We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gsiton09
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Excellent Hotel and Staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Jan 2024via mobile
River view room was definitely worth it! Beautiful views of the river and bridges. Room is clean! Decor is modern and historic beautifully. Front desk staff was exceptional, Mitch and Rosemary are outstanding their customer service are excellent! And the guy who checked us in! This hotel is a Prime location as well!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear Gsiton09,

Thank you so much for the amazing review! We appreciate you taking the time to call out a few of our team members who made your stay over the top for New Year's! We sincerely hope we see you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lobby
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
0.9 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
5.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
12.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
0.4 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel exterior
1.3 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
3.5 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (2,071)
Filter reviews
2,072 results
Traveller rating
1,181
547
215
79
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,181
547
215
79
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pnc park across the street allegheny river beautiful hotel cultural district clemente bridge corner room high ceilings heinz hall club level historic building great view of the river baseball stadium walking distance pirates game market square parking garage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,072 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2024

We stayed the first weekend in December to attend a wedding. Although this is an older hotel, it is a classic! It is centrally situated within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The Christmas market was just a few blocks away and quite quaint.
The wedding reception was nice although some of the staff seemed grumpy? Maybe they aren’t paid well? The food at the wedding was surprisingly good, which is usually hard especially when the entrees were filet and salmon! Both were cooked perfectly!
We especially have to give a shout out to Eddie, the valet who saved us! We ordered an Uber to take us to the wedding ceremony at a church that was 15 minutes away from the hotel and due to a crane being pulled out nearby our Uber cancelled and we couldn’t find another Uber in time. Eddie noticed our dilemma and offered to drive us! He got us to the church on time!!
Thanks so Very Much Eddie!
With a little modern improvements this hotel will be a destination!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marycU4028CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear marcU4028CJ,

Thanks so much for the awesome review of your wedding trip weekend with us. Ed is an absolute delight and we love anytime he leaves a lasting impact on a guest. I will make sure to pass the good news on to him and everyone else! We hope to see you back with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

Great location but nothing for Europeans.

Our room 708 was spacious but desperately need of refurbishment.
Cheap furniture and curtains.
No slippers, no bathrobes and house keeping who didn’t replace towels.
We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was ok and the waiter was a darling. But the recycling paper table cloths were ugly.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eveline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Dear Eveline R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on your stay. It sounds like we missed the mark on a few things and I would love if you could personally reach out so I could discuss your stay with you in more detail. I look forward to hearing from you. Have a wonderful and pleasant holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2023

We had a wonderful stay for viewing Christmas lights downtown. When we checked out, we accidentally left an item behind in the room. I contacted the hotel and spoke with Erica to try to resolve my situation. She was able to locate the item and even shipped it to my home at NO COST! Erica was so helpful in returning our lost item and our entire experience was great!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Dear michaelhJ4222TR,

Thanks so much for the amazing review! So happy you were able to get to enjoy some of the many holiday festivities our great city puts on each year. I will make sure Erica knows she was able to enrich your lives for the better by helping out with your issue! We hope to see you back in the future. Have a happy and safe holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2023

Good location, nice lobby and a comfy bed. That’s where it stopped. The property is in need of some investment, it’s old and tired looking. No room service for a four star hotel, breakfast service was slow, amenities pretty basic. Its was fine for a quick overnight stay, but it’s a long way short of a four star property. Wouldn’t recommend for anything longer or couples/families.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Dear richakn77,

I am deeply sorry that we did not live up to your expectations for the hotel. I would greatly appreciate it if you could reach out to me directly to further discuss the issues at hand. I look forward to speaking with you. Have a great day and safe holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2023

First visit here as part of an event, and the decor is worth a trip. Very nice folks on staff all around. The meal was mediocre, but it was still a nice visit. Very strange that the closest bathroom is on the 2nd floor!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitchell Kumpf, Owner at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Dear CuriousTravelerRadio,

Thanks so much for the review. We appreciate your valuable feedback and take everything said into careful consideration in regards to improvement of the property. We hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews