We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jim H
Vermont

Completely gone

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jul 2021
Marriott would pull the nameplate if they cared about their reputation.

This used to be a jewel in the SpringHil chain.

Now...one elevator works. The pool smells like vomit. Half of the light switches in the room attach to nothing. Two thin towels given for a two night stay. Blankets appear to stapled to the bed...can't be moved. Thermostat bears no resemblance to cooling/heating delivered. Affiliated restaurant will be cutting hours beyond belief.

I have stayed here 8-16 nights/year for over a decade. Will now opt for Hilton or Holiday Inn. The local Marriott franchisee has clearly given up.
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Go elsewere until mganagemtn changes
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review
Responded 2 Aug 2021
Dear Jim H
We are terribly sorry that your stay was not up to our standards. I can however assure you that we are correcting the challenges that we are facing.
I also would like to apologize for the restaurant. While they are actually not affiliated with the hotel they are also facing challenges with staffing.
We can only hope that you choose to stay again, so we can show you what great service is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$503
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $503
  • Hotels.com
    $503
  • Priceline
    $503
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$436
  • Priceline
    $436
  • Skyscanner.com
    $428
  • Expedia.com
    $436
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$427
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $427
  • Algotels
    $414
  • Hotels.com
    $427
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$284
  • Priceline
    $284
  • Hotels.com
    $283
  • Expedia.com
    $283
0.2 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
$660
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $660
  • Priceline
    $660
  • Hotels.com
    $660
1.1 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$393
  • Priceline
    $393
  • Skyscanner.com
    $310
  • Hotels.com
    $392
1.3 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$299
  • Choice Hotels
    $299
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $299
3.9 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Skyscanner.com
    $218
12.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$520
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $520
  • Hyatt.com
    $494
  • Priceline
    $520
0.4 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$187
  • Priceline
    $187
  • Skyscanner.com
    $139
  • Expedia.com
    $187
5.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
390
274
98
29
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
274
98
29
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pirates game pnc park across the street great location baseball stadium clemente bridge shuttle service the breakfast area room was spacious parking downtown concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

My family stayed here for one night for a Pirates game. The location is great for a pirates game or even a Steelers game . We stayed in a queen suite and the room was a great size. The view from room was nice as well. The reason I didn’t give it a 5 was because of how dated the room was and how loud the room we stayed was next to the highway. Also parking is an extra $27.00 a night.
The one elevator was broke , which in their defense they emailed and warned us before our trip which was very courteous. We stayed on a higher floor and ended up walking the steps up and down due to the business of the hotel over the weekend. I would consider staying here again if we went to another game due to the location.

Room tip: Parking is $27 a night .
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Devries87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Dear Devries87
thank you for taking the time for submitting the review. Your kindness and understanding means a lot to us and makes these challenges a little easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021

Truly believe that the only downfall of this property is the lack of being able to hire people to work, which creates a service industry nightmare!

First time staying at this property. Tried to check in before a 1:05 Pirate game but could not. This led to standing in a long line and a wait of about 45 minutes to get into our room.

The reason I start with this is because I really believe that the staff at the front desk was really professional. People were generally not understanding of the issues these women were facing. The property is understaffed (which seems to be the norm these days). They kept their cool and acted professionally even though they were being talked down to and sometimes yelled at. I give these workers credit and admiration.

As for the room, it was clean and very comfortable (2 queen studio). Beds were comfortable and amenities were typical for such a room. Breakfast was good (grab and go style). Needed some towels and linens for the pull out. They were provided with no problem and by a person who was welcoming. Did not make us feel needy or we didn't matter.

I would stay there again. Thank you to the front desk and house keeping ladies that worked hard to make our stay the best possible.

Room tip: Across the street from PNC Park
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodjunkie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Dear Donald G
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, and more importantly thank you for your understanding with the challenges that we are having. Yes, it is very difficult to find the right people these days. Your comments are very much appreciated and for this we are very grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

Run down and in serious need of renovation. One elevator down. Toilets that clog. Bathrooms designed so poorly you can’t even reach the toilet roll. Understaffed. No one had the linens required for their rooms and slammed the unmanned front desk all at once after the game. They acted like people literally needing sheets for their beds was unexpected. It’s close to PNC Park, but you know what? Lots of hotels are. Go elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank josephlJ6901LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, Guest Services / Front Office at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Dear valued guest
We are terribly sorry that your experience with us was less than perfect.
While we are faced with challenges regarding staffing we are on our way to correct the deficiencies that you described. Our elevator is in the process to be fixed, but it is a process to get the necessary permits and materials needed to begin the work.
We can only hope that our relationship is not strained because we would like nothing more than to welcome you back in the future and deliver on our promise of a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

This was our first trip with a toddler since the pandemic. We drove from NYC. No one is still wearing masks- guests or staff. Ok. But the hotel
Is still operating under Covid protocols. So, instead of a breakfast buffet you have to request items from behind the front desk. My husband went down the first morning we were there to get breakfast and requested two breakfast sandwiches and then was asked how many people were in the room. There was no milk to be found for our toddler on our first or third morning. We asked for our sheets to be changed the second morning because the toddler ate messily in bed and the front desk told us that they aren’t doing that because of Covid- they eventually did. Upon arriving to our room around 11:30pm on our last night we requested towels-since those weren’t being replaced- it took about 25 minutes for them to come. They also didn’t replenish toiletries.

The room itself as functional. Fridge, sink, pull out couch, bathroom, king bed. The AC was NOISY. Woke me up several times. There was a gross red stain on the carpet near the bathroom and a huge chip of wood out of the dresser.

Only one elevator was working. The elevators are next to the pool. This meant extended drip times for those getting out of the pool which meant a wet dangerous floor directly in front of the only working slow and crowded elevator.

So in short:
Breakfast-lackluster
Room cleaning- nope
Milk for toddlers- nope
Parking- $27 nightly
Maybe they do better in non pandemic times?

Room tip: Stay elsewhere.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Travellingrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Dear Travellingrrl
Thank you for taking your time to review us at the SpringHill Suites.
I'm sorry that your stay with us was not up to your standards, as well as our own.
We are steadily coming out of Covid phase, but we are still faced with certain challenges.
I apologize for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent customer service! This place was slammed and the women working the desk were BEYOND accommodating. People were being absolutely terrible to them and they stayed cool. The location is prime too. Walking distance to everything! If I go to Pittsburgh again, I’m staying here! They held our bags while we had lunch, let us check in early and out late (these services can not be guaranteed) maybe they made it work because we weren’t being jerks about it? They were beyond friendly while catering to us. This kind of hospitality doesn’t exist in a hotel in this price range! I was astonished by the level of customer service. Probably better than the Ritz! If I owned a hotel chain I’d be scouting out this one to steal their staff.

Room tip: Walking distance to the baseball stadium, football isn’t far also many restaurants, bars, & museums right there. perfect SPOT!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hungrybeaver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2021

Wow!! What an awesome review!! Thank you, Hungrybeaver6 for taking the time to write this great review!!!
Comments like this are rare these days, and we certainly appreciate all of your kind words.
Our staff truly tries to make every guest welcomed, and comfortable.
We hope that we get to see you again in the future.
Take Care, Stay safe

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews