We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not revisit”

Gaucho Parrilla Argentina
Ranked #16 of 2,246 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $16 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Strip District
Description: Gaucho Parrilla Argentina is located in the heart of the Cultural District in downtown Pittsburgh. We offer quality cuts of meat, poultry, seafood and vegetables all cooked over a wood fired grill. Our bar program features a collection of curated wines with an emphasis on Argentina, interesting beers and classic cocktails. Walkins welcome, reservations recommended.
Reviewed 15 April 2024 via mobile

Food was ok, not more. The toasts with dips was best part but the chimichurri we got there was watery and no substance. The meat and chicken were really blend and easy to do much better oneself.
Had higher expectations considering the rating.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2024

We have been trying to go here for years based on reviews that touted it as the best restaurant in the city. Well it was better than average but it was not fantastic and certainly not the best.
We were seated upstairs in a room with a fireplace and the room was exceedingly warm. The server was knowledgeable, but they made us order appetizers and our entrées simultaneously to expedite the kitchen process. This did not allow us to determine if we wanted an entrée after ordering soup and appetizers. The person who brought the food seemed inexperienced. He nearly slid all of the food off the tray onto the table, and in the process, he spilled some of the side, sauces and bread. He promised to bring replacements, but never did. He was obsessive about placing the dishes on the table in a certain direction, even though the table had not been cleared of appetizer plates, and there was no room. We were forced to place our dishes onto the heating vent to make room for everything.
The food was good, but not phenomenal. We had a mixed grill and the sausage and chicken was dried out and cool to the touch when it arrived. The steak was very rare. I did really enjoy the chili which had a good spice to it. Probably the best thing was the grilled red pepper.
$25 corkage fee, because we brought our own wine. Probably about average these days.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

I've been to Gaucho a couple of times now. The rest of our venue has always been very happy with their meals and praise this place any chance they get.

Personally, however, I've always been disappointed with my meals, being the only vegetarian in my group. Given that this place is a steakhouse, I think that's fair, but since they do offer vegetarian options, it would be nice if they weren't underwhelming and bland. I'm not one to leave very negative reviews, but during this latest visit I was genuinely thinking that having some toast at home would've been a more appetizing choice, which really leaves me no choice.

Having said that, staff has always been great and knowledgeable, the location is great (especially if you're catching a show after) and the atmosphere is generally pleasant. For me, this isn't worth the money for food that I'd swap for some crunchy toast, but I'm sure if you're there for the steaks it's a great experience.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank sanna_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Coing from out of town and reccomended by friends in the city. A bit overpriced for the quality received. We had an issue with the steak we received and the chef on duty was rude about it. Unaccomodating. Perhaps becuase we came mid-week and the main chef is not working?

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zachary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Do not go here if you expect a full meal. Reservation was 845 with the last allowed reservation for 930. Finished our meal and attempted a dessert order at 943 and they claim the kitchen is closed. Are you kidding me?! 12 mins after your allowed last reservation time?! This place is a fraud. Go elsewhere if you want to enjoy a complete meal. Bonus points - the waiter bragged about how food the bread pudding dessert is… after telling us we couldn’t order it. Laughable. Buyer beware. Go elsewhere for better food, service, and ambience.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank OnAir59782836108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gaucho Parrilla Argentina also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Gaucho Parrilla Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.