We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Phil

Good not Great

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Aug 2021
The understaffing and non-existence of housekeeping during a guest's stay are well-established nowadays, so I won't necessarily ding this hotel for those issues. However, it seems like we're all just accepting this and not necessarily trying to fix it. The elevator has been broken for how long?? And the stale food and slim pickings at the breakfast bar seem like an easy fix you can't blame on covid. Speaking of which, I will give extra kudos to this hotel for not pushing the mask or other useless protocols onto their guests. Thank you for allowing me to make a personal choice in that regard. As a medical professional who is well-educated and overly-informed about the current situation, I can assure you that none of the remedies put forth by so-called experts (or idiotic politicians) are effective in any way. Purely for theatre and the placebo effect that people get from thinking that something is being done. Anyway, the hotel is dated, could be cleaned better, and needs to work a better parking deal. On the plus side, the water pressure is strong, the location is excellent, and the staff is genuinely courteous and helpful.
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: some rooms on north end are just feet away from major expressway; try to avoid those
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Dear philbert67
thank you for the review of the SpringHill Suites.
We try to inform all of our guests about the stayover service, and that we will provide any amenity upon request. I apologize if you were not informed of this.
It is true that our elevator has been out for some time, but our service company is in the process of repairing it. This is a major repair that takes time, proper materials, and permits from the state to complete. However we are hopeful that this is resolved in the next few weeks.
We do try to ensure that how breakfast is well stocked, and always hot, and fresh during our breakfast hours. Our team members usually leaves breakfast out well past the times, so I apologize if this wasn't the case during your stay.
We are dedicated and on track to once again providing our outstanding service and delivering on our promise of a memorable stay.

hospitably yours,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$253
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $256
  • Skyscanner.com
    $255
  • Priceline
    $256
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
$319
  • Priceline
    $322
  • Skyscanner.com
    $262
  • Expedia.com
    $322
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$301
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    $243
  • Expedia.com
    $304
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$327
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $329
  • Priceline
    $330
  • Expedia.com
    $329
1.1 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$235
  • Priceline
    $237
  • Skyscanner.com
    $237
  • Expedia.com
    $237
0.2 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
$229
  • Priceline
    $231
  • Skyscanner.com
    $178
  • Trip.com
    $231
1.3 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel exterior
$202
  • Priceline
    $204
  • Algotels
    $179
  • Cambria
    $204
1.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
$184
  • Choice Hotels
    $186
  • Expedia.com
    $186
  • Priceline
    $186
3.9 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $222
  • Skyscanner.com
    $221
  • Expedia.com
    $222
12.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$188
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Skyscanner.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $190
5.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
390
274
98
30
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
274
98
30
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pirates game pnc park across the street great location baseball stadium clemente bridge shuttle service the breakfast area room was spacious parking downtown concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2021

One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. Day #1, check in process on first day was tedious... despite not being busy, understaffed and a slow process. We paid for parking then drove about their lot for a half an hour before double parking - they sold spots to the PNB stadium crowd at the expense of their patrons. One wash cloth per room despite double occupancy. One of our rooms leaking from ceiling onto the bed from a storm, switched to another room that smell like pot, then switched to 3rd room which still smelled oddly. Day #2, room keys failing intermittingly for 3 different rooms... left us stranded in hallway for 10 minutes and 40 minutes on separate occasions. Then my friends arrived on this 2nd day and after arriving in their room they were told it was not their room and had to leave, this while they had 30 minutes to get ready for our wedding... they refused to leave so hotel sent security to have them removed, then the hotel apologized and admitted their error and let them keep the room. Whole process was a total nightmare

Room tip: Avoid this hotel. One of the worst I've ever been at
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 92petei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Dear 92petei
Thank you for the review of the SpringHill Suites.
I apologize for the inconveniences with parking, however we do not sell our parking spots to the stadium. They are for guests only.
I apologize for the other blunders that occurred during your stay. We would have loved the opportunity to correct any, and all deficiencies for you, and your guests as we are always at your service. I would also like to apologize for your friends mishaps, but we do not have on site security, so I will be looking into this matter thoroughly.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

We attended a concert at PNC Park. The location was perfect. We arrived at 2pm which was good because spots in their lot filled up quickly. The girl at the front desk told us we’d receive our mobile key in the app when the room was ready. At 3:20, we went up to the front desk and the guy laughed and said they are 4 months away from having a mobile key.

The bathroom was gross. The shower curtain touches the toilet. The shower curtain liner had mold all over it. That’s nasty. Spray it with Lysol every time you clean the room and that should not happen. If it does, replace it!

“Breakfast “ isn’t much. Stale bagels, cereal, muffins, eggs, yogurts and chocolate chip bread (nothing that great). Oh, coffee and juice, too. The bed was ok. My husband hated it but it was ok for me. The couch had dusty stuff on it but we were barely in the room aside for sleeping and showering.

Date of stay: August 2021
1  Thank sunnygirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Dear sunnygirl6
Please accept my apologies on the condition of your bathroom. We have informed our housekeeping department to make sure they rectify these issues. I hope this was reported during your stay as we would have loved the opportunity to correct this regardless this was quite embarrassing to read.

I would also like to apologize for the misinformation regarding our mobile keys. I will personally speak to our desk agents regarding mobile keys.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021

We were taking in a Pirates game and this hotel is almost in the park. There's a nice bar-restaurant attached and the rooms are fine if only passably clean. A bit worn but great location snd staff was fine.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank saturdaydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Dear saturdaydiner
Thank you for the review of the SpringHill Suites. We truly appreciate your kind comments, and hope to see you again in the future.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

This hotel has more than 6 floors and it was packed, but had only one working elevator. I was not informed before making a reservation that there was no housekeeping. The bed felt like a rock and the towels like sandpaper. The rate was excessive for the accommodations. All 2 stars go to the wonderful woman who staffed the breakfast. Her warmth and friendliness made a miserable stay feel a lot less miserable

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GatashMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Dear Gates A
Thank you for taking the time to review the SpringHill Suites North Shore. As we have been emailing our guests in regards to our elevator, and stayover service I apologize that we missed yours. Our service company is working diligently to rectify this, but it is a major repair that requires a lot of detail. Rest assured to issue will be fixed within the coming weeks, and we truly hope that should your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh that you choose the SpringHill Suites.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2021

I have stayed at Marriott hotels and really enjoyed it but this stay was not good. The couch had a very gross stain on it. The room was not very clean and has paper towels discarded under the sink. The bed was creaky and not comfortable and the shower had water but would not come out of the shower head. I did not enjoy this stay at all!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 851alynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Dear 851alynnc
Thank you for the review, and I would personally like to apologize for all the blunders that occurred during your stay.
We would have loved the opportunity to correct any issue you had while you were in house, and I apologize if we didn't if this was reported.
The condition of your room was not up to our standards, and we will be addressing your concerns with our housekeeping staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews