We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travellingrrl
New York City, New York

Expensive parking and zero service

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jun 2021via mobile
This was our first trip with a toddler since the pandemic. We drove from NYC. No one is still wearing masks- guests or staff. Ok. But the hotel
Is still operating under Covid protocols. So, instead of a breakfast buffet you have to request items from behind the front desk. My husband went down the first morning we were there to get breakfast and requested two breakfast sandwiches and then was asked how many people were in the room. There was no milk to be found for our toddler on our first or third morning. We asked for our sheets to be changed the second morning because the toddler ate messily in bed and the front desk told us that they aren’t doing that because of Covid- they eventually did. Upon arriving to our room around 11:30pm on our last night we requested towels-since those weren’t being replaced- it took about 25 minutes for them to come. They also didn’t replenish toiletries.

The room itself as functional. Fridge, sink, pull out couch, bathroom, king bed. The AC was NOISY. Woke me up several times. There was a gross red stain on the carpet near the bathroom and a huge chip of wood out of the dresser.

Only one elevator was working. The elevators are next to the pool. This meant extended drip times for those getting out of the pool which meant a wet dangerous floor directly in front of the only working slow and crowded elevator.

So in short:
Breakfast-lackluster
Room cleaning- nope
Milk for toddlers- nope
Parking- $27 nightly
Maybe they do better in non pandemic times?
Date of stay: June 2021
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Dear Travellingrrl
Thank you for taking your time to review us at the SpringHill Suites.
I'm sorry that your stay with us was not up to your standards, as well as our own.
We are steadily coming out of Covid phase, but we are still faced with certain challenges.
I apologize for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay.

Hospitably yours,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$256
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
$321
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$303
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$330
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $330
1.1 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel exterior
$204
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
$185
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$186
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $186
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$222
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
12.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Residence Inn
    $237
  • Priceline
0.2 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • DoubleTree
    $190
  • Algotels
5.7 km from SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
390
274
98
30
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
274
98
30
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pirates game pnc park across the street great location baseball stadium clemente bridge shuttle service the breakfast area room was spacious parking downtown concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent customer service! This place was slammed and the women working the desk were BEYOND accommodating. People were being absolutely terrible to them and they stayed cool. The location is prime too. Walking distance to everything! If I go to Pittsburgh again, I’m staying here! They held our bags while we had lunch, let us check in early and out late (these services can not be guaranteed) maybe they made it work because we weren’t being jerks about it? They were beyond friendly while catering to us. This kind of hospitality doesn’t exist in a hotel in this price range! I was astonished by the level of customer service. Probably better than the Ritz! If I owned a hotel chain I’d be scouting out this one to steal their staff.

Room tip: Walking distance to the baseball stadium, football isn’t far also many restaurants, bars, & museums right there. perfect SPOT!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hungrybeaver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2021

Wow!! What an awesome review!! Thank you, Hungrybeaver6 for taking the time to write this great review!!!
Comments like this are rare these days, and we certainly appreciate all of your kind words.
Our staff truly tries to make every guest welcomed, and comfortable.
We hope that we get to see you again in the future.
Take Care, Stay safe

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

If you are in town for a Pirate game, this place is perfect. Right across the street from PNC Park and witching walking distance of plenty of restaurants/bars, etc. Stay was fine and staff friendly and helpful. Check-in was painful as there simply were not enough staff to handle the number of people trying to check in. There was a day game and lots of people were trying to check-in before the game. We did not get our room until after the game at about 7pm. One night one room with tax was about $202.00. Don’t be fooled that it will be “inexpensive”. Breakfast was “take and go” as COVID restrictions are still in place. Room was comfortable and clean.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank MarkMM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2021

Dear MarkMM55
Thank you for the review of the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore. Thank you for the kind remarks about our staff. That certainly means a lot.
We also appreciate your understanding with the check-in process.
We truly hope to once again be at your service should you travel back to Pittsburgh.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

Pleasant staff, comfortable and clean room situation, convenient location for biking through Pittsburgh.

We rolled in after two days on the GAP Trail and were warmly welcomed by the front desk. We rolled our bikes through the lobby and they fit easily on the elevators.

Would definitely recommend for a visit to Pittsburgh or to end or start your trip on the GAP Trail.

Room tip: Across the street from Pirates, and just a short walk across the bridge for excellent food choices.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoshKleinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Dear JoshKleinfeld
Thank you for the awesome review of the SpringHill Suites! I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We certainly hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh!

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

While the hotel is showing its age in the fixtures and furnishings, it is extremely clean inside and outside. Found the staff, especially Josephine at the front desk, to be fully exceptional in dealing with a reservation matter and a keys issue to great satisfaction. For those who care: high shower water pressure, so-so internet speed, above average grab and go breakfast (Jimmy Dean sandwiches, lots of yogurt and muffin choices).

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Dear harbinchina
Thank you very much for the great review of the SpringHill Suites! I will certainly let Josephine know that she was mentioned in your comments. It really does mean a lot to us knowing that you enjoyed your time.
We truly hope to see you again.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2021 via mobile

The bedding was either soiled or old with spots—used extra sheets from the closet to cover them up. Air conditioning was loud and the controls unreadable. Buffet was sparse—and closed at 9am on a Sunday. Staff was cheerful and helpful

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Daer djleland
Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor. As we navigate through these strange times we have been faced with certain challenges. I certainly understand your frustrations as I would have been frustrated too. I have addressed these issues with our staff to ensure that they were isolated incidents. We certainly hope this does not strain any relationship that we may have as we want nothing more than to welcome you back to deliver on our promise of a memorable stay.


Hospitably yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews