We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
K N

Amazing staff!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jun 2024
My son and DIL held their wedding reception at Mansions and though I was skeptical how it would work with separate dining rooms and what I thought would be too small an event space, it was absolutely delightful. The size was perfect for the 100 attendees and the setting beautiful for photos. The food was wonderful as well-- great appetizers and one of the best vegetarian restaurant meals I've ever had. But even more impressive was the incredible staff. Everyone was helpful from the moment we entered the building. They went above and beyond expectations to make everyone comfortable, answer every question, quickly fix any mess we created and assist in any way they could. The next day, guests were still talking about how friendly and fantastic the bartenders were. From the housekeeping staff to the front desk to the incredible event coordinator, everyone was attentive, calm, funny and professional. Truly, what a treat it was!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$256
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $256
  • Expedia.com
    $256
  • Hotels.com
    $256
4.8 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$322
  • Priceline
    $322
  • Skyscanner.com
    $262
  • Hotels.com
    $322
4.6 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
$204
  • Priceline
    $204
  • Skyscanner.com
    $181
  • Cambria
    $204
4.3 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
$330
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $329
  • Hotels.com
    $330
  • Priceline
    $330
5.0 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
$304
  • Priceline
    $304
  • Skyscanner.com
    $243
  • Hotels.com
    $304
5.4 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$231
  • Priceline
    $231
  • Skyscanner.com
    $178
  • Vio.com
    $231
5.3 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$237
  • Priceline
    $237
  • Hotels.com
    $237
  • Skyscanner.com
    $237
5.8 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$186
  • Choice Hotels
    $186
  • Priceline
    $186
  • Expedia.com
    $186
8.4 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $222
  • Hotels.com
    $222
  • Expedia.com
    $222
18.3 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$190
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Skyscanner.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $190
10.7 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
68
25
12
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
68
25
12
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phipps conservatory carnegie museums enjoyed my stay would stay again visiting pittsburgh wedding zach parking robe shampoo valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2024

SO MANY CHALLENGES!

Mansions on Fifth is a wedding venue on weekends - remember this or you will regret it.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon - the website there was a wedding the next day, but not on Friday. The check-in person told us we could get drinks and a bite to eat that evening in the bar. There was no valet available to take our luggage up 3 flights - they were too busy preparing for the wedding.

Later on, still on Friday around 4:30, as we left to take a walk in the beautiful neighborhood, we saw wedding guests arriving - the lobby was set up for a wedding and guests were arriving. Our car was blocked, and the nice lobby, bar, and lounge were completely blocked off for the wedding, and we were told they would be there until 10pm.

We were disappointed and upset that we had paid a healthy price and none of the amenities were available to us- the hotel guests should be warned when a wedding will be in house - and there should be a section that is still available to hotel guests that are not there for a wedding.

To the owner - you need to make the venue exclusively for weddings on the dates you have weddings. It is not fair to everyone else!

Breakfast Saturday morning - there were only 4 tables available and they said you need a reservation - really?! At 7am they should be able to seat the hotel guests. The adjoining space was already set for the Saturday wedding.

It would be a lovely spot for a wedding, but I would say you want to stay Mon-Thurs and confirm there are no special events booked while you are there. It is not worth the money, and the parking, amenities, and staff will not be available for your stay - way over priced for no service.

Disappointed to say the least.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

We are very sorry that your experience with our property was less than satisfactory. We looked into your issue, and it did appear that we had a small wedding (30 pp dinner -- no party or dancing) which appeared to create the impression that they had reserved all of our common areas, which was not the case. That said, you were obviously inconvenienced and your stay did not meet your or our expectations. Please contact our General Manager Rebecca Lazeration at rebecca@thepriory.com and she would be more than happy to assist you in hopefully, as much as we can in hindsight, provide some relief for your trouble. Thanks for taking the time to share your honest feelings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Impressed to say the least by this gorgeous property. Booking was effortless, checking in, quick and easy with ample parking. Girlfriends and I stayed here for an overnight birthday night out and every single one of us will be back! Lisa made our delicious drinks at the bar and made us wish we would be back in time for a night cap with her, she was top notch and the live music was an unexpected treat . 5 days later and we are still talking about the overall experience. Everything about our classically luxurious room was perfect from the charming decor and comfort of the beds to the cleanliness of the whole property. Mansions on Fifth is a must stay when visiting Pittsburgh!

Room tip: You won't regret it!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Thanks so much for sharing your experience at the Mansions on Fifth. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024

I was absolutely blown away by this hotel. From the moment you pull into the gated, circular drive you are greeted by a stately mansion which seems drawn from the pages of "The Great Gatsby". Walking into the grand entrance with winding staircase, and gorgeous grand piano, one is immediately ensconced in luxury. The staff were exceptionally attentive, warm and welcoming... an unfortunately ever harder to find quality in the hospitality industry.
The breakfast in the morning was delightful. Beyond the incredible ambiance of dining in a Victorian great room, complete with fireplace... the quality of the meal was beyond reproach. The homemade sausage, chargrilled, was hands-down the best sausage I have ever had. The omelette was well-executed in the French style, and the ingredients (tomato, pancetta, and feta) were fresh and high-quality.
I was surprised to learn the restaurant and bar area are open to the public (non-guests), and were I a local, Mansions on Fifth would be my go-to breakfast spot. Who wouldn't want to enjoy a breakfast beside a crackling fire as a respite from the bustling city street just outside the front entrance?
I can't wait to return to Mansions on Fifth during my next visit to Pittsburgh.

Room tip: The hotel is on 5th Ave in Shadyside. Time arrival or route so you don't have to try making a left turn in rush hour traffic on 5th ave.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandTour63617681312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll be sure to share your kid words with our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

We arrived in the handicapped room, drafty and cold, wallpaper coming off the wall in the bathroom. I squished a flying bug on the wall in the bathroom this morning. Went down for breakfast that I paid for a 2 nights stay... I waitress for the whole dining room... Just about everyone was complaining about the breakfast when mine arrived in front of me, I have NEVER said " I can't eat this " You use your imagination on how my French Toast looked like. I said to the front desk we are not eating breakfast here tomorrow please take the meal off our bill... We'll see if that comes to be before we check out. The mansions exterior is absolutely beautiful the interior and woodwork is astonishing they need to put thousands of dollars into the Manion to keep it running ie. the rooms paint, plaster, heating system, the mansion needs restoration. I do hope the "cooperation" finds the monies to update the mansion. It's in dire need of it.

Room tip: The location on the what is called "The Shadyside" is beautiful. The Manion is in dier need of repair. Best to seek elsewhere.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

We are very sorry that you did not have a wholly satisfactory stay with us. Our goal is to make each guest's visit with us as quiet and as comfortable as possible, and we apologize that we did not achieve that standard in your case. We are constantly working to improve our guest experience, and have recently do continue to upgrade our hotel's offerings. For instance, in the last 12 months we replaced all mattresses and box springs, restored all guest room furniture, upgraded all of our fitness center equipment, and put all new furnishings in place in our common areas. We have certainly paid attention to your critiques, and have addressed them. Please reach out to us at info@mansionsonfifth.com if you'd like to give us a try in the future and we'll make sure that you're well accommodated. l take your observations in the

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

We had a great experience. All the people working there were very friendly and helpful! The Mansions are beautiful, and the food and drinks were outstanding. We loved the location. On our first night there, there was a private event at the bar/restaurant but the staff still got us drinks immediately since we were guests, and gave us options in the mansion were we could enjoy them away from the private party. The room was very nice, and the beds were comfortable. My only feedback is to have drinking glasses available in the rooms (I needed one for water). I had to grab a plastic cup from the bar.

Room tip: Check the website to see if there will be events at the bar/restaurant when you are staying there so you can plan accordingly.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews