We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique hideaway with real character”
other travellers have booked this property
As featured in Pittsburgh Magazine (Oct 2014 issue)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
As featured in Pittsburgh Magazine (Oct 2014 issue)
Main living area has vintage MCM sofa and matching chair Kitchen has vintage metal cabinetry
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
As featured in Pittsburgh Magazine (Oct 2014 issue)
Main living area has vintage MCM sofa and matching chair
Kitchen has vintage metal cabinetry
Vaulted ceilings show home's unique construction
Enjoy your morning coffee or an evening drink on the patio
Master bedroom with King bed
Ceiling fan in master bedroom
Bedroom 2 with Queen size bed
Bedroom 3 with Full bed
The Igloo... the original Yaca-Dome!
You can see why we call it 'the Igloo'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeffrey Z
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique hideaway with real character”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Relaxing and secluded setting within the urban environment - we even saw 6 wild turkeys walk up from the wooded hillside across the driveway. Good directions are needed to find the house the first time, but we quickly learned different ways into and out of the neighborhood that offered convenient access to many destinations in the city. The house had everything needed for 5 people to be comfortable. The beds and pillows were comfortably soft. Having no stairs was kind to our knees after a day of walking. The kitchen was just right, and we used it more often than we had planned. Plenty of room to sit together while watching television on the big screen or playing family games. Great WiFi that allowed us to check our plans daily.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Caution Advised”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
6
people found this review helpful

This property is in the Larimer area of Pittsburgh. Although geographically close to Highland Park, it is not accessible from the house. The house has great round windows with views of neighborhood trash cans and a small hill of discarded asphalt and concrete boulders. It was wiped up, but not clean. The kitchen cabinets and stove had grease and dust that takes time to build up. There were cobwebs in every window. The main bedroom has exposed heating elements in the closet. This rental has no dishwasher, garbage disposal or laundry facilities. There is absolutely no pantry space in the kitchen. If you plan to cook anything, even have cereal boxes, they have to sit on the counter or in the refrigerator. Be careful what you put in GPS. Olivant Place is not the same as Olivant Street. The former looks more like a driveway than a street, there is only room for one vehicle to pass. Olivant Place is poorly paved. Replace your shock absorbers if driving your own car. This property has three bedrooms, but the third one is small and without a closet. The neighbors are not friendly, do not like the deck light to be on at night and don't want cars parked on the grass area across from the trash cans. Our flight was delayed three times so we arrived in Pittsburgh at 1:30 a.m. Lisa was there to meet us and she was angry. She also spent 5-6 minutes trash talking Trip Advisor, saying we should have rented through another site. After all the owner fees were attached to this property, we ended up paying around $250/night. The quality of the rental does not justify this price and there are many other options in Pittsburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property has a good air conditioner and a very large TV in the living room
Liked least: The great restaurants, small shops, bakeries and bars in Pittsburgh were not accessible at all. There was nowhere to walk to
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stacybuck...
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for the price but not a great location”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
7
people found this review helpful

When we arrived at the Dome, Lisa was there. Both cars that drove there got a little turned around, so it is confusing to find and not the best of neighborhoods. The house itself was cool (but could have used a little more cleaning-multiple fingerprints on the refrigerator, cabinets and glass table) and the beds were comfortable. It was more outside the city than we would have preferred but we knew that going in and decided to try it because the house looked like a fun place to stay.
We left something behind and Lisa contacted us about it but I never heard back from her after I said I would like her to mail it back. Going to cost us $100 to replace.
Overall, it was an okay stay, but the cleanliness of the kitchen and the neighborhood would give me pause before recommending it. For the price though, it is a bargain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the price
Liked least: neighborhood, cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milbu
Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat stay in the Dome”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveled to Pittsburgh from Oregon for a weekend watching the Pens and Steelers. We ended up missing a couple of flights and arrived 7 hours later than planned. Through it all, Lisa (property owner) was very gracious and accommodating. She met us at 11 pm when we finally arrived and was very nice even though we kept her waiting all day.

The property was great. Very secluded. Kind of tricky to find the first time, but not really a problem.

Inside the house was great. Many places advertise that they can sleep this or that many people, but when you get there you find it it not really the case. This place easily slept 5 adults in the bedrooms, and there was room for at least one other in the living room.

We didn't spend a lot of time in the Dome, as we were out doing things much of the time, but if there was one minor complaint, it would be that the cable television was worthless. We like a lot of sports, but couldn't watch ESPN, TNT, etc. No monday night football, etc while waiting for people to get ready to go somewhere. Again, no big deal but probably the only complaint I can come up with.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Secluded property, neat wooded setting
Liked least: Cable TV selection
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBKent
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this unique home”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great holiday in the Dome, loved the space and comfort. Visiting wildlife was fun, deer and voles just outside. Thanks.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing