We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$334
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$334
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
$334
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
John C

Beautiful charm!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jul 2021via mobile
We had a group of people stay here to watch some live music and the reception was fantastic. The staff was excellent and so was the food. I’d definitely recommend Mansions of the Fifth! We had a blast!
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 10 Sept 2021
Thanks so much for your kind review. We will be certain to pass your comments on to our team members. We hope to see you again at the Mansions on Fifth Hotel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$316
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $316
  • Hotels.com
    $316
  • Skyscanner.com
    $316
4.8 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$347
  • Hotels.com
    $348
  • Expedia.com
    $348
  • Priceline
    $347
4.6 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$236
  • Hotels.com
    $236
  • Algotels
    $225
  • Priceline
    $236
5.4 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
Booking.com
$437
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $437
  • Priceline
    $437
  • Expedia.com
    $437
5.0 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$371
  • Hotels.com
    $345
  • Priceline
    $371
  • Expedia.com
    $390
5.1 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$252
  • Expedia.com
    $253
  • Vio.com
    $245
  • Priceline
    $252
5.3 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $218
  • Expedia.com
    $218
18.3 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$220
  • Hotels.com
    $221
  • Expedia.com
    $221
  • Skyscanner.com
    $220
5.8 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$293
  • Wyndham
    $293
  • Algotels
    $220
  • Hotels.com
    $293
5.8 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$229
  • Choice Hotels
    $229
  • Hotels.com
    $229
  • Priceline
    $229
8.4 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
67
25
11
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
67
25
11
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phipps conservatory carnegie museums enjoyed my stay would stay again visiting pittsburgh wedding zach parking robe shampoo valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Every single staff member went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. Friendly, kind, all went above and beyond to make sure we had a blast! Interesting history and such a pleasant change from your chain hotels. Go and enjoy!

Room tip: Stay away from 5th Avenue - even in the small mansion (there are two) ask to not face 5th.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 672kimberleyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2021

Thanks so much for your kind review. Our team takes a great deal of pride in their work, and they are always extremely pleased to hear positive feedback from our guests. We will be sure to pass this along!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was clean and spacious. There is coffee every morning in the lobby. The only disappointment was that we requested clean linens the next morning. They were just dumped on a small table and the dirty ones were not picked up. I would have expected more. The surrounding neighborhood is just beautiful so be sure to walk it when you have time. Also, the location is great, very close to downtown.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lisabX315SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2021

Thank you for taking your time to post about your experience with us. I do apologize for the incident with your clean linens. This is by no means indicative of our goals for level of guest service. We will look into this, and discuss with team members to ensure that such an instance is not repeated. In the meantime, should you be back to Pittsburgh and decide to stay with us, please reach out to Adam Frye, at adam@mansionsonfifth.com, to book and he will be sure that you and your companions are well taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021

While the exterior of this oh-so-well-located "gilded age" mansion is beautiful and impressive - the flowers and colorful umbrellas will impress you - the inside is neither attractive nor comfortable.

The reception desk is about as interested in welcoming you as the old carpets throughout are old and shabby.

While a tight little elevator has been installed to take folks up to the unadorned, really ugly rooms on the 2nd floor, should you be persuaded to sign up for a 3rd floor suite, you will discover that the only way up is to carry your own luggage up a tight, narrow, steep, winding, set of stairs. Actually dangerous. Good luck!

And then the rooms: clean, yes but no drinking glasses; cheap, worn sheets on the beds which might (?) not have been changed and no hangers in the closet.

No restaurant, no breakfast room, a bagged breakfast is handed to you and the coffee you make yourself leaves you asking the location of the closest Starbucks. While no newspapers are available and no concierge is at your service, there IS what might be called a cocktail lounge but so ugly you want to close your eyes.
When you return in the evening you are likely to pass the receptionist sitting outside smoking.

If you are visiting 5th Avenue, Carnegie Mellon, Rodeph Shalom Synagogue, Shadyside or Squirrel Hill, the location is super convenient but perhaps staying at a really attractive, pleasant hotel and admire the exterior of this mansion while driving past in an Uber is the way to go.

Room tip: Look elsewhere until millions of dollars are spent upgrading and decorating the place.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N463EEdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is our goal to make each and every guest's stay as comfortable, quiet and memorable as possible, and I regret that this did not occur with your stay. Please reach out to our Senior Operations Manager, Adam Frye, at adam@mansionsonfifth.com if you would like to discuss further. In the meantime, I will point out that your experience not typical of our guests, as evidenced by other reviews on this website. As a hotel retrofitted into two historic landmark Gilded Age mansions, we need to make certain accommodations to preserve the integrity of the buildings, such as installing a smaller elevator than one would see at, say, a Spring Hill Suites. With regard to other aspects of your commentary, such as the grab n' go breakfast and disposable cups in guest rooms, we, like many hotels, have had to make changes in operations in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. These changes are not permanent, and we will be returning to an ala carte service for breakfast soon, while glassware has already been restored to guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed in the annex but access to the main house is easy. The annex was very quiet and well appointed. The bedroom was large and the bath was spacious. The staff were great and did everything they could within Covid restrictions. We especially enjoyed the bar area.

Room tip: Annex has no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs, request the main house.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Discover55161108132
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2021

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Our team members will be delighted to hear of your experience, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to post your review publicly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

We had THE most lovely stay at this iconic Pittsburgh hotel. It began with appetizers, beverages & live music in the bar. We capped off our evening with an overnight stay in one of their spacious, well appointed rooms. Not only was the room quite nice, the pillows AND the bed were super comfy.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank TammyLynnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will pass along your kind words to our team members, who work very hard to make every guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews