We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lisa W

FILTHY and RUN DOWN!!!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jul 2021
We are Hilton Honors members and usually stay at their properties. This Doubletree Hotel is FILTHY! Trash in the hallway by our door, hair on the floors and tub in the bathroom, remote missing the back, ironing board cover stained, rooms hot, nasty stairwell (flies stuck in spider’s web), and dated furniture. The care of this hotel is completely UNACCEPTABLE! We will consider other hotel brands in the future. Not worth the money or the hassle. Ugh…
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Perry Ivery , General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree, responded to this review
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take the feedback from our guests very seriously and look forward to using your comments to provide excellent experiences in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Director of People & Culture
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
$280
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Algotels
    $262
  • Priceline
    $280
5.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$233
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • Priceline
    $233
  • Skyscanner.com
    $234
6.1 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Pool
$284
  • Choice Hotels
    $284
  • Trip.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $284
2.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Free parking
$283
  • Hampton
  • Skyscanner.com
    $279
  • Priceline
    $283
6.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Free parking
$249
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Hotels.com
    $250
  • Expedia.com
    $250
5.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
$324
Fully refundable
Earn rewards with Select Guest
  • Booking.com
    $324
  • Priceline
    $324
  • Expedia.com
    $325
5.8 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$249
  • SpringHill Suites
    $250
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Expedia.com
    $250
5.7 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Pool
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $218
8.3 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Free parking
$314
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $314
  • Hyatt.com
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $315
5.3 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Pool
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $221
  • Skyscanner.com
    $216
  • Expedia.com
    $222
5.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveller rating
774
484
244
148
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
774
484
244
148
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree front desk hockey tournament nice hotel hot tub indoor pool beds were comfortable downtown conference starbucks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2021

This is a tough one to write. Good, bad and weird place. I chose this place because we were in Pittsburgh for 3 days, and the Hilton branded hotels down town charged $30 for parking! That's crazy! Anyway, I found this Doubltree with excellent prices and a good location.
The good:
The location was fine, although there is not much in Green Tree. However, it was not a long drive where ever we wanted to go.
We found the staff to be excellent, particularly the host from the bar, who was also the host at the breakfast buffet. He specifically remembered us and a conversation he had with my son.
The room was clean and well stocked. We knew there would be no housekeeping, but we were able to get supplies no problem.
I was surprised that they had a breakfast buffet in this time of COVID, but they did on the weekend. We were able to get it comped through my Gold status, even for my MIL who was not staying in our room. Probably not kosher, but great for us.

The bad:
The pool, although this could also be a good, as apparently it was why many people were there. It's a neat indoor/outdoor pool, but it was packed! Super packed.

One of the elevators (there are only two for a huge complex) was working. We were told that they are transferring to new ownership and the old owners don't want to pay for it. And since it hasn't been transfered, the new owners aren't liable. Thanks, Hilton.

Because there were so many people in and out of the pool, there was water everywhere, all over the hallways and the elevator. I slipped several times. There should be someone mopping.

Because of the layout, our room overlooked a roof with lots of stuff on top. Not pretty.

The weird:

The people staying here were really, really friendly. This could be a good, but it also felt kind of weird. Maybe it's just Pittsburg.

The building is very strange. Honestly, it looks like a prison from the outside. The inside has lots of long corridors (often soaked from the pool people). Just felt very strange.

In the end, the question is, would I stay there again? I'm sorry to stay that I probably would not. I'm a Hilton loyalist, but I'd look for another property. I hope the new owners are able to give this place a spark of life.

Room tip: All rooms overlook some level of parking, it seems.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 3travelersLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Perry Ivery , General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take the feedback from our guests very seriously and look forward to using your comments to provide excellent experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Director of People & Culture

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021

My family and I traveled to visit family for the 4th and I booked at the Doubletree Greentree in Pittsburgh, PA. Our stay was terrible to say the least. Nasty sheets and carpet in the rooms and hotel staff does nothing to accommodate guests. Sheets were never changed once during our 3 day stay although we requested them to be several times. Never got refill on towels or toilet paper so my family and I basically bathed for 2 days with our hands. Will never book here again!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank GrandTour09263539889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Perry Ivery , General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. As the Director of People and Culture at the DoubleTree at Pittsburgh Greentree, I assure you that my team and I are working very hard to provide the products and services that will deliver to our guests an “Excellent” experience. I have forwarded your comments to our management team who are certain to take the corrective steps needed to improve.

Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to demonstrating our commitment to “Excellence” when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021

Terrible mean staff. No towels and we rented two rooms. Expensive for no free coffee or anything at all. Why is the so long what to I have to type more than I want for a review. 200 characters it has to be an entire essay

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank jeanneaA474ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Perry Ivery , General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. As the Director of People and Culture at the DoubleTree at Pittsburgh Greentree, I assure you that my team and I are working very hard to provide the products and services that will deliver to our guests an “Excellent” experience. I have forwarded your comments to our management team who are certain to take the corrective steps needed to improve.

Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to demonstrating our commitment to “Excellence” when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

I had booked this hotel for the July 4 weekend with family of four adults. I made my booking through a trusted third party booking site but when I reached the hotel, was informed that they cannot ‘locate’ my booking. After spending time speaking with the manager at the hotel and also on phone with the booking company they did give us a room. When we finally got into the room, realized to our shock that it just had ONE king bed; did I mention that this was a booking for FOUR adults? When I enquired at the reception on how they expect to have four adults sleep on one bed, I was told that the configuration of the room is always the sole discretion of the hotel, nice! My arguments that this is not an issue with ‘configuration’ but of capacity clearly fell on deaf ears. The lady at the reception was rude and would not even make eye contact, perhaps only too aware of her preposterous argument.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank VasuR429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Perry Ivery , General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. As the Director of People and Culture at the DoubleTree at Pittsburgh Greentree, I assure you that my team and I are working very hard to provide the products and services that will deliver to our guests an “Excellent” experience. I have forwarded your comments to our management team who are certain to take the corrective steps needed to improve.

Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to demonstrating our commitment to “Excellence” when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2021

We checked in to see the bathroom was not clean and clogged. The frontdesk staff neither changed the room nor send room cleaning for an hour even after multiple requests. They were very rude as well, no apologies, no support.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank akasi111420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Perry Ivery , General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Green Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. As the Director of People and Culture at the DoubleTree at Pittsburgh Greentree, I assure you that my team and I are working very hard to provide the products and services that will deliver to our guests an “Excellent” experience. I have forwarded your comments to our management team who are certain to take the corrective steps needed to improve.

Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to demonstrating our commitment to “Excellence” when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews