We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MatthewCaine

Wonderful Night Away

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2021
We Came to Pittsburgh for a night away. We have always loved staying at the Renaissance. Its right in the middle of the city. Everything is a walk or a short Uber ride away from this grand hotel. We checked in with Erin - The front office supervisor. What a gem! You should be so grateful to have such a fantastic employee on your staff! She greeted us with a smile (a masked smiled) and a very warm welcome. She upgraded us to a Riverview King. What a great room! We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is coming to Pittsburgh. Go see Erin. She will surely make your day.
Date of stay: March 2021
Room Tip: All the Rooms we have stayed in are gorgeous.
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2021
Matthew_Caine,

Thank you for your review! We are very blessed to have Erin on out team...absolute rockstar! We hope can have you again sometime in the near future.

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$251
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $251
  • Expedia.com
    $251
  • Skyscanner.com
    $251
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$283
  • Priceline
    $283
  • Skyscanner.com
    $259
  • Vio.com
    $282
0.4 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$283
  • Vio.com
    $282
  • Skyscanner.com
    $226
  • Algotels
    $225
0.9 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
$298
Earn rewards with Select Guest
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Vio.com
    $298
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$266
  • Trip.com
    $266
  • Skyscanner.com
    $266
  • Vio.com
    $266
0.6 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$370
  • Vio.com
    $369
  • Hotels.com
    $343
  • Skyscanner.com
    $369
1.0 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$225
  • Skyscanner.com
    $201
  • Algotels
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $204
0.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
$259
  • Wyndham
    $258
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • travelup.com
    $260
0.4 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$192
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Booking.com
    $193
  • Priceline
    $193
  • Expedia.com
    $193
3.5 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$217
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    $217
  • Priceline
    $217
  • Expedia.com
    $218
12.8 km from Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (2,068)
Filter reviews
2,068 results
Traveller rating
1,179
547
214
78
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,179
547
214
78
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pnc park across the street allegheny river beautiful hotel cultural district clemente bridge corner room high ceilings heinz hall club level historic building great view of the river baseball stadium walking distance pirates game market square parking garage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 2,068 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2021

Great location and service! Front desk and restaurant staff were all incredible.
The only bad service was at the Starbucks in the lobby. The woman behind that counter was just miserable. Also - watching her serve guest each morning with the mask around her chin was really concerning.
Ate breakfast and dinners at Braddocks and the food was great! Big portions, great service and good quality.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R5669PPdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

R5669PPdavidc,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize the sub-par service you received. Trust, this will be addressed and used to better our operation. We hope to have you back with us sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

Another grand Renaissance giving life to an old building. Service is superb. Rooms are large and well appointed. Walking distance across the river to the park and field. Parking across the street in a covered garage. Plenty of restaurant options on the street in front of the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank offthewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

offthewalls,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor on our property. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the feedback, and hope to host you again sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

Used my Marriott suite nights upgrade to get a really nice room with great views of the river and Heinz field.

King bed is very comfy, power outlets on both sides by nightstands. Big TV that can be used as a Bluetooth speaker. Couch was pretty comfy too, cushions were firm, not worn out. There is a mini-fridge inside the TV cabinet. The ice machine was turned off during our visit.

The bathroom had a mildew/musty smell to it. Unfortunately, the window doesn’t open, so we couldn’t air it out. The tub was slow to drain, but shower had good water pressure.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank CL0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

CL0111,

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are very sorry for the smell in your bathroom, that will be addressed immediatley!

We hope to have you back again sometime soon!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

This place a pleasant surprise. Ample desk help to greet you. Our room at the end of the hall was large with a lot of windows, overlooking the river to the North Side. The room was bright and pleasant. Nice large TV. The bathroom amply stocked. Bed comfortable. A lot of local restaurants a short walk away, including the hotel if you wish. I will return.

Date of stay: October 2020
2  Thank CLF422
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

CLF422,

Thank you for filling out a TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back sometime soon!!

Tom Hardy
Front Office Director
thardy@renpgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020

My wife and I, along with our two kids came to stay at the Renaissance Pittsburgh in downtown Pittsburgh recently. The hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Pittsburgh, near the stadiums, and so many other downtown attractions. The corner executive king room was spectacular with an absolutely stunning view of the water/stadiums. The customer service, from the people at the front desk, to the Director of the Front Office, Tom Hardy were superior. We could not have asked for nicer people to interact with at this hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Pittsburgh if they are looking for outstanding customer service, a luxury property and views to die for!!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Thank you for staying with us and come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews