We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Heather E

Unapproved charge not refunded.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 May 2024
While I really wanted to write a great review, I can only give it a semi-average to poor rating. I was charged for a small amount that I did not purchase, and when I called to have it refunded, they assured me it would be. The amount was not refunded to my card.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is valuable and we take guest words seriously so we can turn them into actionable change at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in the area. We hope you enjoy the rest of your day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$290
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $288
  • Expedia.com
    $289
  • Priceline
    $290
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$340
  • Expedia.com
    $340
  • Skyscanner.com
    $279
  • Hotels.com
    $339
0.9 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$366
  • Hotels.com
    $365
  • Skyscanner.com
    $309
  • Expedia.com
    $366
0.4 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$381
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $381
  • Hotels.com
    $379
  • Expedia.com
    $381
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$267
  • Expedia.com
    $214
  • Skyscanner.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
    $213
0.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$291
  • Expedia.com
    $291
  • Hotels.com
    $290
  • Residence Inn
    $291
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel exterior
$206
  • Cambria
    $206
  • Algotels
    $194
  • Expedia.com
    $207
1.3 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$246
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $246
  • Vio.com
    $246
12.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
  • Choice Hotels
    $196
  • Priceline
    $196
  • Expedia.com
    $196
3.5 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$192
  • Hotels.com
    $191
  • Skyscanner.com
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $192
5.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (2,071)
Filter reviews
2,071 results
Traveller rating
1,181
547
215
78
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,181
547
215
78
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pnc park across the street allegheny river beautiful hotel cultural district clemente bridge corner room high ceilings heinz hall club level historic building great view of the river baseball stadium walking distance pirates game market square parking garage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,071 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2024

There are many qualities to recommend this hotel: location, building, rooms. The hotel is within walking distance of both ballparks and just about anything you would want to do downtown or on the North Shore. The building has interesting architecture and history. The rooms are plenty big, a nice surprise for an old building. However, the front desk seems incapable of handling a simple request to unclog the bathtub/shower drain, which I made on two consecutive days with no resolution. I would've had a five-star experience if I wasn't standing ankle-deep in soapy water in the shower. Check the drain function right after you put down your bags.

Room tip: Get a river view, or partial river view room.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is valuable and we take guest words seriously so we can turn them into actionable change at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in the area. We hope you enjoy the rest of your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2024 via mobile

I hate leaving poor reviews…hardly ever do it. But…

Positives: There is outstanding water pressure in the shower! Just across the River from PNC Park, so an easy walk to catch a game.

Potential: the hotel lobby is stunning and beautiful. The problem is the day we came it was set up for a wedding so the majority of what makes it beautiful upon entering was blocked by a black curtain. Gave the feel of a construction zone. Even the next day the lobby wasn’t “useable”

The bad: I reserved the hotel a month and a half before our trip, using my silver status rewards on the hotel’s site. Requested a high room, above 9th floor, with a river view, even paid more. When arrived was given a river view on the 3rd floor. When I addressed it with the staff they informed me that there was an in house wedding and they couldn’t oblige my request…yet no refund of difference. In our room the fridge had a broken foot and wouldn’t stay shut. The windows couldn’t open which normally isn’t a big deal except that the air conditioning didn’t work in the room. When that hallway is 10-15 degrees cooler than your room there is a problem. Informed they would let maintenance know. Our room, a king size river view room had a Murphy bed that was literally only 12-16 inches off the floor! In the middle of the night a trip to the bathroom involves a dang near broken toe on the wood and no quiet way to get out or back in the floor mattress. The only good part of the Murphy bed was that we could have closed it up and used our entire floor area as our dance floor since the techno beat dance music vibrating our floor from 6pm to 11:00 pm sure didn’t make it conducive to sleeping. Finally the parking garage across the street doesn’t offer in and out parking, and no leaving at night.

I hate to leave such a poor review as I really love the location if going to a game.

Room tip: Park in 6th street garage across the street. Can enter from Duquesne blvd or 7th street.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robbT7454NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is valuable and we take guest words seriously so we can turn them into actionable change at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in the area. We hope you enjoy the rest of your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2024

Very nice hotel in a perfect location for exploring downtown Pittsburgh. We had room 1123, which is a high-floor, corner, large king room and it was a great weekend experience We had a wonderful view of the Pirate's games across the river and panoramic views of the river and the scenery beyond--loved it! The hotel and room were very clean and comfortable, and the shower had marvelous pressure. At $45/day, valet parking was very responsive when we needed in-out services, although it was backed up upon check-in. I believe they parked the car directly across the street in a public garage that I think could be had for $18 a day, so the value of valet service is a personal decision.

A few "could be better" comments, especially given the price point:
1. The doors to enter the hotel are massive, heavy, and very hard to open. There is no doorman. Electric opening/assist anyone?
2. No help with luggage offered or provided.
3. We called the front desk and requested a second luggage rack immediately upon entering the room. Although promised to "be coming right up" it never showed. A second request at the desk the next morning resulted in a rack showing up.
4. When we returned from an outing, the room had been serviced, but the housekeeper did not replenish face cloths, coffee, tea, or creamer. My wife had to track housekeeping down later to get the desired items.
5. The bathroom was large and had its own window with view. Unfortunately, there is no HVAC routed to the bathroom. Although our room was at a pleasant temperature, and the bathroom door was left open, the bathroom was uncomfortably (very) cold. Granted it's a historic building, but surely an electric heater could be wired into the room. I can't imagine what the dead of winter would be like.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T2175SSthomass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Dear T2175SSthomass,

Thank you so much for the review of your stay with us. It's feedback like this that we can use to continue doing what we do best as well as improving on areas where you feel we missed. We appreciate the time you took and look forward to you staying with us again when you're back in the area. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Marketed and priced by Marriott as a luxury hotel, but fails to deliver. If the hotel was not so expensive I would not even have written this review, but folks looking to spend hard earned money on a luxury experience deserve a warning.

Good things: the beautiful original Fulton building entryway and stairwell, great water pressure, central location, friendly staff.

Bad things:
- No bathroom exhaust fan, and you cannot crack the window. You don't realize how important this is until you don't have it.
- No duvet cover, just a duvet sandwiched between two sheets. Gross.
- Electronics problems - lightbulb out, power outlet not working. They fixed the outlet but not the lightbulb.
- Water damage on lampshade and bathroom curtains. Furniture heavily worn and damaged. (see pictures)
- Awkwardly arranged curtains with tracks directly above the desk that were difficult to maneuver and had to manually be pushed be pushed behind or in front of the desk.
- No room service available.
- No dresser - all clothes had to be hung in closet on a couple hangars or left in suitcase.
- Poor layout in general. Had to close closet to open door.
- Netflix not working.
- We came down several times to try and get coffee and there was never anyone staffed at the lobby cafe. There were often people standing in line for a few minutes, then giving up and walking away. (I don't blame staff for this - I blame management for not hiring proper support).

These are things that could be forgiving in a budget hotel, but are unacceptable from what is ostensibly a 4-star hotel. Could generously be called a 3-star hotel.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear alexanderwl4790so,

Thanks so much for this interesting review! It seems there has been quite the disconnect between your experience and what many of our very satisfied guests have experienced. I would love if you could reach out to the hotel directly and ask for Mitch as I would love to speak with you further over your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback both constructive and otherwise so I greatly look forward to being able to discuss this with you. Thank you again and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Started off great with a wonderful check in experience with Rosemary. Great room (922), fantastic location, and maybe a good breakfast. We were there 2 nights. On Saturday morning we had a terrific breakfast experience (great food and service) with Rosemary as our server; on Sunday not such a good experience. It took over 35 minutes to get our food and although the Denver omelette was good but the biscuits and gravy that I ordered the day before that were so good were not so good and were like they came from a different restaurant. Also unlike Friday and Saturday morning (all day), we had no hot water on Sunday morning. It’s unfortunate but with this hotels location and the attitude of most of the staff this place could be great but they need to be more consistent.

Room tip: Ask for room 922
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jim2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Dear Jim2344,

Thanks so much for your valuable feedback. We take any issues to heart and will work to rectify them immediately. We hope to see you back in the future. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews