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Enjoy a glass of wine in the living room overlook!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this review
Responded 8 Apr 2024
Hello, 287reignb -
I'm so glad to hear that you continue to enjoy staying with us! Of course, cleanliness and comfort are important but it means so much to also know that you felt welcomed while you were with us. We have a great team and appreciate the five stars for friendliness and service! We hope to see you again, soon.
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$383
  • Expedia.com
    $386
  • Algotels
    $373
  • Hotels.com
    $385
0.7 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$345
  • Expedia.com
    $345
  • Skyscanner.com
    $331
  • Hotels.com
    $347
0.5 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$369
  • Expedia.com
    $370
  • Hotels.com
    $344
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$217
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $217
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $217
13.3 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$298
  • Expedia.com
    $298
  • Tripadvisor
    $298
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$227
  • Choice Hotels
    $227
  • Expedia.com
    $227
  • Tripadvisor
    $227
3.7 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Booking.com
$352
  • Wyndham
    $352
  • Algotels
    $208
  • Expedia.com
    $352
0.8 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $467
  • Hotels.com
    $470
  • Skyscanner.com
    $470
0.2 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $449
  • Algotels
    $431
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $702
  • Omni Hotels
    $702
  • Hotels.com
    $707
0.1 km from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
1,091
224
61
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,091
224
61
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour soaking tub rooftop bar yoga mat living room mini bar front desk staff beautiful hotel corner room upon check valet parking fitness center strip district pnc park biergarten birdcage eclectic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

I always try to stay at Kimpton properties whenever I can. Pittsburgh was another great reflection of the brand. Room was extremely clean and happy hour was the best I have yet to experience. Ambiance in the rooms and throughout was extremely moody. Loved it.

Room tip: Valet is 42 a night. They have a QR code to tip employees, which is great considering, but our valets name wasn’t listed, so be mindful.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank frantazztic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Hi, Frantazztic -
We love that you always try to stay at Kimpton properties and that we delivered on that special experience you expect when you do! Our complimentary Social Hour is always a hit and we're happy to hear that ours is at the top! We hope to have you back with us soon.
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Tucked into a downtown main street, the Monaco fits the "everything's pretty peachy" bill. Mostly. The public spaces are warm and inviting, with a lower level that offers a bountiful restaurant. The decor is on the dark side and the food is a mixed bag. I tried a Mushroom entree that was tasty, albeit a tad heavy on the palette. Service was great, though! Check-in was seamless and I noticed two black pups waiting at the elevator. Yes, it's a dog-friendly spot, so if that's your jam, they got you covered.

The king-bed size room was spacious and decorated with flair. A sturdy desk is complemented by decently comfortable chair, but no writing paper. I guess that's verboten in hotels these days! Once a writer. always a writer. Roomy, with ample closet and drawer space . The robes are plush, in lush forest green.

A couple of annoyances--the "Birdcage" lamp is almost impossible to figure out how to turn it off and on! I had to call the front desk to be talked through the procedure! And no coffee maker in the room was disappointing, but one was brought up when requested. Figuring out how that worked was also challenging.

The roomy King bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows decorating the spread.

Great water pressure in the shower, although the half-glass feature was a little off-putting.

Most important: Location, location, location! From here, it's easy to get around the city, whether by private car or otherwise. And there's so much to discover, from the vast cultural arts and museums to outstanding restaurants.

All in all, a comfortable, affordable spot from which to make your Pittsburgh dreams come true!

Room tip: Bring your pup!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Hello, Naomi -
It was a pleasure reading your review and we're honored to be on your "A" List!
Please come back and visit us again, soon!
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

Our stay was less than 24 hours but we enjoyed our brief visit. Staff were friendly and helpful and our room was quite spacious, comfortable and clean. The on site restaurant was fully booked the night we stayed but there was an excellent Italian restaurant across the street. We were in town for an event at the PPG Paints Arena and it was a easy walk from the hotel.

Room tip: If you want to eat at on site restaurant for dinner book a reservation before your trip.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SLWH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Thank you for posting your review, SLWH72! Although it was a quick stay, I'm thrilled to hear that our staff made the experience better and that you found your room to be in good order. I'm sorry that the restaurant was booked that evening and that you weren't able to dine with us but am happy that you supported our neighboring restaurant, which is also a great option. Please think of us if you'll be back in Pittsburgh!
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

I travel to Pittsburgh often for work and have stayed at many hotels in the area.

The only thing consistent with my travels to the Burgh is the Kimpton Monaco.

Do yourself a favor and do not stay here unless you want the following:

Dirty rooms - hairs and stains all over. Multiple rooms with hairs in the shower,etc. Stains on lamp shades, carpet, etc.
Service - Or Lack Ofd. if you bring up an issue with the staff. it will not be resolved.
Over billing - expect charges that you didn’t use or agree too.

Mike D. should realize it’s time for new leadership at this hotel. There is NO reason for this property to be so poorly run.

Other Kimpton’s are run well.

Room tip: Stay at any of the many other hotels in the area. Fairmont, Penn, Industrialist, camping tent.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lilabernese
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Hello, Lilabernese -
Thank you for the comments about your stay with us. I certainly apologize if there were cleanliness issues with your room and am also disappointed to hear that you do not feel that your concerns were resolved when speaking with us. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me directly. I'm unsure as to your room number and with whom you spoke previously but would like to follow-up internally, as well.
Best,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

The valet parking is pricey but so useful in the city!
The complimentary coffee and tea in the morning was a generous touch. Note to self- the hotel offers brunch on a Sunday, at 8:30 and restaurants/coffee shops are either closed for the day or opening at 9:00. Our early morning departure meant no breakfast:)

The bed was good although the pillows were really bad (soft), the shower was fab and the location served us well. Service overall was also good. We enjoyed the offer of amenities available should we have forgotten any.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 283bernadettea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Mallinger, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Hello, Bernadette -
Thank you so much for posting your thoughts. I'm glad to hear that you had a great experience with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to host you again if your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh!
Thanks,
Rob Mallinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews