We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alynn C

Not good

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jul 2021
I have stayed at Marriott hotels and really enjoyed it but this stay was not good. The couch had a very gross stain on it. The room was not very clean and has paper towels discarded under the sink. The bed was creaky and not comfortable and the shower had water but would not come out of the shower head. I did not enjoy this stay at all!
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review
Responded 2 Aug 2021
Dear 851alynnc
Thank you for the review, and I would personally like to apologize for all the blunders that occurred during your stay.
We would have loved the opportunity to correct any issue you had while you were in house, and I apologize if we didn't if this was reported.
The condition of your room was not up to our standards, and we will be addressing your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
$297
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$269
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$248
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
$331
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$252
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Curio
1.3 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$237
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $237
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$216
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$187
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • DoubleTree
5.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $352
  • Wyndham
    $374
0.8 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $306
  • Priceline
0.4 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
390
274
98
29
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
274
98
29
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pirates game pnc park across the street great location baseball stadium clemente bridge shuttle service the breakfast area room was spacious parking downtown concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Pros: Our room was clean and comfortable. We had plenty of room to spread out. Location is great if you are attending a ball game or something else downtown. The breakfast staff was awesome.

Cons: There is only one working elevator (and judging by other reviews they are in no hurry to fix it). They only gave us 3 cups and 3 towels in the room. Our son used the sofa bed, but there was no bedding in the room for it. After 2 hours and 3 calls to the desk, they finally brought some up. The breakfast was okay, but there were absolutely no COVID protocols other than a couple 6 ft. markers on the floor that everyone ignored. It would have been nice to have gloves as I've seen at the Hiltons and Hamptons. If you have a car, you have to pay to park it.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wirttravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

nDear wirttravelers
thank you for the review. I apologize for the elevator, but it is in fact in the process of being repaired. Our service company is obtaining all the necessary permits to begin the repairs, and are awaiting for materials to be delivered.
We have taken your suggestion and have put gloves out in our breakfast area. This should have been done prior to your arrival.
Again, please accept our deepest apologies, and please note we are on our way to once again being the top hotel on the North Shore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Marriott would pull the nameplate if they cared about their reputation.

This used to be a jewel in the SpringHil chain.

Now...one elevator works. The pool smells like vomit. Half of the light switches in the room attach to nothing. Two thin towels given for a two night stay. Blankets appear to stapled to the bed...can't be moved. Thermostat bears no resemblance to cooling/heating delivered. Affiliated restaurant will be cutting hours beyond belief.

I have stayed here 8-16 nights/year for over a decade. Will now opt for Hilton or Holiday Inn. The local Marriott franchisee has clearly given up.

Room tip: Go elsewere until mganagemtn changes
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Dear Jim H
We are terribly sorry that your stay was not up to our standards. I can however assure you that we are correcting the challenges that we are facing.
I also would like to apologize for the restaurant. While they are actually not affiliated with the hotel they are also facing challenges with staffing.
We can only hope that you choose to stay again, so we can show you what great service is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

My family stayed here for one night for a Pirates game. The location is great for a pirates game or even a Steelers game . We stayed in a queen suite and the room was a great size. The view from room was nice as well. The reason I didn’t give it a 5 was because of how dated the room was and how loud the room we stayed was next to the highway. Also parking is an extra $27.00 a night.
The one elevator was broke , which in their defense they emailed and warned us before our trip which was very courteous. We stayed on a higher floor and ended up walking the steps up and down due to the business of the hotel over the weekend. I would consider staying here again if we went to another game due to the location.

Room tip: Parking is $27 a night .
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Devries87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Dear Devries87
thank you for taking the time for submitting the review. Your kindness and understanding means a lot to us and makes these challenges a little easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021

Truly believe that the only downfall of this property is the lack of being able to hire people to work, which creates a service industry nightmare!

First time staying at this property. Tried to check in before a 1:05 Pirate game but could not. This led to standing in a long line and a wait of about 45 minutes to get into our room.

The reason I start with this is because I really believe that the staff at the front desk was really professional. People were generally not understanding of the issues these women were facing. The property is understaffed (which seems to be the norm these days). They kept their cool and acted professionally even though they were being talked down to and sometimes yelled at. I give these workers credit and admiration.

As for the room, it was clean and very comfortable (2 queen studio). Beds were comfortable and amenities were typical for such a room. Breakfast was good (grab and go style). Needed some towels and linens for the pull out. They were provided with no problem and by a person who was welcoming. Did not make us feel needy or we didn't matter.

I would stay there again. Thank you to the front desk and house keeping ladies that worked hard to make our stay the best possible.

Room tip: Across the street from PNC Park
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodjunkie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Dear Donald G
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, and more importantly thank you for your understanding with the challenges that we are having. Yes, it is very difficult to find the right people these days. Your comments are very much appreciated and for this we are very grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

Run down and in serious need of renovation. One elevator down. Toilets that clog. Bathrooms designed so poorly you can’t even reach the toilet roll. Understaffed. No one had the linens required for their rooms and slammed the unmanned front desk all at once after the game. They acted like people literally needing sheets for their beds was unexpected. It’s close to PNC Park, but you know what? Lots of hotels are. Go elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank josephlJ6901LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, Guest Services / Front Office at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Dear valued guest
We are terribly sorry that your experience with us was less than perfect.
While we are faced with challenges regarding staffing we are on our way to correct the deficiencies that you described. Our elevator is in the process to be fixed, but it is a process to get the necessary permits and materials needed to begin the work.
We can only hope that our relationship is not strained because we would like nothing more than to welcome you back in the future and deliver on our promise of a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews