We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travel_Buff_BL
Bloomington, Indiana

Excellent Hotel!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2021
We loved staying here for the one night we spent in the city. The location was perfect -- we could walk to everything: the Point, the incline, etc. Parking was easy across the street. The room was outstanding -- we loved the technical capabilities of the TV, where everything could be streamed. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge. The hotel felt safe, and had some COVID restrictions, but we appreciated the bar area being open. We will stay here again when we are in Pittsburgh!
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 20 May 2021
Travel_Buff_BL,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you come back and stay with us again sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$248
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $248
  • Skyscanner.com
    $247
  • Expedia.com
    $249
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$295
  • Priceline
    $295
  • Skyscanner.com
    $280
  • Expedia.com
    $297
0.4 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$310
  • Expedia.com
    $312
  • Skyscanner.com
    $253
  • Priceline
    $310
0.9 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
$328
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $321
  • Priceline
    $319
  • Expedia.com
    $331
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$255
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $243
  • Skyscanner.com
    $255
1.0 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$261
  • Skyscanner.com
    $247
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $263
0.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
$371
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    $374
  • Skyscanner.com
    $204
  • Hotels.com
    $373
0.4 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$235
  • Choice Hotels
    $237
  • ZenHotels.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $237
3.5 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$246
  • Skyscanner.com
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $248
  • Priceline
    $246
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$215
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $216
  • Vio.com
    $215
12.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (2,068)
Filter reviews
2,068 results
Traveller rating
1,179
547
214
78
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,179
547
214
78
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pnc park across the street allegheny river beautiful hotel cultural district clemente bridge corner room high ceilings heinz hall club level historic building great view of the river baseball stadium walking distance pirates game market square parking garage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 2,068 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Overall, this is good hotel. The location is really great on the river and the physical building is an impressive older building. The lobby areas and hallways all appear to have been renovated recently, although the rooms themselves are much older feeling, especially the bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GG1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

GG1072,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We hope to host you again in the near future.

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021

Our family took a mini vacation during spring break for 5 nights. Hotel manager Tom was very helpful got our rooms situated with nice view . Due to the covid, the lounge was closed but they will comp you starbucks in the lobby for a simple breakfast. The hotel situated in a historic building, the architecture and decor are very nice, the room is very specious and the location is great.
The staff we have encounted were very professional and friendly. The hotel is clean although little showing its age, over all is a great hotel with great staff.
the missing side were:
They don't have parking garage and no valet during week days, so you need park in the garage across street with no in-out privillage so as a tourists it can be costly.
Starbucks in the lobby in the morning can be very busy and there is not many choises. One girl on Saturday was not too friendly but the other staff were great!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiger1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor on our property. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the feedback, and hope to host you again sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021

I was booked into a river view room on the 14th floor, ended up with an adjoining room. There is zero sound deadening between rooms. Was woken up by screaming children at 0130, staff moved my room. Alright so far, out of their control. The next room I was placed into was non adjoining on the same floor. At about 0230, a group of rambunctious drunks occupied the next room. Once again, could hear everything crystal clear from the next room. If you enjoy your sleep, book another hotel.

Service post covid has gone seriously down the tubes as well. Breakfast is run out of the Starbucks, where I was ignored for 10 minutes before being permitted to order. It took almost 45 minutes for a bagel to come out of the kitchen. Coffee is no longer complementary in the lobby, so expect to spend a breakfast ticket for a glass if you’re an elite member. The lounge is still closed

I canceled my second night stay here and chose to book elsewhere. Avoid this place like you would COVID

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank cjbpsu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

cjbpsu11,

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had! Definitely not our standard in any way, and we apologize you fell victim to our shortcomings. Trust that your feedback will be used to make our operation better. I believe we spoke upon your departure, but if there was anything else I could do for you, please let me know. I really would love the opportunity to make it up to you!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021

We Came to Pittsburgh for a night away. We have always loved staying at the Renaissance. Its right in the middle of the city. Everything is a walk or a short Uber ride away from this grand hotel. We checked in with Erin - The front office supervisor. What a gem! You should be so grateful to have such a fantastic employee on your staff! She greeted us with a smile (a masked smiled) and a very warm welcome. She upgraded us to a Riverview King. What a great room! We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is coming to Pittsburgh. Go see Erin. She will surely make your day.

Room tip: All the Rooms we have stayed in are gorgeous.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthew_Caine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

Matthew_Caine,

Thank you for your review! We are very blessed to have Erin on out team...absolute rockstar! We hope can have you again sometime in the near future.

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2021

Great location and service! Front desk and restaurant staff were all incredible.
The only bad service was at the Starbucks in the lobby. The woman behind that counter was just miserable. Also - watching her serve guest each morning with the mask around her chin was really concerning.
Ate breakfast and dinners at Braddocks and the food was great! Big portions, great service and good quality.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R5669PPdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

R5669PPdavidc,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize the sub-par service you received. Trust, this will be addressed and used to better our operation. We hope to have you back with us sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews