We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lisa B
Mechanicsville, Virginia

Nice stay in a great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jul 2021via mobile
We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was clean and spacious. There is coffee every morning in the lobby. The only disappointment was that we requested clean linens the next morning. They were just dumped on a small table and the dirty ones were not picked up. I would have expected more. The surrounding neighborhood is just beautiful so be sure to walk it when you have time. Also, the location is great, very close to downtown.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking your time to post about your experience with us. I do apologize for the incident with your clean linens. This is by no means indicative of our goals for level of guest service. We will look into this, and discuss with team members to ensure that such an instance is not repeated. In the meantime, should you be back to Pittsburgh and decide to stay with us, please reach out to Adam Frye, at adam@mansionsonfifth.com, to book and he will be sure that you and your companions are well taken care of.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$251
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    $251
  • Vio.com
    $251
  • Expedia.com
    $251
4.8 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$370
  • Expedia.com
    $378
  • Hotels.com
    $343
  • Vio.com
    $369
5.1 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$283
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Skyscanner.com
    $259
  • Priceline
    $283
5.4 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$299
  • Omni Hotels
    $298
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Vio.com
    $298
5.0 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$225
  • Curio
  • Algotels
    $199
  • Skyscanner.com
    $201
5.3 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$192
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Booking.com
    $193
  • Priceline
    $193
  • Vio.com
    $192
8.4 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$266
  • Skyscanner.com
    $266
  • Residence Inn
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $266
5.8 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
$259
  • Wyndham
    $258
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • travelup.com
    $260
5.8 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$217
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    $217
  • Priceline
    $217
  • Vio.com
    $217
18.3 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $283
  • Skyscanner.com
    $226
  • Vio.com
    $230
4.6 km from Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
68
25
11
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
68
25
11
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phipps conservatory carnegie museums enjoyed my stay would stay again visiting pittsburgh wedding zach parking robe shampoo valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2021

While the exterior of this oh-so-well-located "gilded age" mansion is beautiful and impressive - the flowers and colorful umbrellas will impress you - the inside is neither attractive nor comfortable.

The reception desk is about as interested in welcoming you as the old carpets throughout are old and shabby.

While a tight little elevator has been installed to take folks up to the unadorned, really ugly rooms on the 2nd floor, should you be persuaded to sign up for a 3rd floor suite, you will discover that the only way up is to carry your own luggage up a tight, narrow, steep, winding, set of stairs. Actually dangerous. Good luck!

And then the rooms: clean, yes but no drinking glasses; cheap, worn sheets on the beds which might (?) not have been changed and no hangers in the closet.

No restaurant, no breakfast room, a bagged breakfast is handed to you and the coffee you make yourself leaves you asking the location of the closest Starbucks. While no newspapers are available and no concierge is at your service, there IS what might be called a cocktail lounge but so ugly you want to close your eyes.
When you return in the evening you are likely to pass the receptionist sitting outside smoking.

If you are visiting 5th Avenue, Carnegie Mellon, Rodeph Shalom Synagogue, Shadyside or Squirrel Hill, the location is super convenient but perhaps staying at a really attractive, pleasant hotel and admire the exterior of this mansion while driving past in an Uber is the way to go.

Room tip: Look elsewhere until millions of dollars are spent upgrading and decorating the place.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N463EEdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is our goal to make each and every guest's stay as comfortable, quiet and memorable as possible, and I regret that this did not occur with your stay. Please reach out to our Senior Operations Manager, Adam Frye, at adam@mansionsonfifth.com if you would like to discuss further. In the meantime, I will point out that your experience not typical of our guests, as evidenced by other reviews on this website. As a hotel retrofitted into two historic landmark Gilded Age mansions, we need to make certain accommodations to preserve the integrity of the buildings, such as installing a smaller elevator than one would see at, say, a Spring Hill Suites. With regard to other aspects of your commentary, such as the grab n' go breakfast and disposable cups in guest rooms, we, like many hotels, have had to make changes in operations in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. These changes are not permanent, and we will be returning to an ala carte service for breakfast soon, while glassware has already been restored to guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed in the annex but access to the main house is easy. The annex was very quiet and well appointed. The bedroom was large and the bath was spacious. The staff were great and did everything they could within Covid restrictions. We especially enjoyed the bar area.

Room tip: Annex has no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs, request the main house.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Discover55161108132
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2021

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Our team members will be delighted to hear of your experience, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to post your review publicly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

We had THE most lovely stay at this iconic Pittsburgh hotel. It began with appetizers, beverages & live music in the bar. We capped off our evening with an overnight stay in one of their spacious, well appointed rooms. Not only was the room quite nice, the pillows AND the bed were super comfy.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank TammyLynnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will pass along your kind words to our team members, who work very hard to make every guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

Nothing good about this Valentines weekend stay. Deluxe suite was the farthest thing from deluxe. What could be wrong you may ask?
No phone in room
Stained carpet
Broken lamp
Beat furniture
No water pressure
Gym = 1 elliptical in a dungeon
But the cherry on the sundae was calling this to the managers attention who said he was mailing some kind of certificate for the terrible accommodations. Shocker:
Never received anything.
Avoid this place at all costs unless you want to experience a place that you will rate as terrible.

Date of stay: February 2021
1  Thank laceylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Obviously we are very disappointed that your stay was not what you expected and that we did not deliver. It is our intention that each guest's stay is as comfortable, quiet and enjoyable as possible, and obviously we did not deliver with regard to your stay. We take these concerns very seriously and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are making capital improvements in our product as we write this. In case you would prefer to discuss your experience directly with a senior manager, please reach out to Rebecca Lazeration at rebecca@thepriory.com. Again, our apologies for the quality of your stay, and please know that we are working on improving as we write this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020

I did not have a poor stay. However, I wouldn't stay here again. Beyond the gorgeous exterior and the breathtaking lobby, there is nothing special about this place that merits a premium price.

The mattress was comfortable, but the linens were cheap and well past their prime. (See my attached photo of the pilled cotton pillowcase.) I've stayed in $15/night hostels with better linens.

Our room, (a suite on the third floor) was pretty dingy. Stains on the rug, broken power outlets, scuffed walls, gunky desk top, and a moldy shower. The hallways were charming and bright with beautiful paintings. They need to spend a little TLC on the rooms to make them match the level of the common area.

Reception was not up to par either. More on the level of what I would expect from a Motel 6, but that has little weight on my overall opinion. I think in this day, with limited service, it would be wise to put more emphasis on a warm welcome.

It would be nice if they had cups in the room for guests to drink/brush teeth.

Room tip: Executive suite large but dingy.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, General Manager at Mansions On Fifth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you for your frank feedback. We are very sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. We endeavor to make each guest's stay as comfortable and memorable as possible, and we apologize that that did not occur in your case. We have made significant capital improvements since your stay, and again are very sorry for any inconvenience. Please reach out to our manager Rebecca at rebecca@mansionsonfifth.com if we can be of further service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews