We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JOSEPH T

Discusting Hotel

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2024via mobile
Our room had water damage in the closet area, no closet door any longer, a previous guests wet wash cloth in the shower, the bathroom sink backed up,the extra blanket had other peoples hair in it, the ice machine on our floor was broken, both phones in the room did not work and the front desk did nothing about it. We had to go all the way downstairs to get an iron and extra towels. The hotel is a bit run down. They advertised a fitness center and it didn’t exist. This is one reason we chose the hotel and had to go elsewhere and pay to work out. They gauged us on pricing. Charging us $379 one night and $265 another plus another $100+ in fees. I am a Gold Marriott member and found this hotel way beyond standards. It’s was just an overall hugely unsatisfactory experience. I would never recommend this location. Of course, Marriott corporate just tosses you a couple points and does nothing about the fact that they are advertising a fitness area that just doesn’t exist and allows them to post photos that don’t represent the current condition of this hotel.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Experience Team, Owner at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review
Responded 30 May 2024
Dear Mr. Joseph,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore. We are incredibly sorry to hear about the numerous issues you encountered during your stay, and we sincerely apologize that it fell far below the standards you expect from a SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, especially as a Gold Marriott member.

The conditions you described in your room, and the missing fitness center are completely unacceptable. We take guest feedback very seriously, and your review has prompted an immediate investigation into these issues. We will be taking appropriate action to ensure these problems are addressed and prevented from happening again. This includes a thorough inspection of the room you occupied, repairs as needed, and speaking with the housekeeping staff. We are also investigating the discrepancy between the advertised amenities. We will review our listings to reflect the available facilities accurately.

We are committed to regaining your trust and would like the opportunity to show you the high level of service and accommodations you deserve.

We hope that you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Please do feel free to reach out if there is anything we can do to help. Thanks again.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$254
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
$334
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$304
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$328
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $327
1.1 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$235
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
$188
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$185
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $184
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
$203
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Cambria
    $202
1.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
$220
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
12.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$188
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
390
274
98
30
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
274
98
30
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pirates game pnc park across the street great location baseball stadium clemente bridge shuttle service the breakfast area room was spacious parking downtown concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2024

We picked the hotel based on location and the Marriott name. The hotel definitely didn't meet Marriott expectations. The bathroom was dirty and falling apart. The toilet didn't flush properly. The front desk was notified but nothing was done. The shower wallpaper was peeling and there were cracks and holes in the ceiling.
We asked for an extra pillow, blanket and towel. The front desk attendant told us she couldn't promise anything since they were booked after she rolled her eyes. We did get a towel (that smelled) and a pillow but never got the blanket.
When packing to check out, housekeeping was outside the door telling us they needed to clean. We still had time before checking out.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Experience Team, Owner at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Dear Matthew, we are so disappointed to read your experience with us. We aim to provide a top-notch stay for all our guests, so we sincerely apologize that we did not achieve that goal on your visit. Your feedback is invaluable, and we assure you that we take it to heart. We hope that you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Please do feel free to reach out if there is anything we can do to help. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us.
Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Visiting from out of town and friends reccomended this location to stay. The rooms are standard and expected a bit more from a Marriott name. Furnishings are cheap, reminds me of Ikea. Everything else was fine but the area is a bit rough, lots of homeless people and beggars. A bit surprised for a major US city and seems a bit rundown. Perhaps a bad economic situation in this city with it looking like a third-world country?

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zachary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Dear zacharyj309
Please accept our apologies that your stay did not go as planned. There is not much we can do as far as homeless people around the area, but we feel that Pittsburgh fails in comparison with the homeless population against major US cities such as New York, and California. Our city does do a lot with missions, and shelters to help this situation. Our city has done a lot of improvement since its steel mill roots, and was actually voted most livable city 2 years running. Should you decide to come back please reach out to us directly, so that we can ensure a great stay, and an enjoyable time in Pittsburgh.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2023 via mobile

Not great. Would stay elsewhere.

Pros
-Good location
-Lots of breakfast options
-Large room

Cons
-Room finishings were dated
-Found a pill in my room and stains on duvet
-Gym is large but isolated in basement

Overall, I don’t recommend this hotel unless it gets a facelift.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Dear Jessica S
Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I have shared your concerns with our housekeeping team to ensure that this was an isolated incident that occurred in your guestroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2023 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location central to many of Pittsburgh’s area attractions.

The breakfast was really good and included a lot of choices. The staff was very friendly. Tameika even SANG for the lobby full of people at breakfast on our last day! The little show was unexpected and put a smile on everyone’s faces 😀

The property was very clean. There is also a small pool and gym room.

SoHo restaurant is attached to the hotel.

The only downsides were:

1. Parking is $27/night (on weekdays we parked at a lot which was the same distance away for less than half the price, but it’s closed on weekends). The lot is unmonitored which seems ridiculous.

2. Our vanity light was broken and it was the only mirror. We reported it on our first day but it wasn’t fixed. The fridge door was left open when we checked in and the freezer was frosted over. The AC wasn’t working so they had to send maintenance up to fix it. When we returned, the night staff had no notes on whether it was fixed or not, so another tech came up to check…it was still a little hot, but working better than before.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Darla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Dear Darla S
Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Although I am pleased to read about our staff it was very disheartening to read that we did not correct the issue in your guest room. We hope this will not deter you from staying again in the future as we want nothing more than to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2023

We stayed there September 8-11. I wanted to compliment your staff, 2 in particular. When we checked in, I asked Kaylee if there were any upgrades available for retired military. She was able to provide one, and was able to give us a room on the 2nd floor, which we preferred.
We used your shuttle on Saturday. Dimitrius, your driver, was courteous and professional. He arrived promptly to pick us up for our return to the hotel. Most importantly, he was a safe driver.
Your breakfast staff were friendly and attentive to guest needs.
I requested extra towels from the front desk, and within 5 minutes they were delivered to our room.
This all made for a nice stay at your hotel. We will be back.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frankiboy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Dear Fankiboy48
Thank you so much for kind words you wrote about our hotel, and more importantly our staff. It is very much appreciated that you took time out of your busy schedule to review us, and for that we thank you! We hope that your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, so we may once again deliver on our promise of a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews