We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$393
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
joni51
Louisville, Kentucky

stunning view

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2021
We booked a corner room. The view over the river and PNC park was exceptional! I have no words. My only issue was the first night our curtains were off the track and we had the spot lights from the arch blazing into our room. I told the front teak and they sent someone to fix it immediately. They offered to let us change rooms, but we just loved our view and didn’t want to leave! I would stay here every time I come to the BURGH!
Oh and the lobby, loved it! Be sure to read the history of this hotel. It was once a VA hospital.
Date of stay: May 2021
Room Tip: Amazing views
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 2 Jun 2021
joni51,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed you stay! We hope to have you back again sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$314
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$343
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$398
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $398
0.9 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
Tripadvisor
$409
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $409
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
$220
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
$388
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$260
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$217
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
12.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$216
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $216
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $327
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (2,066)
Filter reviews
2,066 results
Traveller rating
1,179
547
213
77
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,179
547
213
77
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pnc park across the street allegheny river beautiful hotel cultural district clemente bridge corner room high ceilings heinz hall club level historic building great view of the river baseball stadium walking distance pirates game market square parking garage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 2,066 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and stay at many hotels. Also, I usually do not give 5 stars easily but this hotel deserved to have 5 stars. My wife and I stayed here overnight for our anniversary and couldn't have been happier. I contacted the hotel before traveling here and told them of the occasion. They responded by putting us up on the top floor with a full river view with one of the most amazing rooms I have ever been in AND had a bottle of champagne sent up prior to us checking in.

Everything was absolutely amazing and I couldn't have been more impressed. Thank you for making our day special.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Eric C,

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing to spend your special evening with us. We hope to have you back sometime soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021

We loved staying here for the one night we spent in the city. The location was perfect -- we could walk to everything: the Point, the incline, etc. Parking was easy across the street. The room was outstanding -- we loved the technical capabilities of the TV, where everything could be streamed. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge. The hotel felt safe, and had some COVID restrictions, but we appreciated the bar area being open. We will stay here again when we are in Pittsburgh!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Buff_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2021

Travel_Buff_BL,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you come back and stay with us again sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Overall, this is good hotel. The location is really great on the river and the physical building is an impressive older building. The lobby areas and hallways all appear to have been renovated recently, although the rooms themselves are much older feeling, especially the bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GG1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

GG1072,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We hope to host you again in the near future.

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021

Our family took a mini vacation during spring break for 5 nights. Hotel manager Tom was very helpful got our rooms situated with nice view . Due to the covid, the lounge was closed but they will comp you starbucks in the lobby for a simple breakfast. The hotel situated in a historic building, the architecture and decor are very nice, the room is very specious and the location is great.
The staff we have encounted were very professional and friendly. The hotel is clean although little showing its age, over all is a great hotel with great staff.
the missing side were:
They don't have parking garage and no valet during week days, so you need park in the garage across street with no in-out privillage so as a tourists it can be costly.
Starbucks in the lobby in the morning can be very busy and there is not many choises. One girl on Saturday was not too friendly but the other staff were great!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiger1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor on our property. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the feedback, and hope to host you again sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021

I was booked into a river view room on the 14th floor, ended up with an adjoining room. There is zero sound deadening between rooms. Was woken up by screaming children at 0130, staff moved my room. Alright so far, out of their control. The next room I was placed into was non adjoining on the same floor. At about 0230, a group of rambunctious drunks occupied the next room. Once again, could hear everything crystal clear from the next room. If you enjoy your sleep, book another hotel.

Service post covid has gone seriously down the tubes as well. Breakfast is run out of the Starbucks, where I was ignored for 10 minutes before being permitted to order. It took almost 45 minutes for a bagel to come out of the kitchen. Coffee is no longer complementary in the lobby, so expect to spend a breakfast ticket for a glass if you’re an elite member. The lounge is still closed

I canceled my second night stay here and chose to book elsewhere. Avoid this place like you would COVID

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank cjbpsu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

cjbpsu11,

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had! Definitely not our standard in any way, and we apologize you fell victim to our shortcomings. Trust that your feedback will be used to make our operation better. I believe we spoke upon your departure, but if there was anything else I could do for you, please let me know. I really would love the opportunity to make it up to you!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews